We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast!”
Review of Stoneleigh Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoneleigh Barn
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely bed and breakfast!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had 2 rooms overnight for a family wedding and were absolutely delighted and wished we could have stayed longer.
Really comfy rooms and beds, gorgeous breakfast and it felt as if we were part of the family. We ate breakfast in a sunny conservatory with the chickens, who had produced our eggs, pecking just outside.
Torunn couldn't have been more helpful. A lovely spot which we hope to return to!

Room Tip: We had two bedrooms sharing a bathroom, ideal for three of us. It was as if we had our own little pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
45
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent two nights in Stoneleigh Barn , and it was excellent place with a great care from our host. We choose two-room apartment and rooms were very nice and spacious. There was a possibility to spend evenings in the garden with apples and plums straight from the trees.
Nice and clean bathroom ( with as usual confusing for "overseas guests" two taps separately for hot and cold water :-) ) .
Breakfast was so tasty and huge that was keeping us without hunger for hours. We were able to choose from different styles of breakfast but all of them were excellent.
Torunn ( the owner ) helped us with taking from railway station in the middle of the night and in any other small things which appears during our stay.
Four points for location due tothe distance from city ( for some persons it could be an advantage )
I can really strongly recommend this place, and for sure we will visit it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Though I was only a guest at Stoneleigh Barn for one night, I enjoyed my visit very much. The room was spacious and comfortable, spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The breakfast was wonderful, too. I would strongly recommend Stoneleigh Barn to any one who likes creature comforts, a warm and friendly welcome and a hearty breakfast in a charming location. It was a very hot night, so a cooling fan might have been welcome, but otherwise I give this full marks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We Stayed for two nights at Stoneleigh Barn for my son's wedding in Sherborne. Our room was
delightful with all amenities , very relaxing with plenty of room to get ready for wedding.
The breakfasts were amazing with plenty of everything
On arrival we had a warm welcome with a drink in the well tended gardens. Nothing was too much trouble for our stay and we shall certainly return , may be a christening!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent a very enjoyable weekend at Stoneleigh Barn in the Dorset countryside close to the beautiful town of Sherborne. We were visiting some old haunts, as we used to live in Sherborne. Our hosts were very friendly and made us feel very welcome which was great after the long trip down from Scotland. The room we stayed in was spacious and luxurious with an immaculate en-suite. Breakfast was great also, with local organic produce.
The next time we visit the Sherborne we will certainly be staying at Stoneleigh Barn and would have no hesitation in recommending this excellent B & B to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Lovely building, thoughtfully and sensitively modernised, in quiet, peaceful location. Good location for touring Dorset/ south Somerset - just a few miles from Sherbourne and the A30/A303. Friendly welcoming hosts. Very comfortable and well-equipped room, with pretty views of adjacent countryside.
One small point for improvement would be a wider choice of cooked breakfasts. Current menu is pretty simple and basic. Lacks the style of the rest of the establishment.

Room Tip: I'd imagine that they're all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The farm is beautifully situated in a nice rural location and is surrounded by plants and flowers. The house is big, full of light and very inviting. We had the Lilac room with a private bath. The room and the bath as well as the whole of the house were almost frighteningly clean. I am very fussy about cleanliness, but I must admit I have NEVER seen such a clean place in my life. This is even more surprising as the house is very old and the wooden beams have been kept during renovation; so the rooms are very new and modern, but with that special touch of an old rustic house. The breakfast was very good too, with plenty of choice (I had the Norwegian salmon, my husband the full English breakfast), lovely fresh fruit salad, nice dishes/cups and great attention to detail - and of course everything was immaculately clean here, too. The owner, Torunn, is a very friendly and uncomplicated lady who was very helpful and welcoming. I would thoroughly recommend Stoneleigh Barn, since it was definitely one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schneewein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wootton
1.6 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
674 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
1.7 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
413 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#8 of 24 in Sherborne
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneleigh Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneleigh Barn

Property: Stoneleigh Barn
Address: Stoneleigh Barn A3030, North Wootton, Sherborne DT9 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > North Wootton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Wootton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hearty welcome awaits you to this Bed and Breakfast which has been recently refurbished to the highest standard. Stoneleigh Barn is approx. 200 years old and is situated about 2 miles from the historic town of Sherborne. Ideally situated for visitors to the area, be they tourists, business people or wedding guests/couples. The popular wedding venues the area has to offer including Stockbridge Farm Barn, Sherborne Castle, Sherborne Abbey, are all within a short distance from us.Our accommodation comprises four rooms - all with en-suite and private shower and bathrooms. Our facilities include Freeview, LCD TVs, free WiFi internet, hairdryers, mini fridge and tea/coffee making facilities,Stoneleigh Barn is set in delightful and relaxing garden where the weary traveler, romantic couple or tourists to the area can enjoy the facilities we have to offer. Drinks on the terrace will be provided at your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stoneleigh Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing