We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical visit to the Negev”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Desert Olive Farm
Ranked #5 of 8 Sde Boker B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have just come back from a wonderful two night stay at Zayit HaMidbar. Myself, my husband and our two year old daughter stayed in the African Cabin, while my parents and my brother stayed in the Castel. Both types of accomodation were luxurious and comfortable, not to mention extremely clean and well kept.
We were meant to be travelling with my sister in law and her three children, who unfortunately had to cancel at the last minute due to ill health, so we took along my parents and brother instead. It was unfortunate that they missed out as this is the most perfect family holiday. There are lots of things to keep the children entertained on site, including a small farm, great walks, a trampoline and night time camp fires. That said, my parents were also very impressed with the place and were delighted to be there and found it very relaxing and peaceful.
We ordered a delicious meal from a local caterer for the the first night and made our own meal on the second night. Both were eaten on the huge balcony of the castle with our camp fire burning in the garden. Our breakfast was prepared and delivered to our room by Mirna our delightful host. She could not have been more welcoming and obviously works very hard to make everyone's stay very special.
I highly recommend Zayit HaMidbar as the perfect place to tour the Negev or even just to stay and relax there for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed in "The Castle" with our three young children and had an amazing time. Our 4 and 6-year olds enjoyed going on walks on the property, seeing the animals, the amazing breakfasts, the pool, the BBQ, and everything about this amazing place. Hosts Mirna and Or-Rav were extremely welcoming and hospitable. They answered all of our questions and were so welcoming of our children. We took a day trip to Mitzpe Ramon and only wish we had more time to explore the Negev. We look forward to staying here on a future visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle60827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I stayed with friends in a cabin here called "the castle". It was a great experience. The cabin is basically a very modern, newly renovated trailer with a beautiful bedroom, spacious living room, kitchenette, and beautiful bathroom with a huge tub and shower. Outside there was a spacious deck, swimming hole, hammock, fire pit, and fire wood. It was a rustic, but in some ways luxurious experience. Breakfast was amazing. Salads, upon salads, fresh bread, omlettes, jachnun, fresh fruits...just wonderful. This place is located in the middle of the desert, so make sure you are aware of that. There are also animals on the farm, so make sure you're okay with the sounds of roosters in the early morning hours.

The campus also has teepees for people who want a more rustic experience. For me and my five friends, "the castle" was just right :)

There are two wineries nearby. Sde Boker is interesting to visit to see where Ben Gurion retired. And the Ein Akev hike is Ein Ekev hike is an amazing 16km hike nearby. Make sure you do it with experienced hikers and bring lots and lots and lots of water!

Room Tip: If you want a more outdoor adventure, get a teepee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahRamatAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vi havde valgt en sivhytte og det var vi glade for. Primitivt men hyggeligt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Yael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank fleurs39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sde Boker
0 mi away
InnSense Bistro and Suites
InnSense Bistro and Suites
#3 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
177 reviews
0 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
393 reviews
0 mi away
Naot Farm
Naot Farm
#1 of 8 in Sde Boker
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Boker Valley Vineyards Farm
0 mi away
Carmey Avdat
Carmey Avdat
#3 of 8 in Sde Boker
63 reviews
0 mi away
Krivine's Guest House
Krivine's Guest House
#4 of 8 in Sde Boker
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desert Olive Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desert Olive Farm

Address: Negev Desert, Sde Boker 8499300, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Sde Boker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sde Boker
Price Range: £107 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Desert Olive Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing