We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the $$$”
Review of Surfcastle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baleal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfcastle
Ranked #4 of 10 Baleal B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$$”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We decided to go with the Surfcastle based on some of the reviews, checked out their web-page and liked the photos. The reality is however different. It's a glorified youth hostel for the price of a nice vacation or hotel room. The bed is a terrible spring bed and rather on the small side for a couple (and it squeaks). The bathrooms and restrooms are shared with at least 5 other rooms (that's a lot of people for a bathroom). The WIFI is ok as long as you are in the main room on the ground floor except when it stops working and nobody seems to know how to fix it. The surf rental is rather expensive. I could go on and on...

If you want to pay double for something of half the quality, the "surfhut" is the place to be, but I would suggest checking some other much nicer and much cheaper places with equal views.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexej g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

What makes this place great is the friendly staff, and the other people staying there. The group vibe can really be great, or just good. Overall I'm giving this place a 4, because I had a great time and would go back in a heartbeat.

The view is amazing, its right above the beach on a bluff (hill side). You can find some heat and sunshine or move around to another side of the house and have a cool breeze that might require a jacket. Jackets at night are needed because of the cool breezes coming in off the Atlantic. Great for hot summer days and cool nights sleeping.

Some details and comments.
The rooms are basic but nicely done and clean. The main house has wood floors and the small house and 2 apartments have tile floors. Some of the beds are nice and firm, others are a bit more ah.. settled in. Only a bottom sheet and a top blanket, sleeping was great when it was cool, but I struggled a bit with my temperature comfort when it was slightly warmer. They need an extra loose top sheet.

Breakfast was good overall and filling. Rolls, 1 cheese, 1 sliced meat, jams, butter, cream cheese, yogurt, a couple cereals, milk, soy milk, coffee, 1 or 2 juices, and some fruit. There were hard boiled eggs one or two days. mixing up the bread type (bread, rolls, croissants) and mixing up the sliced meat would be a little but nice improvement.

The place was generally clean overall, but the kitchen areas in both the big house and the small house could use a better cleaning on a daily basis, sometimes the garbage was not taken out for several days. The guests did a pretty good job of cleaning up bottles and other stuff on their own.

The surfboards and wetsuits are all in petty good condition considering they get used every week by about 20 people. A good number of foam top boards for beginners, and then a bunch of top end boards for the good surfers, they could maybe use a few more mid range boards.

Instructions were good to OK. But this also kind of depends on the waves that are happening

There are about 8 beach type restaurants close by, easy walking distance. Not high end, but OK food. And a pretty good supermarket.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

SurfCastle review.
The good:
* nicely decorated house with spectacular views.
* great people. I’ve been to a few surf camps, and the atmosphere here beats a lot of them.

The bad:
* way too expensive: for that money you ought to get your own toilet/shower at the very least.
* the intermediate lessons were disappointing: we were mixed with beginners.
* two incidents made me feel ripped off (even though the sums were small).

Room Tip: Room 1 on the main house probably has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surfer_86953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Depending on how you look at it, this is either a charming old manor house B&B or a really, really upscale surf camp. Or both. The rooms in the main house are sparsely appointed but full of character, the bed was comfortable, and the view unbeatable - It's right on the point - any closer and you'd be sleeping in the water. There's a reef break right in front of the hotel, and two beach breaks within 5 minutes walk. The staff is friendly, helpful, and enthusiastic. The only thing I wish is that it had been a better value. It's not that it was super expensive, but it cost us more to stay in a resort town that was shut down for the off season (90 euros/night) than in Sintra or Lisbon. I also thought that wetsuit and board rentals were a bit overpriced, many places like this I've been to would include them in the price of the room. Still, a very cool and unique place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevkevsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I Stayed 10 nights at the Surfcastle in August and had a great time.

The location is ideal with the property having several beaches on its doorstep and a number of bars and restaurants a few minutes walk away. The house itself is unique and certainly stands out. Overall the place was kept very clean, the breakfasts were huge, and the staff were very helpful, friendly and easygoing.

Oh, and the surf lessons were great fun! I definitely learnt enough to get me started in surfing and I now find myself desperate to get back into the water again.

I will definitely go again ... when I can afford another holiday!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Capitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

A wonderful place.
To relax, to surf, to lern surf, to have fun, for everything!!!!!
I've been there for two weeks, one of the best vacation in my life!!

The house is great, all the rooms( I booked too late, I slept wherever in the house) are warm, homely with a very nice vintage interior decor,room n.5 is the only one not on the sea side but it's so lovely to forget it!! The cleaning girl works everyday from monday to sunday and the guys working there (all of them) are friendly, helpful and sooo nice!

A really great experience, heartily recommend for everyone!!!

  • Liked — The accomodation
  • Disliked — The wind
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lafashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Just spent a long weekend at Surfcastle and the least i can tell you is that it was a great experience! For those who surf, want to learn how to, or just spend this is the place to be.
The house is beautifull and strategically located right in front of one of the most notorious waves around: Lagido.
The rooms are big, tidy and with amazing sea views.
The staff (portuguese, dutch and new-zealander) were extremely helpfull and relaxed, making everything they could to make you feel at home.
The atmosphere was always very relaxed, with guests from Portugal, Holland, Russia, Germany, USA and Switzerland watching the Euro 2008 matches together. Some celebrated more than others, of course...
The beach is great and walking distance from the "castle".
There are plenty of restaurants and bars around and a supermarket too.
Only problem: during the days i spent there the waves were always quite small... ; )

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baleal
1.8 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
337 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel PINHALmar
Hotel PINHALmar
#3 of 10 in Peniche
160 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surfness Lodge
Surfness Lodge
#1 of 10 in Baleal
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baleal Guest House
Baleal Guest House
#9 of 10 in Baleal
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gabana Baleal Beach
Gabana Baleal Beach
#7 of 10 in Baleal
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcastle

Property: Surfcastle
Address: Rua Raul Brandao No. 15, Baleal, Peniche 2520-009, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche > Baleal
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Baleal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful house located at the beach of Baleal. All spacial rooms with spectacular seaview. Breakfast included. Special prices for groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing