We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”

Review of Gite du Guit

Maison de Maitre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Maison de Maitre
Entrance to Gite Open-plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Maison de Maitre
Entrance to Gite
Open-plan living area
Peggy Kluck oil painting
Super King size bed which converts into two singles if required
Ensuite and laundry
Ensuite
Bunk-bedded room with extra single bed if required
Family shower-room
Family shower-room
Open parkland garden view from gite
12m x 6m pool: with full width steps
1.6m depth throughout
Open Parkland garden view from gite
View of Maison de Maitre, Chambre d'hote and Gite from lane
Evening walk back to the house, gite and chambre d'hote through the surrounding vines
Tennis court in the village
One of the local vineyard owners' cepage
Tasting the local Armagnac
Annual ceremony to remember local resistance members who were killed around Viella in 1944
The bar in Viella
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Viella, Gers, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Xwloy
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 7 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I had a beautiful week at the Maison du Guit attending a painting course by Gregory Mason. The Maison itself is set in the idyllic heart of the vineyards of Ger, and a mere 15 minute drive away from notable Chateaux. Wandering through the restored 18th century farmhouse, exploring the fields around the home, swimming in the pool, wine-tasting at the nearby vineyards- this is the quintessential summer experience.

The proprietress Claire went out of her way to make us all feel at home - welcoming us, seeing that our needs were attended to, and preparing sumptuous three-course meals for us with local produce. Having delicious home-cooked food, prepared with love, while on holiday was a truly special experience.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a summer escape!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
Thank you so much, Xuewei, for writing this lovely review for us! It was great having you to stay here in the Gers with us and hope that you will come back again soon, perhaps with your friends too! We will find some more recipes for you....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“"Painting Course par excellence"”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

From the time I arrived at Maison De Guitar it felt like home from home. Claire and Martin were fantastic hosts providing delicious food even when on location painting "en plein air". The painting course was superbly led by professional artist Greg Mason. The spectacular scenery and friendly atmosphere were totally conducive to a painting holiday. I will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review, Mike! We really enjoyed having you to stay as part of our Painting Holiday at Maison de Guit (guitar?!!). We are very much looking forward to you coming back next year, with your Claire! We will test out some new recipes in preparation for your return...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaBu...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday!!! Would love to stay again!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful area, so peaceful amongst the vineyards! So much space and facilities for the kids, pool, table tennis, bikes, badminton and all sorts! We didn't go out for the first 5 days! Loved how quiet it was! Hosts were so helpful, if any problems they sorted them out straight away! Beds v comfy, Gite was so comfortable, bedding was top of the range, kitchen had all that was needed, had lovely soap, shower gel and washing powder all provided which was a lovely touch! Really can't fault it! Beautiful places locally to visit, not a lack of things to do! Thanks so much for a lovely holiday!!!☺️

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary w
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very agreeable, peaceful and comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful relaxing time during Easter at this gite. On arrival we were welcomed with a bottle of local wine, tea, coffee and biscuits. We found the beds and furnishings very comfortable and it is very clean, all is brand new. Easter was early this year, although we had lovely weather during the day, the wood burning fire was cosy and welcomed in the evening. The gite is set within vineyard countryside and the local village is about a 20 min walk away where you have a good boulangerie. We were there out of season so we did not use the pool but it is a good size. You need a car to explore and we found the leaflets on various places to visit and the days to go very useful. The restaurants were friendly and welcoming and the food delicious and I enjoyed practicing my language skills. We ate with our hosts several times during our stay and enjoyed their company as well as the excellent food.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2016
Thank you very much, Mary and Ralph, for this lovely review. It was great to have you stay and 'test drive' the gite for the first time. We hope you will be able to enjoy the pool on your next visit!
Claire and Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing