We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
Living room Visitors at our front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Entrance
Living room
Visitors at our front door
The tea terrace
The sun deck
GavanRomi-Desert Home
GavanRomi-Desert Home
Kitchen
Kitchen bar
Dining area
Single bed
Master bed room
Double bed
Visitors at our front door
Visitors
The surrounding
Zin valley
Desert wilderness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sde Boker, Ramat Negev, Southern District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MelizaAmi...
Yehud, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful accomodation”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We were 2 couples, who stayed at Meidan's Gavan Romi for 1 night. The place was ideal for us with it's 2 bedrooms and separate living space. It was clean, tastefully furnished and fully equipped. In addition to explanations about the apartment and Sde Boker, Meidan supplied us with containers for our take-away breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2014
Thank you Meliza, it was a pleasure to have you here with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deluv1ans
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful host, great location”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I could not recommend gavan romi more highly. The room and bathroom were very clean and well-kept, and Meidan was a fantastic host, going out of his way to make sure my trip (including after I left!!) went smoothly. He gave great hiking recommendations, prepared a lovely and reasonably priced dinner, and followed-up afterwords to make sure I was safe (I was heading, rather disorganized-ly, into Jordan without a tour, so that last gesture was both appropriate and appreciated).

All in all, the experience felt like a home stay in the best of all possible ways. I had privacy but my stay also had a certain personal warmth that you really can almost only otherwise get from staying with a friend.

Oh, and the location is great--the 1 hour hike I did from my room was one of my favorites in the roughly two fairly packed weeks I spent in Israel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2014
Thanks for the very warm words. i am very happy that we could put you up and that you had a great time in our area (neighbourhood as i call it) and met up also with some neighbors (ibexes), although it's unlikely not to...
we'll be happy to host you again and hope next time you come by, will be with your other half (spouse)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzDiGenna...
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ecstatically wonderful”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I love the desert, so I start out heavily biased.
This was one of the most beautiful apartments that my wife and I have ever rented. Sparklying clean with all the amenities. Access to many many of the sights in the Negev.
A five minute walk brings you to the overlook of Nahal Tzin and distant views of the Negev.
A five minute drive brings you to Ben Gurion's house (now a museum).
Meidan is a wonderful host. Attentive and available. Knowledgeable about the area: ready with maps and descriptions -- especially if you want to wander the desert and the Nahals (canyons).
Don't miss this opportunity!
Oh yes, you can see Ibex on the canyon rim in the evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and Meidan
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thanks! we also enjoyed having you and the girls (so well mannared) with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MattMilan
Milan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Meidan has a beautiful home in the desert. We decided to stay here to break up our journey from Aqaba to Jerusalem - and what a fantastic place to do it.

The apartment is spacious, incredibly clean and with good heating (essential in the winter) - it comes with a fridge stocked with essentials.

The village is something between a university campus and a piece of suburbia in the desert. It's a fairly sleepy place but has a supermarket, a bar, a cafe and a bike shop. But the location is incredible - perched over the Zin cliffs with a beautiful promenade and some fantastic walking through the wadis. There's a huge amount of wildlife and you'd have to have a heart of stone not to fall for a local ibex!

The most straightforward walk is to skirt the village and then drop down into the wadi and then follow the Avdat gorge - leaving the gorge at Ein Avdat upper parking areas or continuing on to the fantastic Nabatean city of Avdat. The walking is incredibly well marked and, with some more time, we would love to have done some cycling there too.

Would definitely also recommend a trip to the Sde Boker winery - can't wait to crack open the last bottle of Negev Cab Sav.

Only downside is that the place is impossible to find once inside the campus. None of the streets are named! If you're adventurous then head for the far left corner when you come through the main entrance. If not then ring Meidan from the main entrance and he'll come and guide you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thanks you very much Matt for your warm words and frank opinion!
In reference to the problem you had finding us, here are some driving/walking directions for our future guests:
1. on reaching Midreshet Ben Gurion (accessible from HW 40), cross the traffic circle and go staright in through the yellow gate.
2. drive straight ahead (for about 300 meters) till you hit a T junction.
3. on the T junction turn right and then immediately left.
4. drive/walk straight ahead for about 400 meters then turn right into the Neve Zin Neighborhood. Note: This turn in to the neighborhood is a BRICK paved road just where the neighborhood begins! (before reaching this point, there's approximately a 100 meters of building/plantation free stretch on the right side of the road)
5.after entering the neighborhood, drive/walk till you hit the end of the road and land up in a parking ground. our place is on the left hand corner of the parking lot, under the big tree.
It was a pleasure hosting you (even though you'r stay was rather short).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thanks! Please do come back when ever you have the opportunity...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Akitis
Suisse
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Merci Beaucoup Chantal et les amies. c'etait mon plaisir
Aurevoir
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing