We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, average accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfcastle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baleal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfcastle
Ranked #7 of 8 Baleal B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, average accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The SurfCastle is unique and the location fantastic. If you are happy to start every day relaxed in a larger group at breakfast and happy to meet people from all over the world who are also attending the surf lessons, this is the right place for you. If you are expecting privacy and your own bathroom then not. Great holidays though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejseraltid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valla, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The best thing about the Castle is its position which is pretty much right at the edge of the beach and reef break of Laguide. The managers family still own the house which they have used since the 1920s and it retains much of its character.Surfing in Portugal has not been around that long relatively but it probably started in this area and Joaos(the manager) father and uncle were amongst the first Portuguese locals who surfed.Great surfing history combined with great location,perfect.Now, being a converted house is not the ideal starting point for a B&B as it is difficult to modify existing rooms for things like ensuite and such so you have to put up with a shared bathroom unless you stay in one of the external apartments.The rooms can also do with some soundproofing which be easy to do without destroying the historic features of this grand building.As i write this double glazing is being intalled which will help a lot.The breakfast is one of the best features as well as the view from the breakfast room.Joao also puts on a free dinner or bbq once a week for the guests which usually consists of something of local origin,brilliant!!
Come here if you want to surf as well as mix with the locals and people from all over.A surf camp thats not a flea pit!Best for mature surfers.I have been back twice and have had a great time each trip.Credit goes to the staff and managers Joao and Ginjas,great job guys and gals!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good .If you want a private bathroom ask for the outside apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location
The surf castle is directly at the cliff before you enter the peninsula of Baleal among with walking distance 2-3 minutes to great beaches, in particular nice for surfing.
You can access it by car from Lisbon airport in about 80 minutes.
Taxi is about 80-90€ one way or take a bus into Peniche from Lisbon at around 10€.

Place
The place itself has the main house with five guest rooms, the breakfast room / lounge and a kitchen; and a shared bath for the guests in the main house.

There are also apartments and rooms in the side buildings available. One building is off campus about a 2 minute walk away with three guest rooms.

The guest room we stayed in was in the main house. It was lovely decorated a mix out of traditional old style with wooden furniture and everything you need at a baseline. The matratze was firm and great to be fit for the next surf course in the morning.

Overall the standard I would say is above of a hostel in style, and attracting an interesting nice mix of people. We have meet people from NYC, London, Ireland, Switzerland, France, Austria, Germany, Colombia, Spain and Italy. This all within ten days and considering a small amount of rooms, making it very personal and interactive among each other. Especially to highlight: the newly set up fireplace out side (Joao great job!) and the amazing view towards the waves from the breakfast table.

If you wanna surf and have a great get away, a nice place to go.
I'll be back for sure. The surf teacher have enlightened my heart :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Unfortunately the surf castle turned out to be my worst travel experience ever. A friend and I were really intrigued by the photos on the website. When we got there the place indeed looked like shown, but the owner had overbooked the place so he put us in his neighbors house which was in a terrible state! And he didn't even notify us beforehand. So he wanted us to stay there for the same price as he asked for the "casa da guarda" at the surf-castle. Obviously we didn't want to stay a single night there so we left the surf-castle that same day. However, we only got half of our deposit back although we tried hours to explain to him that actually we had every right to refuse to stay there and that he shouldn't have overbooked his hostel in the first place...pretty shady guy. So we had a rocky start to our vacation, but thankfully we found a place nearby which was great and it was even a lot cheaper. So even if we would have stayed in the surf-castle, I think it's totally overpriced. So, I will never stay at the surf-castle again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Conifer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The nice thing about surfcastle is its laid back, relaxed atmosphere. Yes, the rooms are quite small and essential and you have to share the bathroom. But you have breakfast overlooking the ocean and if you want to surf you are provided with everything, including lessons.
The beach is at a walking distance, very convenient.
The hostel is always full of young surfers, so would recommend if you are going with friends (not exactly ideal for a couple)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Surfcastle is very special place. It was more than we expected, being aware that we are going to a hostel, after all. But, since we arrived we picked up on the house vibe and just went with it for 8 days.

We specifically wanted room overlooking the beach (rooms 1 or 2) and only this alone was worthy the money we spent. Every single time we stepped into the room we were amazed by the surroundings and how the house stood there on a commanding spot of the bay.

Hostel is clean and even there's only one bathroom on the first floor it was always available. Every room though has a sink which definitely helps keeping the bathroom running.

Hostel crew was great, easygoing and helpful. Other guests quickly became buddies and after few nights we ended up on dinner and drinks together.

Surfcastle will definitely have more significance for travelers searching for new experiences than to regular tourists looking for best "value for money" deals.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mare_Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Although this building might have a spire, like a castle, it is NOT a castle. It's a hostel.
The rooms were decent, the bathrooms were clean, the people (guests and hosts) were friendly, and the breakfast was alright.
BUT, its not what we expected for 120 euros/night!
The wifi was weak on the 2nd floor (where most of the rooms are) and when it went out, it was out for a while (though it was reported that it usually comes back after 5-10 min).
What an expensive hostel!

Also, surfboard rental was 25 euros/day.
Save some money and go to 58 Surf: board and wetsuit = 20 euros/day, board alone = 15/day

We're now quite happy at Casa das Mares 3 (will write a review once TripAdvsior puts a page up for them!) which has a better breakfast and rooms (with their own bathrooms) for half the price!

Hope this is helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SharonLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baleal
1.8 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel PINHALmar
Hotel PINHALmar
#3 of 10 in Peniche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa das Mares 1
Casa das Mares 1
#6 of 8 in Baleal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surfness Lodge
Surfness Lodge
#1 of 8 in Baleal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maximum Surfcamp
Maximum Surfcamp
#3 of 21 in Baleal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcastle

Property: Surfcastle
Address: Rua Raul Brandao No. 15, Baleal, Peniche 2520-009, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Peniche > Baleal
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Baleal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful house located at the beach of Baleal. All spacial rooms with spectacular seaview. Breakfast included. Special prices for groups. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing