We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baleal Surf Camp
Nearby Hotels
Baleal Zensations(Baleal)(Great Value!)
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
H2O Surfguide Hostel(Baleal)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balili House(Baleal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green House(Baleal)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Agua Doce(Baleal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
221
20
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
20
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf campnew friendsgreat funcomplete beginnerthese guysspecial thanksbig thanksgood vibeshave a good timegreat experiencegreat weekfew minutes walklearn howgreen wavessee you soonbus stationtwo weeks
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

4 mates and myself stayed at the Baleal Surf Camp for a week and it was probably one of the best holidays I've ever had. The accommodation was 2 minutes away from the beach where the surf camp and Bruno's bar are located. Bruno's bar/the surf camp is a really cool pace so much fun just to hang out at.

What really made the trip was the how friendly and enthusiastic the Instructors were, our group was led by Felippe, Slater and Danny who were all brilliant. They have so much passion for surfing which really comes across in their teaching and are all up for a good laugh as well as really wanting to get you up on the surf board! All of the staff at the hostel were great as well and made us feel very comfortable and welcomed.

The whole set up just means your having fun all the time, a couple hours surfing in the morning, then chilling at brunos bar with a beer and food at lunch, followed by more surfing in the afternoon really is a great way to spend your holiday. In the evenings you can chill out at the hostel/flats having a BBQ before heading back to Bruno's bar or to the late night bars just a 5 minute walk up the road.

We made loads of friends at Baleal and for anyone who has been travelling it really has that same kind off friendly atmosphere. I would recommend going to Baleal for anyone who is thinking about a surfing holiday, wether you are with friends or alone (as you make loads of mates anyway). I know I'm already thinking about my trip back next year!

If your looking for a surf camp, look no further......this holiday is 10/10 fun!

James

Room Tip: If your staying with a group of 5 ask to stay in the penthouse!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in a self catering apartment. The apartment was perfect, local to the beach and the staff at the hostel were AMAZING! Could not have tried harder to make us feel welcome and like part of the Baleal family. The surf school/beach was a stones this away. The entire week was perfect. The surf instructors were lovely, the equipment (boards and wet suits etc) were all in perfect equipment and the beach is gorgeous. Bar de Bruno was also a favourite spot. I cannot recommend this highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaNZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a great two weeks at the surf camp, during June 2014 (early part of the season, so not too crowded). Accommodation is good, nice clean rooms, good kitchen, wifi, etc. Main thing of course is the surf: very consistent conditions, and amazing location that gets waves from almost all directions. Instructors are very good and experienced, learned a whole bunch of new things during my stay, they even did some video corrections. Can definitely recommend for learning the beginner stuff and more advanced as well. The bar / surf rental at the beach is good and serves the best food along the beach! Lots of other stuff organized in addition to surf as well. All in all, great place and amazing people, good vibes and nice atmosphere! Thanks guys for a great stay!

Room Tip: Spent one week on a shared room, and second one on a twin room once a friend of mine arrived. Best rooms are the shared ones on the main building, as it is the go-to place for all camp visitors and you get to meet most people, though nothing wrong with the other buildings and twin rooms either.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RistoParisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked a weeks last minute surf camp by myself for early June to get a week in the sun and to try my hand at surfing.

The range of accommodation from hostels to quieter twin rooms to private apartments offered something for everyone and were well equipped and well managed.

The setup was convenient and professional with the beach bar attached to the surf school making for a chilled and very social atmosphere. There's a decent sized supermarket a few minutes walk away and a few smaller shops and restaurants in the area.

Would happily recommend to families, solo travelers, or anyone else of all age ranges.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank FRSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have stayed at Baleal Surf Camp at the beginning of June, so it was not crowded, start of the season. But maybe it was even better that way, less people in the water, more attention of instructors, less possibilities to go out and wake up late next morning. :))) We happend to be in girls week, so in our group were only girls, witch actually was working very well :) Surf school was very good, instructors are friendly and helpfull. Accomodation was perfect, nice terrace to chill at evenings, grocery store just closte to it. All in all, just perfect vacation ! I cant wait to come back ! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giedre Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews