We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views, welcoming staff!”
Review of The Moorcock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moorcock Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Unfortunately we could only stay one night here.....but we'll be returning for sure.
Beautiful place, gorgeous views.
We had an excellent evening meal too...highly recommend the fish and chips.
Staff are welcoming and polite.
Worth a look if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely meal at weekend ...eat here often the staff always lovely ..never had a bad meal and love the new menu....great in the summer sitting on the terracce and also children and dog freindly ...caters for everyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 671tlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just been here for tea with my mum, dad and my 2 girls! I don't like to complain but we just had to ! My mums steak which she asked to be cooked medium to well done was black and cold and well as for the grilled tomato it was just black! And I don't even know what to say about the greasy burnt chips! My chilli was just awful, big clumps of fatty mince and I don't think it had even seen any chilli powder! We didn't pay for the black steak , really disappointed and will not be returning here !

Stayed: May 2014
5  Thank VickiR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First impressions great, but went downhill from their. Barmaid with a frosty attitude. We had a meal two starters which were ok nothing special for the price.We ordered three mains, two which were incomplete. frozen watery curry,steak with only chips WHAT HAPPENED TO THE PEAS???????????. Ordered a peppercorn sauce, cream with pepper in it .One well done steak (well done does not mean burnt).£50 for two starters, three mains,three cokes.two coffees and one ice cream. Overpriced,rubbish food .Also plastic plants are are a big NO.Would i go again No. Would I recommend it NO.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anneka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Decided to go to Hollingworth Lake on Bank holiday Monday, 21st April, but couldn't find a parking space (our fault left our arrival a little late), but found the Moorcock on our way back. First impression was worried about the outside seating area (seemed to be just a couple of tables with the obligatory smokers near the front entrance, and, as it was a lovely day wanted to eat outdoors, but on entering the quaint country pub I was pleasantly surprised to find that the real outside seating are was quite large and well appointed, A good choice of menu and reasonably priced. Had a lovely afternoon. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flinty1Oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back in February 2014 after a night out with friends in Littleborough. It is in a nice location on the outskirts of littleborough with great views over Blackstone edge.

We checked in at the bar and were shown to our room. The room was basic but adequate especially as we were just using it as a place to sleep. A taxi into littleborough was a bargain at £4.

I was very impressed with littleborough in general. The place was thriving and there was plenty going on and a good choice of lively bars/pubs to choose from.

Service at breakfast in the morning was friendly and quality/quantity of food was good.

We wouldn't hesitate to return in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank centipede_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited Good Friday and packed out. Managed to get a table on the patio for the fantastic views. I had home made burger and my wife had her favourite cheese and onion pie. Food was good and so was the service . Staff even offered to put a little lunch together for our dog much to her delight. Excellent pub always worth a visit if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleborough
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
3.8 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Moss Lodge
Moss Lodge
#1 of 14 in Rochdale
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fielden Farm Cottages
Fielden Farm Cottages
#1 of 1 in Littleborough
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorcock Inn

Address: Blackstone Edge Halifax Road, Littleborough, Rochdale OL15 0LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Littleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Littleborough
Price Range: £53 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Moorcock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing