We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for two”
Review of The Rake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Littleborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was our first visit to the Rake and it won't be our last, the staff were very welcoming and as we hadn't been before took the time to explain the menu and how we ordered. The experience from start to finish was fantastic, from being very hospitable to the food being one of the best meals we have had in some time. The choice from the 'specials' board was extensive. We tried 6 dishes, three from the menu and three from the 'specials' board along with dessert and coffee. We were not disappointed with any dish and it also proved great value for money. No issues with recommending this restaurant and can't wait for our next visit. Thank you to all the staff who made us feel very at home. Ray Shelton.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our 2nd Visit, Had a fantastic meal and stopover and sampled lovely ales from own micro brewery in cellar but disappointed that the Hot Tub was,nt in operation (allegedly needed cleaning). Young waiter spilt bottle of red over brother in law causing change of clothes and possible ruination of suede shoes, No compensation offered either monetary or by way of free drink and no reduction on room rate for loss of hot tub ammenity. Apart from the way these issues were not dealt with a pleasurable experience again and great food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme2612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Went for mid week meal with a friend visiting from California. We did not book and were seated immediately, there were a few couples in and a large party so there was a good atmosphere and we were served quickly. We had a variety of dishes, fish meat vegetables and salad and all of them were delicious with generous portions. The building has been beautifully restored and I would not hesitate to go back again or to recommend to anyone. The prices were average and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The last time I had victuals at The Rake Inn, Littleborough, it was a cosy backstreet boozer with a traditional take on local food and ale.
A mere 20 years or so elapsed and The Rake is transformed into a Tapas Bar, Spanish bar food apparently!
We were on a family outing, 4 adults and 2 children with a last minute booking.
Despite my natural northern
nowst I was quite pleased with the place.
Food was good, service prompt, atmosphere friendly, prices were a tad steep, just this side of acceptable.
If I'm passing in 20 years or so who knows what I might find at The Rake.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Definately worth the journey from Manchester Sunday evening following recommendations from work colleagues. The temptation is to over order as everything sounds so delicious but the waitress was very helpful advising us of portion sizes. The food was so fresh and tasty as was the Spanish rose and the setting and atmosphere was perfect. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Matilda284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Lots of choice but confusing as you had to write your order on a sheet. This was fine but there was also a specials board and we were not sure whether these were main meals or still tapas as some of the prices were substantially more expensive. We had to ask the waiter for help and he had to get another waitress to go through it with us.

We ordered far too much food but quite honestly with tapas usually you get small portions. The food was lovely and there was something for everyone ranging from meat eaters to veggies, and a 5 year old right upto a 90 year old.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the Rake on Saturday evening 18th May, as we were viewing properties in the area. The rooms have been recently renovated to a good standard in a nice location on the edge of the pennines. A booking was made at the tapas restaurant downstairs for the evening, we hadn't arrived until 5-30pm and the restaurant was already fully booked, but the staff were very accomodating and sorted us out with a table for 2 in the bar area for as long as wanted. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was informal, fun, lively and all of the staff very friendly. Also 3 different award winning ales brewed on the premises. What more could we want!....This place is a fantastic experience, and any time I am in the Rochdale I will visit. A very enjoyable evening, with a very comfortable room to stay in.....great value for money.
Criticism......I couldn't reach the velux window in the bathroom, to open it.....and I am 6ft, so maybe there should be a pole and hook to open the window, also the weather was crap!....lol......LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beadyeyeonyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleborough
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fielden Farm Cottages
Fielden Farm Cottages
#1 of 1 in Littleborough
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rake

Address: Blackstone Edge Old Road, Littleborough, Rochdale OL15 0JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Littleborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Littleborough
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* rating accommodation with silver star breakfast award. Our rooms have been lovingly restored to a standard never seen at the Rake over its 400 years. They are finished mixing the existing character of the Rake with cutting edge modern styling. All are en-suite with either shower or bath. Each room has flatscreen TV with freeview. Internet access available. Popular tapas restaurant on site. Lovely garden/patio area for residents. Set in semi-rural setting with easy motorway access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing