We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B”

Swing Cottage Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Littleborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swing Cottage Guest House
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I received excellent service. The room met all my requirements. it was nice,comfortable and warm.The view of Hollingworth lake is superb.off street parking.fresh towels ,coffee etc in room. excellent bar next door

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

Spent 1 night here at the end of October & occupied 2 rooms, one for my wife & I & the other for my son. Very nice location & our room faced Hollingsworth Lake,
Very well appointed rooms and tastefully decorated. We were met on arrival by John who was friendly & helpful. We were served breakfast by an older lady who provided excellent service. The breakfast itself was certainly a full English with all the components there, cooked well & tasty .Plenty of coffee & toast to go with it, plus cereals & fruit Juice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPTLebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

average place, cold, no floor coverings in bedrooms, poor breakfast service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Spent 3 nights at Swing cottage. John upgraded us to an apartment with all conveniences.
Most helpful after living out of suitcase for 3 weeks.
Very comfortable beds. Good breakfast. John could not have been more helpfull.
Great italian restaurant a few doors down, for lovely meal Sunday lunch.
Would stay again
Thank you John
Judy and Graham White from South Australia

Room Tip: We stayed in front apartment overlooking the lake. Found it great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 731judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed at this quaint little place over the August bank holiday weekend.When we arrived we were greeted and made most welcome by a very pleasant young lady, who, as our room wasn't quite ready (we had arrived rather early) offered us a pot of freshly ground coffee and the chance to take the weight off our feet. Shortly after we were shown to our room by our host John. The room was lovely and we had a great view over the lake and the surrounding countryside. I really couldn't find anything to fault, having read a negative review earlier I can only think that some people really do need a reality check! After checking in we took a walk along the lake front over to The Wine Press for some lunch. Then on the way back we called into the small arcade and the Cottage gift shop before returning to get ready for an evening at The Beach, which is just across the road, later we took a night time stroll along the lake to release a couple of Chinese lanterns in celebration of our first anniversary. In the morning we were greeted by the lovely Lisa, who provided the biggest ever breakfast which again cannot be faulted, enjoyed it very much along with the chit chat that had us all in stitches. After breakfast we went for another walk along the waters edge, feeding the ducks and geese bread that we'd brought along with us, We really enjoyed the stay, in fact we enjoyed it so much that we've decided to return regularly and are about to book again right after posting this review!

Pete and Veronica ( Chamberlain )

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mizfitz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We (couple in our 50's) stayed here for 1 night. Upon arrival we were greeted at the desk by a lovely lady who was polite, helpful and with a lovely smile. The room we had was overlooking the lake, it was clean, tidy and very airey. I had read reviews about the filling of kettles and the lack of a towel rail. Fill the kettle using a cup under the tap, and hang the towel on the hook on the back of the door, then get on with your life. All the staff we met were very helpful and couldn't have been nicer. We had a nice afternoon tea in the secluded garden, before a walk around the lake which is opposite the B&B. Parking is in the Italian restaurant car park next door, for which you are given a voucher to display on your dashboard. Breakfast was simply wonderful, freshly cooked full english, and cereals if you wanted. All this at the very reasonable rate of £50 per couple.The road was quite busy and the ducks did quack quite loudly, but I really dont know what the owners can do about that! I really dont understand what there is to complain about, I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: Dont know if there were any rooms at the back, but it would probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potbellypig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Swing Cottage is right across the road from Lake Hollingworth, and Lisa and John are great hosts! Other reviews have complained of it being "dirty"... we didn't find that to be true. If we had a criticism, it would be the lack of a place to plug the supplied coffee pot in, and the lack of a towel rack to hand damp towels on to dry. Neither is worth more than a bit of a shrug and moving on with life. We very much enjoyed our stay, and our conversations with Lisa who is a charming and attractive hostess - as well as making a very nice breakfast! If we ever visit the Hollingworth Lake area of the UK again, Swing Cottage will be our first call!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulFeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Swing Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swing Cottage Guest House

Address: Hollingworth Lake 31 Lake Bank, Littleborough, Rochdale OL15 0DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Littleborough
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Littleborough
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Swing Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Swing Cottage Hotel Rochdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing