We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$28
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
Hotel Yaho(Kota Kinabalu)
US$26
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$28
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$161
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$29
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$47
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$35
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Klagan Regency(Kota Kinabalu)
US$62
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,523)
Filter reviews
6,523 results
Traveller rating
4,679
1,330
364
102
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,679
1,330
364
102
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reserveocean wingnaanorangutan sanctuarycoffee terracegolf coursesand fliesday bedrasa ria resortcoast restaurantwater sportscanopy walkhappy hourour honeymoonkids clubindian restaurantour favourite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,609 - 4,614 of 6,523 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We wanted to indulge after climbing Mount Kinabalu and after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor decided to go with Rasa Ria. On the night we arrived - wet and covered with mud from our climb, our check in was a breeze with the help of the lovely people @ Rasa Ria. Our room at the Ocean Wing was just perfect especially the big tub at the balcony, helpful when it comes to soothing our aching muscles. Breakfast at the Coast was divine and not to be missed. It is a tad away from city centre but that suited us fine and there were shuttle vans every couple hours or so.
We unfortunately didn't make it to our orang utan and canopy walk but we will surely be back pretty soon for another relaxing and tranquil get away, soon we hope :-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobyNfifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thanks very much for your review and congratulations on climbing Mt Kinabalu - quite an achievement as it is not as easy as many people think. Please we looked after you, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here again in November 2011 ( sorry for being slack and reviewing so late )

We were very concerned about the refurb at the time of our stay, but to be honest with you it never bothered us. We were away for my 40th Birthday and also our 10th wedding anniversary, so this was a special trip for us, I cant fault the staff one little bit, everyone was fantastic, Selina went out of her way to make sure we were happy, she even upgraded us to the ocean view room, as our room was not ready, very nice room indeed, as are the others. Selina also arranged for us to have a beach pavilion for my Birthday night, for no charge, after 30mins a big storm came in so we had to retreat inside to coast. ( Fantastic Food Top Marks to the chef ). We also had Breakfast at Coast sitting outside over looking the sea, was alot better than the coffee Terrace, that had a big wall up hiding the building work, and the let down here was the amount of time you had to wait for things, even when there was hardly anyone dinning. We also ate in the Indian restaurant which again was very good, I think the food in the terrace could improve, it was more like pub food.

Special mention to all the staff on the front desk, who were very helpful, ( i did write down some of your names, so Tim Please pass on our thanks ) Concierge booked and arranged for a hire car to be delivered to the hotel, all this worked out perfect, and we went for a lovely drive both into KK, and the local villages and towns ( get out there and see the locals, its not all about staying in the hotel ). Biggest let down was the run down beach bar, 4pm beer o'clock walk down there to have a nice peaceful drink, , dirty seats, and sand all over the decking ( 2 bar staff sitting there doing nothing ) no other customers, i would have cleaned up myself if i had the stuff. Plus the beach volley ball directly across from the bar, did not go down too well, kind of spoiled the moment. We tended to sit outside Coast instead after this, we were the only ones to do this at first, then others caught on too, the lovely Australian girl who was running the bar, was also very helpful, and chatty, which is something i like, making time to talk to people is a good thing. I was also like to praise The Manager Tim, who took time out to listen to our feedback whilst we were there. If you have never been to this part of the world, then it should now be on your radar, as should this hotel ( forget theTanjung Aru ) its not a patch on this one, 2 days there were for us a total waste of time, read my review )...

Room Tip: If its a special occasion, then go for a up grade, be that paid or on the house, you deserve it..
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank burtonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed and constructive review. It was good to meet you during your stay and I appreciate the additional comments. We understand that the Coffee Terrace was not your favourite - we will look into the quality of food and speed of service - part of the outdoor area is currently screened off as we are building a new water-feature that will enhance the ambiance once it is finished. Your comments regarding Sampan bar are well noted - we have in fact moved the volleyball court as a result of your feedback, however we have addressed the other matters you kindly brought to our attention. Thanks once again for your valuable feedback, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed one week in hotel with husband for vacation in January 2012. We chose ocean wing room. Overal we have an excellent impresiion of great combination of cleaness, friendly and professional service and good renovated rooms. I am very satisfied with the water sport facilities: sail boats, kayaks, wind surfing, water scooters. U can get professional training if u can't sail one of them.
One more thank u to our room attendant Azlan, who was very helpful with every wish we had and knew how to make your mood better by wishing a good say through a letter or simply flowers in room( assume all attendants are so nice and friendly but once we had Azlan I wanted to mention this)
We decided not to take any excursions and simply had a lazy vacation on the beach, visiting sometimes orang utan orphants place where they reabilitate orang utans.
The next time we travel we will prioritize search by shangri-la chain as this one proved to be a real 5* professional and friendly one

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kotyusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRR-GM, General Manager at Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for your review and for recognising Azlan, one of our Housekeeping colleagues - he will be delighted with the mention. We are pleased you enjoyed the watersports and nature activities. Regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

It's really looks like paradise. But sea was not quiet. Everything was perfect. We enjoyed to stay there. Ocean view suite better than other rooms. Orang-utan's preserve is placed in the hotel's territory. Nature around is very rich. And also the staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean view suite
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Excellent location, good food, a large area. Very clean and nicely furnished rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews