We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Four Alls

The Four Alls
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Four Alls
Ranked #1 of 1 Ovington B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

In the heart of Ovington, just off the A66, the pub is well situated for visits to the Dales or the Moors.  Very clean and comfortable rooms.  TV reception a bit patchy in Room 4.  No WiFi detected or much of a phone signal in this area. Great food - last Thur/Fri of the month specializes in Thai food, and was great.  Friendly staff - Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a great single room - awake to the sound of sheep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
44
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We used this inn after attending a wedding at a nearby hotel. We did not sample the atmosphere of the bar in action but the proprietor was very friendly on our arrival and during our sumptuous breakfast. The accommodation was very clean with all necessary facilities. Always ask for a quote if using local taxi firms as we suffered from a "bank holiday/late evening" price hike. We will certainly visit the hotel again to explore a host of interesting local and regional sites and events.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Excellent food, huge portions. Fantastic atmosphere, friendly reception from staff and locals.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin-Donna-Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The room was the best bit but it was made clear this was a new part of the building.
the only draft on sale was hand pulled beer which was home made? everything else was bottled.
Had a meal in the evening and food was dry and over cooked, pastry was like dust and the sausages at breakfast was raw. Do the 2 owners actually hold a food hygiene certificate? and breakfast was cold.
no atmosphere at all and if it was not for the 4 of us staying they were 3 locals that came in. Not a pleasant experience and coming from the trade it was a let down.
I would not recommend at all.

Room Tip: I stopped in room 7 which was very nice, rather large and very clean. Could not say on other rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed here on our way to Scotland. It sits in a small country village opposite the green. The room was spotless and the food magnificent with a breakfast to kill for. Add to that it brewed it's own ale and an excellent pint it was.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeFavershamKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I had spent the few days before looking for an overnight stay for my husband and I
We decIded to stay at The Four Alls
What a lovely stay we had. The Inn thoroughly deserves a pat on the back for it's cleanliness, food and friendliness.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners of this family owned Inn
The food was the best I have tasted in a while,my husband's steak was cooked to perfection
I would advise anyone to stay here
Wewill be going again soon

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
254 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed for 1 night in September. The pub was very welcoming with real ale and good pub food. They do a Thai night once a month too, which sadly we missed. The room was immaculately clean, lovely oak furniture, a comfy bed and a nice shower room. The owners were really friendly and served us a fantastic breakfast which filled us up for the day.

Room Tip: Room 6 has frosted glass on the windows, so you don't get a view out unless you open the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovington
4.1 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
2.9 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 20 in Barnard Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ancient Unicorn
The Ancient Unicorn
#1 of 1 in Bowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Four Alls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Alls

Property: The Four Alls
Address: Opposite the Village Green, Ovington DL11 7BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Ovington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ovington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Four Alls 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Alls is a traditional stone built Inn located in the village of Ovington some 5 miles East of Barnard Castle and surrounded by rolling countryside. We offer a warm, welcoming and quiet non corporate atmosphere in which to unwind and a central position to visit other areas including the East Coast, Yorkshire Dales, The Lakes, North York Moors and cities including York and Durham. Please note we are on the North Yorkshire/County Durham border - why our page advertises restaurants and other establishments in Norfolk we don`t know. Tripadvisor have been informed but are unable/unwilling to rectify the situation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Four Alls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing