We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Kiulu Farmstay(Tuaran)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuaran Hotel(Tuaran)(Great Value!)
US$17
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Yaho(Kota Kinabalu)
US$25
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$27
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$30
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$35
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,551)
Filter reviews
6,551 results
Traveller rating
4,699
1,337
365
102
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,699
1,337
365
102
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reserveocean wingnaanorangutan sanctuarycoffee terracegolf coursesand fliesday bedrasa ria resortcoast restaurantwater sportscanopy walkhappy hourour honeymoonkids clubindian restaurantour favourite
Filter
Updating list...
4,823 - 4,828 of 6,551 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Wow, what an amazing place, the service is excellent and they can't do enough for you. They learn your name and even start to anticipate what you might like or want/need.

The Ocean wing is definitely worth it, bath on the balcony, separate additional pool/beach and a better breakfast in the restaurant.

Food was amazing in all of the various top flight restaurants and plenty of it too so watch the waistline!

(The orangutangs are pretty cool as well!)

The only downsides are that there is a string undertow which most adults were struggling to swim against and a sewerage outlet and the very end of the beach which we believe led to my wife spending a good 24 hours out of action!

But none of that spoiled our stay - it's a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want - they're really pleased to help. Far left hand side of the top floor of the ocean wing I'd suggest.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnowelfUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Many thanks for your review and recommendation that Rasa Ria is suitable for a honeymoon. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the Restaurants and quality of food on offer. We note with concern your comments about the beach - the sea does have a strong current however we do advise guests to swim within our swimming zone as the current is manageable in this area and the zone is monitored by our Beach Team. We have three discharge pipes along the beach but I can assure you these are for rainwater discharge only - all other discharge from the Resort is pumped to our Water Treatment Plant which is located close to the golf course behind the Resort. The treated water is then used for irrigation purposes around the golf course. In addition, numerous water samples are tested monthly, including seawater from the sea, to ensure they are safe for our guests. Thanks once again for your constructive feedback - congratulations from all of us at Rasa Ria, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Hotel was excellent, recommended by friends and definitely came up to all our expectations. Beautiful gardens, deserted beach, friendly, helpful staff. Although the refurbishments were still ongoing it did not affect us, in fact we didn't notice anything at all and we received 400RM because of this too! Food was excellent, breakfast spoiled for choice. Recommend the Teppanyaki, the best I've ever had. Beach was deserted in early July and hotel was only 40% full, but was busier as we left. Make sure you go to Mount Kinabalu and visit the butterfly gardens and hot springs. The trip mean't we were collected last and returned first to our hotel. The shuttle service into KK was invaluable, spend all day in the city, eat and then return. You could eat very cheaply in KK too. We hired a car and drove to the tip, don't bother with Kudat though. Just need to keep a note and fill up with fuel when you can, not many petrol stations in the smaller towns. Overall, we enjoyed our week here, the highlight of course were the Orangutans, especially baby Ten Ten who was delightful. They take conservation very seriously and have an exchange programme with the Sepilok Centre, we were glad to see 3 Orangtans here, they have 5 I believe which is more than Sepilok at the moment. You will not be disappointed if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedalheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Read a few reviews prior to going on this trip and they weren't always complimentary but we are delighted that they were not a turn off as our holiday was so enjoyable and relaxing.
Staff were very friendly a and very helpful. The service was faultless. We arrived early in the morning and after check-in the hotel provided us with a complimentary breakfast while we waited for our room. Our room was available soon after and we were able to enjoy relaxing around the pool before lunch.
The restaurants were all fabulous in their own way and food was delicious. Pricing was realistic for the quality provided and not over the top.
Entertainment programs provided for guests and children was extensive and lots of fun.
Don't miss the opportunity to visit the Oranga tangs and the work that the organisation does to rehabilitate these lovely creatures.

Room Tip: Although renovations were in progress while we were there, the sea view room we had was very comfortable with a good view .
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeraldtonCaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thanks for your feedback and good to learn you enjoyed your holiday at Rasa Ria despite the upgrading works. We have been fortunate that there has been very little disturbance, however the the new rooms are turning out to be a substantial improvement with new bathrooms, furnishings and of course the latest LED TV. Having mentioned this, it is my colleagues and their genuine Malaysian hospitality that seems to impress our guests the most. Thanks again for your comments, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Its the little details which make a good holiday a great holiday and Shangri- La are getting very good at those. First of all pay the extra and opt for the Premier Ocean Wing. The level of service goes up quite a lot if you do, in fact in is quite amazing that most of the staff seem to know your name, and nothing seems to be to much trouble. The Coast restaurant is one of the highlights, and if you are in the Ocean Wing is where you get your complimentary breakfast, which was equal to any breakfast I have had in any hotel, they even offered Champagne just in case you wanted to start the morning with a Bucks Fizz and no they did not charge for it. Without exception the staff were all very friendly and helpful, and attentive, and special praise to the Restaurant manager who makes time to talk to every guest at every meal, and also encourages all of his staff to do the same. As a single traveler they produced magazines so I would not get board while waiting for the food this did ot just happen once it was every time I walked in! In the evening the mood changes dramatically and it becomes a very desirable place to eat.
While round the pool, which is very clean the staff are always offering cold towels, cold iced water or drinks from the bar. Once again, they are very attentive and all seem to be smiling.
The spa was first rate, and everything else was 'as expected' - I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean Wing
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveLD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Many thanks for your review and great to hear you felt well-looked after as a single traveller. I will certainly share your feedback with Melvin, the Manager of Coast. I was also pleased to learn the Team around the pool were attentive. Thanks again for your comments, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My Family spent 7 wonderful days at the Rasa Ria Resort. We stayed in the ocean wing which was fantastic and well worth spending the extra money on the service was amazing very friendly people, the resturants where all great (coast and hawker market our favorites). There are lots of things to do if you like keeping active but I loved just lazing away by the pool swimming and reading. Kids club was great our Girls aged 9 and 6 where able to pick a couple of activities that they loved. The Orang Utan Sanctuary was great we really loved seeing the very adorable 11 month old Ten Ten. So if your looking for a first class resort with great facilities then you can't go past Rasa Ria. 10/10

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews