We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfing with Baleal Surf Camp”
Review of Baleal Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baleal Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surfing with Baleal Surf Camp”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Hi Everyone!
If you're checking Baleal out here, it means u're considering it as an option for the summer, probably. I did the same thing last year, I made my decision and now, I decided to write here to help you!
So, surfing was a dream I had for a looong time. In the end I saved enough money, booked holiday in Baleal Surfcamp, packed my suitcases and went!
Arriving in the Peniche bus station makes you think of a desert! There aren't many things around, but there would be few people, some of them, just like you, arriving to get some surf! Guys from the surf camp picked me up, showed me around the place and stuff. I went to see the beach and the ocean... And that was the moment! The moment when you feel something amazing is coming, there's this good vibe in the air, the power of the ocean, the salt you can feel in your hair. You will feel it way more once you start surfing! There is this special connection between us and the water, but you will realize it after spending some hours in the water and seeing what amazing things it enables you to do! The surf guides will help you with it. Whatever obstacle you face in the water, they will struggle with you. Whatever progress you make, they will cheer for you and make you feel like a world champ! :D First take off, first green wave, first cut back- although you may not necessarily know what it is now, trust me- you will remeber those moments forever, like riding the bike for the first time!
In Baleal they teach surfing in small groups, depending on the skill level you have. It doesn't matter, if you've never surfed before or if you feel comfortable on 6.8- they will help you to start surfing, they will help you to improve your surfing. Beside the assist in the water, there would be a video coaching class- nothing helps better than seeing yourself from a different perspective :D ! What's really amazing about Baleal, is that out of the whole month I've been there, there were around 5 days when I couldn't surf- the waves are there most of the time!

The instructors there are surf addicts! I feel I've learnt so much from them- both surf and lifewise. Felipe and his team will not only teach you how to ride waves and be safe in the water- they will show you how they live: respecting the nature, respecting life and, most of all, enjoying it!!!
After a week, on friday night, u will see amazing pictures you didn't even realize they were taking and then- the Ricardo's film from the week, which everyone's waiting for!

The time in Baleal was one of the most amazing summers. The waves I had there, the people I met there, the sunsets I've seen there, the Superbocks I drank there... Aaawh :D !
I will do my best to come back there this summer, and I hope to see you there!

Peace,

Maja

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Majamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    19
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
22
99
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just came back from Baleal Surf Camp. Really good place in every way! First of all staff is great from reception to surf instructors. Both professional and funny. Guys take care of everyone, doesn´t matter if your a true beginner or already know what to do.

Rental boards and wetsuits top quality. Everything worked out great.

And Baleal is a really nice place for a surf holiday. Beautiful scenery, good waves for anyone. All works well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amuuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I was travelling by myself and expecting the weather to be bad but it was such a fantastic holiday in the end, didn't want to come back! Learnt a lot thanks to the brilliant level of coaching, weather was good and met some nice people and the accommodation and location plus the service were all perfect. Will probably go again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the hostel which was pretty big, meant for 12 people and because it was February there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisphillips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Felippe and Manel are great. I had been to another surf camp where I thought I had learned how to surf. These guys corrected my mistakes and motivated me to take my surfing to a whole new level. The camp is filled with friendly people from the bar to the front desk to the camera peeps. Our surf group quickly bonded and had a great time together. Top notch all around.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

INSTRUCTORS
Felippe, Stephen & Manel look like they have been called in from Hollywood central casting to play perfect, hot, cool & fit surfers, but they are the real deal, passionate not only about surfing but also about teaching surfing. They derive real joy and satisfaction in seeing their students improve, and they provide ample attention and encouragement. Even though none of them are native English speakers, they speak English very competently and can relay tricky instructions about how to position your body, surfboard, etc. clearly. On top of that, they can make jokes in English and have a good time. They are stellar teachers.

ACCOMMODATION
I stayed at Baleal #2. It was very close to the surf camp and the supermarket--in short, very convenient. It's also clean but quite basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaSola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very professional surf instructors for all levels from begginer to advance.They care about your vacation and fill it with emotions. Surfing lessons + parties + chiling out. Perfect place, awesome people

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eivanchenkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I just had the best time ever. can't remember when last I have laughed as much as I did!! the instructors were excellent, professional, fun and determined to get you on top of the board ('the hand of god') I can't fault the holiday at all, the accommodation was good, the people friendly, welcoming and real, the food were great and the wine fantastic :) I would love to go back for all these reasons and mostly to surf again !! thanks to all the guys, you all deserve a medal!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baleal
1.6 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
428 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel PINHALmar
Hotel PINHALmar
#3 of 10 in Peniche
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bsurf House
Bsurf House
#2 of 21 in Baleal
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maximum Surfcamp
Maximum Surfcamp
#3 of 21 in Baleal
125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Peniche Surf Lodge
Peniche Surf Lodge
#3 of 98 in Peniche
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleal Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleal Surf Camp

Property: Baleal Surf Camp
Address: Rua Amigos do Baleal 2 | Peniche, Baleal, Peniche 2520-052, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche > Baleal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Baleal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baleal Surf Camp is a family run local business in Peniche Portugal, based on prime location in Europe’s most consistent and flexible surf spot. It was the first surf camp established in Portugal in 1993. By focusing on quality service and the environment it has grown to become one of the best known and loved surf schools on Europe's Atlantic coast. Teaching people how to surf here in Peniche and making sure they have the best possible surfing holidays is our main goal and what we thrive on. The surfcamp has a laid-back vibe and accommodation for all tastes and budgets. We welcome everyone from singles to families, experts to novices, a great surfing vacation is waiting for you here in Baleal beach, Peniche-Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baleal Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baleal Surf Camp Hotel Baleal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing