We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're thinking about going, go! You won't regret it!”
Review of Baleal Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baleal Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you're thinking about going, go! You won't regret it!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just got back from a week at Baleal Surf Camp and I wish I could have stayed for 2.
The location is perfect, hostel right across the road from the most beautiful beach, the surf camp and Brunos! The hostel itself was clean, bright and had all you need. All of the people, from the reception staff to the instructors, made you feel welcome and are really friendly. The instructors are brilliant! It was my first time surfing (let's just say I wasn't a natural!) and my instructors,Tiago and João, couldn't have been more patient and encouraging. You can tell all of the staff love what they do by the smiles on their faces.
I travelled alone but at Baleal Surfcamp you're part of the gang straight away. If you are thinking about going surfing anywhere, you won't find a better place than Baleal Surfcamp.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherylbeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    19
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
22
99
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
L'Isle-Verte, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

So many great memories about this place. They are really profesionnal in every little ways, they are doing this for a long time and it shows... The instructors are impressive .. really funny, friendly, great surfers and the most important : They really know how to show you the things that matters.. I made really good progress and I really know what to work on now.. thanks to Manel and Ben. Even when they were no waves in the middle of the first week they organize all kind of activities to keep you entertained.. this was a really complete experience, met so many great people .. the vibe was incredible, exactly what I was looking for. Bar do bruno was an excellent place to eat and hang out.. everything was easy.. the accomodation was awesome.. the staff really care about you having a good time. Thiago aka "Slater" was the first one to make me feel like I was welcome there, was really great to have such nice people around. Obrigado Slater, Manel, Ben, Antonio, Steven, Philippe,Jorge, Louie and Riccardo for the amazing video edit ! Those people are didicated to offer you a great time.. go for it !

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghai911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eschenbach in der Oberpfalz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I was at Baleal for about a week and I wish it could have been a month! I had so much fun! I had never surfed before and I was a little worried that I might get really frustrated with it, but with the help and encouragement of the amazing instructors I managed to do better than I thought I would and especially enjoy it at the same time. The lessons never got boring and I never had the feeling that they were too long.The location of the hostel 1, where I stayed, was perfect; close to the clubs, close to the beach, and close to the supermarket. I definitely enjoyed meeting new, especially international people. I also liked that eveyone went surfing at another beach near peniche, which changed it up a little. Seeing how surfboards are made was super interesting too!
See you next year Baleal!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahCollins002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

4 mates and myself stayed at the Baleal Surf Camp for a week and it was probably one of the best holidays I've ever had. The accommodation was 2 minutes away from the beach where the surf camp and Bruno's bar are located. Bruno's bar/the surf camp is a really cool pace so much fun just to hang out at.

What really made the trip was the how friendly and enthusiastic the Instructors were, our group was led by Felippe, Slater and Danny who were all brilliant. They have so much passion for surfing which really comes across in their teaching and are all up for a good laugh as well as really wanting to get you up on the surf board! All of the staff at the hostel were great as well and made us feel very comfortable and welcomed.

The whole set up just means your having fun all the time, a couple hours surfing in the morning, then chilling at brunos bar with a beer and food at lunch, followed by more surfing in the afternoon really is a great way to spend your holiday. In the evenings you can chill out at the hostel/flats having a BBQ before heading back to Bruno's bar or to the late night bars just a 5 minute walk up the road.

We made loads of friends at Baleal and for anyone who has been travelling it really has that same kind off friendly atmosphere. I would recommend going to Baleal for anyone who is thinking about a surfing holiday, wether you are with friends or alone (as you make loads of mates anyway). I know I'm already thinking about my trip back next year!

If your looking for a surf camp, look no further......this holiday is 10/10 fun!

James

Room Tip: If your staying with a group of 5 ask to stay in the penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in a self catering apartment. The apartment was perfect, local to the beach and the staff at the hostel were AMAZING! Could not have tried harder to make us feel welcome and like part of the Baleal family. The surf school/beach was a stones this away. The entire week was perfect. The surf instructors were lovely, the equipment (boards and wet suits etc) were all in perfect equipment and the beach is gorgeous. Bar de Bruno was also a favourite spot. I cannot recommend this highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaNZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a great two weeks at the surf camp, during June 2014 (early part of the season, so not too crowded). Accommodation is good, nice clean rooms, good kitchen, wifi, etc. Main thing of course is the surf: very consistent conditions, and amazing location that gets waves from almost all directions. Instructors are very good and experienced, learned a whole bunch of new things during my stay, they even did some video corrections. Can definitely recommend for learning the beginner stuff and more advanced as well. The bar / surf rental at the beach is good and serves the best food along the beach! Lots of other stuff organized in addition to surf as well. All in all, great place and amazing people, good vibes and nice atmosphere! Thanks guys for a great stay!

Room Tip: Spent one week on a shared room, and second one on a twin room once a friend of mine arrived. Best r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RistoParisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked a weeks last minute surf camp by myself for early June to get a week in the sun and to try my hand at surfing.

The range of accommodation from hostels to quieter twin rooms to private apartments offered something for everyone and were well equipped and well managed.

The setup was convenient and professional with the beach bar attached to the surf school making for a chilled and very social atmosphere. There's a decent sized supermarket a few minutes walk away and a few smaller shops and restaurants in the area.

Would happily recommend to families, solo travelers, or anyone else of all age ranges.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FRSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baleal
1.6 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
420 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel PINHALmar
Hotel PINHALmar
#3 of 10 in Peniche
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bsurf House
Bsurf House
#2 of 21 in Baleal
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maximum Surfcamp
Maximum Surfcamp
#3 of 21 in Baleal
125 reviews
3.1 mi away
Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleal Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleal Surf Camp

Property: Baleal Surf Camp
Address: Rua Amigos do Baleal 2 | Peniche, Baleal, Peniche 2520-052, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche > Baleal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Baleal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baleal Surf Camp is a family run local business in Peniche Portugal, based on prime location in Europe’s most consistent and flexible surf spot. It was the first surf camp established in Portugal in 1993. By focusing on quality service and the environment it has grown to become one of the best known and loved surf schools on Europe's Atlantic coast. Teaching people how to surf here in Peniche and making sure they have the best possible surfing holidays is our main goal and what we thrive on. The surfcamp has a laid-back vibe and accommodation for all tastes and budgets. We welcome everyone from singles to families, experts to novices, a great surfing vacation is waiting for you here in Baleal beach, Peniche-Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baleal Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baleal Surf Camp Hotel Baleal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing