We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful dog friendly family holiday in a lovely...”

Review of Leopold's Cottage

Back door with closest neighbours
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back door with closest neighbours
Front door. Living-room with stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Back door with closest neighbours
Front door.
Living-room with stove
Living-room
Dining-room
Dining room with ancestor attending supper
Downstairs bedroom
Downstairs bedroom (11 m2) with shower 'en suite'
Downstairs bedroom
Upstairs bedroom (14 m2)
Master pieces
Upstairs bedroom (11 m2)
Upstairs bathroom
Front door.
Children's cottage and teeny kitchen-garden
Lawn with children's seats
Meadow
Internet salon beside owner's house (open Wi-Fi, parlour games, news, DVD...)
Internet salon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
Caroline...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful dog friendly family holiday in a lovely cottage full of character”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first trip to Normandy was made so pleasurable and special by Isabelle who owns the cottage. It was beautifully presented, comfortable and full of character. Plenty of space and very well equipped. Isabelle even provided us with fresh milk, croissant & bread on Sunday morning. The nearby village of Moyaux had good shops, bakery and butchers etc. The whole area was stunning in terms of countryside, beautiful villages and buildings, cider(!). Also it's not too far from the coast and Normandy beaches, Honfleur etc.
We had amazing weather and so our only request would be for some comfy garden furniture / sun loungers to take advantage of the lovely garden.
In short - Great location. Great cottage. Wonderful host.
Thank you Isabelle!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Age & character of cottage, kindness of the host
Liked least: not enough comfortable garden furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amos l
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“out of this world, could live there”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautifully cottage in lovely quiet French country side, Stayed here for 9 wonderful nights and very impressed with the cottage and surroundings. All facilities were as described and you could not ask for more. Isabelle was friendly and helpful and would go out of her way to help, It was just what we needed for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, Isabelle booked the vet for us, I would strongly recommend to family and friends. The pictures on the website don't do it justice, to look out the windows to see the horse’s, donkey & goat the donkey would look the through the windows at us, the animals are all so friendly we was hoping to go back in 2016 but our dates have gone so it will be 2017 Isabelle is out this world she would always be available to help

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: so relaxing and cosse
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakley83
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What A Beautiful Place!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is definitely one of the nicest places I have ever stayed.
Isabelle was so lovely and really helpful.
We stayed in June and we had amazing weather which meant we spent most of our time relaxing in the beautiful garden with the horses running around in the field next to us.
If you have booked to stay at this Cottage then you are in for a real relaxing treat.
I will definitely return one day soon.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieHugh...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday in wonderful countryside”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

At our first sight of Leopolds Cottage we knew we were going to have a wonderful time. Isabelle the owner was there to greet us and made us very welcome. The house itself is beautifully situated with surrounding meadows and is spotlessly clean. There is everything in the house the holidaymaker needs and of good quality. We had some lovely walks around the area admiring the scenery and the local houses. Only 30 minutes drive away are the nearby resorts of Honfleur, Cabourg and Deauville. All of them are beautiful towns and well worth a visit. However, be aware that Saturday's are extremely busy and parking can be difficult - especially in Honfleur. Also, a visit to the local cafe in Blangy Le Chateau is an experience not to be missed - sit outside and watch the traffic negotiate the small roundabout!! We love this area and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L
Paris, France
1 review
“Super ! Fantastic !”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A charming house with three bedrooms in the middle of the fields. Ideal for both relaxing in this amazing bit of countryside and / or visiting the nearby Normandy features such as Deauville, Pont L'Eveque, Honfleur etc. If you come with children there's even a superb open style zoo a few miles down the road.
The house also has fireplace (with glass doors which is important for child safety) and a comfortable leather sofa ! We loved the large garden, open fields, horses nearby, and generally had a superb stay. We definitely recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borderlov...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A dog's view on his first trip to France”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My owners visit France quite often but this was my first trip and I could sense they were a little nervous as to whether I would settle in the cottage and also about the trip to the vets before bringing me home. No need to worry, my friend Isabelle took care of anything for us.
We were spending the New Year at Leopold's Cottage and when we arrived there the cottage was lovely with Christmas decorations and a Christmas Tree - which, due to my good manners and upbringing, I did not try to use as an indoor toilet! Isabelle came to greet us that afternoon and gave us advice on the appointment with the vet which she made and even drew us a map on how to get there - she also told us about any events locally. My owners had asked, prior to their visit, about having a meal at a local restaurant on New Year's Eve - Isabelle had suggested a few including her favourite and then took care of making the arrangements for us. We spent the days out exploring locally - it was great fun for me to be allowed into places for lunch - under the table of course. The best part of the day for me was returning to the cottage, watching the fire be laid and lit before curling up in front of it for the rest of the evening.
I would certainly return to the cottage - it's a great place for both two and four legs to enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the cottage was so homely
Liked least: Only one very minor thing - wi-fi access would be nice but it wasn't a major issue.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie G
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Leopold's Cottage is a magical place. It is a very pretty house in beautiful surroundings. It is well equipped and very comfortable. Myself, my husband, two sons, mum and two little dogs had a wonderful stay. Isabelle, the owner, is lovely and very helpful. She met us in the village to guide us to the cottage and show us around. She lives a short drive away and was there if we needed her.
Our boys enjoyed feeding the donkey and horses in the field at the back of the house. Our dogs loved playing fetch in the large garden and exploring the fields around. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine (or local cider). The absence of WiFi and English TV was a bonus as we played scrabble etc. which was great family time.
Pont L'Eveque has a range of shops and a large Intermarche (15 mins drive). It is a good base to visit the D Day beaches, Pegasus Bridge and the Bayeux tapestry. The villages around are very pretty e.g. Beuvron en Auge.
We really want to return to explore more and hope to stay in Leopold's cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm of the cottage and its surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;