We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stoneleigh Barn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Eastbury Hotel(Sherborne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Manor(Yeovil)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Helyar Arms(East Coker)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
105
10
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bseparate private bathroomcomfortable bedsdouble roomsherbornegardentrimmingsgem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent a very enjoyable weekend at Stoneleigh Barn in the Dorset countryside close to the beautiful town of Sherborne. We were visiting some old haunts, as we used to live in Sherborne. Our hosts were very friendly and made us feel very welcome which was great after the long trip down from Scotland. The room we stayed in was spacious and luxurious with an immaculate en-suite. Breakfast was great also, with local organic produce.
The next time we visit the Sherborne we will certainly be staying at Stoneleigh Barn and would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent B & B to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Lovely building, thoughtfully and sensitively modernised, in quiet, peaceful location. Good location for touring Dorset/ south Somerset - just a few miles from Sherbourne and the A30/A303. Friendly welcoming hosts. Very comfortable and well-equipped room, with pretty views of adjacent countryside.
One small point for improvement would be a wider choice of cooked breakfasts. Current menu is pretty simple and basic. Lacks the style of the rest of the establishment.

Room Tip: I'd imagine that they're all pretty good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The farm is beautifully situated in a nice rural location and is surrounded by plants and flowers. The house is big, full of light and very inviting. We had the Lilac room with a private bath. The room and the bath as well as the whole of the house were almost frighteningly clean. I am very fussy about cleanliness, but I must admit I have NEVER seen such a clean place in my life. This is even more surprising as the house is very old and the wooden beams have been kept during renovation; so the rooms are very new and modern, but with that special touch of an old rustic house. The breakfast was very good too, with plenty of choice (I had the Norwegian salmon, my husband the full English breakfast), lovely fresh fruit salad, nice dishes/cups and great attention to detail - and of course everything was immaculately clean here, too. The owner, Torunn, is a very friendly and uncomplicated lady who was very helpful and welcoming. I would thoroughly recommend Stoneleigh Barn, since it was definitely one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schneewein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Stoneleigh Barn this weekend for a friend's wedding. It's less than a 10-minute taxi ride (about £5) from Sherborne station. The Orchid room is spacious and comfortable, with an ensuite bathroom and very large tub! The biscuits were lovely.

Torunn and David were excellent hosts. They were welcoming and helpful, but also left us free to do our own thing.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious - full English, plus fruit, fresh bread and eggs from the chickens. Plus we had some entertainment playing with the kittens and westie dog. The conservatory/breakfast room is bright and airy and it overlooks a beautiful, enormous garden.

As a final nice touch, David gave us a lift to Sherborne Castle so we could do some sightseeing before walking about 5 minutes to the train station.

We would definitely stay here again. I believe this B&B is also in the cheaper price range compared to nearby places, but it is a really comfortable stay and great value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyphantom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a beautiful bedroom, really appreciated the fridge in the room. It was a first class Full English breakfast in peaceful surroundings. We enjoyed strolling around the garden, which was very well maintained. Our hostess was very friendly and welcoming, and helped direct us to our next destination which was extremely helpful!
We will hope to have a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews