We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Yaho(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Grand Borneo Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Klagan Regency(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (6,512)
Filter reviews
6,512 results
Traveller rating
4,671
1,330
362
102
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,671
1,330
362
102
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reserveocean wingnaanorangutan sanctuarycoffee terracegolf coursesand fliesday bedrasa ria resortcoast restaurantwater sportscanopy walkhappy hourour honeymoonkids clubindian restaurantour favourite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,672 - 2,677 of 6,512 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The customer service was excellence, however; there were Mosquitos in our room which spoiled my sleep. However, I love the fact that I could hear hundred of birds sing in the morning and in the evening. The sun set bar was awesome too. The food at the buffet was so so. It is a very well done hotel but could have warned about the Mosquitos.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank irene_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

due to the location is far away from town, even though they provide shuttle service to go to the town, but still very expensive, better to have a car hire instead, and most of the hotel option tour is far more expensive than other places.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Syria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived to the sound of Borneo and welcomed like lost family. We had the Executive sea view room in garden wing and was lovely. Busy around pool. Food was excellent. Had a wonderful time and saw orang utans too!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Bignic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were not disappointed with this hotel. Trail Finders were the agents who booked this for us.
After an exciting three day stay in Singapore this hotel provided us with an excellent base for relaxation and exploration.
The welcome we received was friendly and in true Malaysian style. The room was very well appointed, comfortable and cool. A very nice bathroom with shower and bath, balcony with chairs and table and all other well thought out extras. The pillows were amazing = 10/10.
The minibar was not stocked because guests had the option to order their favorite items that were then delivered free to the room. Tea bags etc were replenished daily and our room service noticed and left a very friendly note to say that they had left us extra English Breakfast tea because "they had noticed we preferred". Staff spoke and wrote excellent English amongst other languages. The hotel had one well stoked general gift shop with the usual extras and some quite tasteful souvenirs. A few small gift shops, a travel agent (offering some local trips), a hairdresser and a small gallery.
Our highlights were the day trip to the world heritage site of Mount Kinabalu, The Orang Utan sanctuary in the hotel, the canopy walk and the Sea Gypsy river trip in a native style boat that took us down to the mouth of the river and the open sea.
We stayed in the Garden Wing with a sea view that was well worth the sunset views. We ate most evenings in the buffet style restaurant but really enjoyed the open air (but suitably protected) Makan Street with the themed evenings. Amazing rain storms too to accompany our meal was a bit of a novelty and the sunset ceremony very atmospheric.
One area that has been mentioned by others is, predictably, the sunbed arrangements that sadly do not seem to vary from anywhere else I have travelled. Still have to collect your towels and place them on a bed to be assured of a space. BUT, the hotel did seem to enforce their rule of removing towels etc if the beds appeared to be unoccupied for more than 90 minutes. There were generally plenty to go round and we usually did find a spot. Sand flies were a bit of a problem on the beach but the hotel was excellent in providing repellent.
Another bonus was plenty of water provided both at the the pool and in the room, all free of charge.
Alcohol is relatively expensive but happy hour 4.30 - 7.30 and 9.30 - 10.30 was more than adequate if this is a priority. We were pleasantly reassured by the final total bill although we did not eat in the more exclusive restaurant Coast which seemed to be patronised mostly by guests from the Ocean wing. This wing was generally quite separate from the rest of the hotel.
There were quite a few children of all ages but this did not pose any major issues.
I would love to return but too many other places to see.
But I would definitely recommend and especially suggest travelling out of the hotel to see more of Borneo.
Wouldn't say I liked KK too much but spoke to a couple who loved their trip to Turtle Island. They had also visited the Sepalok sanctuary and decided that the Shang Ri La's orang utan experience was by far the better of the two. I have fostered one of the orphaned orang utans, Ten Ten for my grandson. He now has a photograph of her in his bedroom with his certificate of fostering.
Excellent memories.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view in the garden wing but nearest to the ocean wing. Same floor as the reception area was good for us.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moffat269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Fantastic hotel and facilities. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Beach so clean and tidy, water so, so warm. Pool, beds, towels, etc were spot on. Free iced chilled water saved a fortune on the bar bill. Staff handing out free slices of melon was an extra touch. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Can't fault this hotel at all. Food was delicious in all restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews