We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of The Four Alls

The Four Alls
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Four Alls
Ranked #1 of 1 Ovington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We spent a night at this family run Inn in the small village of Ovington. It is well placed for visiting Richmond, Barnard Castle and Raby Castle and being close to Darlington the East Coast isn't far away and similarly the Yorkshire Dales is within reach.The room we stayed in was large and well appointed and we had a great evening meal.
The hotel is family run and it shows in the hospitality.
The breakfast was one of the best Full English breakfasts I have had.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBiggadike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
44
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a brilliant w end at the Four Alls we were worried about weather but it was fine farmers had cleared most of the roads, location was perfect, John Jeans son was lovely he showed us to our rooms which was excellent very clean and everything you could wish for. Jean is so obliging there is nothing she will not do for you so welcoming can not wait to return, went with friends who also will return without a doubt. Food is wonderful Jeans steak & ale pie is to die for breakfast was excellent.Locals very friendly Two very happy couples from Grimsby thank you Jean and son John for a lovely w end. xxxxxx

Room Tip: rooms 6 & 7 very spacious all rooms clean & bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We picked The Four Alls because there was a good offer on the weekend rate and due to its location for visiting relatives in Darlington. Also it was well placed for visits to Barnard Castle and Bowes Museum. We had a nice welcome from John and were shown to a comfortable warm and cosy room with a good sized ensuite bathroom. At breakfast, we had a wide choice and both chose the full English breakfast which was delicious. Jean was very attentive and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We also took our evening meal there on the Saturday and were very well pleased with the food and service. After a filling main course we just didn't have room for a sweet course but other people in the restaurant were sampling some delicious looking fare (next time we'll leave room for one of those delights. )
Our hosts did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and obviously have high standards. We would wholeheartedly recommend a stay at the Four Alls.

Room Tip: The village is small and very quiet - I would think that any room would offer a good night's sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed for a weekend break and totally agree with other reviewers. The inn is easily accessed from the A66 and about five miles from Barnard Castle. The service is excellent and nothing is too much trouble for Jean or her son John. Our room was spotless and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed a good nights sleep on both of the nights we were there. The breakfast will certainly set you up for the day! We dined at the inn on both of the nights we stayed and enjoyed excellent home cooked meals and beer brewed on the premises. Our only regret was we were not there for Thai Night. I would certainly recommend this inn for excellent value, service and friendliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for a nights B&B. I would have to agree totally with other reviews about how friendly John and Jean are. From arriving early evening, they proved very welcoming and approachable. The room was comfortable and clean and we both had a peaceful nights sleep in a comfortable bed. The breakfast (full English) was one of the best I've had in a B&B and Jean was very attentative to our needs. I would recommend this Inn for your stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We found this inn by accident on a booking site - what luck! The inn is set in a very quiet hamlet near the A66, we were impressed with rooms (better than some we have stayed in in larger hotels) the cleanliness and especially the friendliness of Jean and son John. The enormous breakfast was wonderful and Jean could not have been more accommodating about what variety of items you wanted. There is a lovely garden to sit in and the pub grub in the evening was excellent (especially the malteser sundae!) Would highly recommend for anyone wanting a quiet friendly break at an amazing price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carjay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We came here to eat enticed by the CAMRA guide and it was an experience - a good one! It is located in a small hamlet off the main road. We were not sure it was open when we arrived because it closed for a while in the afternoon but the landlord came out and assured us it was opening time in a few minutes! The food was excellent and all made by the mother who was a particularly friendly woman. You could taste the good home cooking! The beer which is brewed on the premises is very good too. There seemed to be a number of local patrons who were regulars and they all got on very well with the staff. That kind of thing can make people from outside feel a bit left out at times, but certainly not in this place! I hope to go back here some day!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovington
2.9 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
222 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 21 in Barnard Castle
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 21 in Barnard Castle
313 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ancient Unicorn
The Ancient Unicorn
#1 of 1 in Bowes
109 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#12 of 21 in Barnard Castle
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Four Alls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Four Alls

Property: The Four Alls
Address: Opposite the Village Green, Ovington DL11 7BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Ovington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ovington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Four Alls 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Alls is a traditional stone built Inn located in the village of Ovington some 5 miles East of Barnard Castle and surrounded by rolling countryside. We offer a warm, welcoming and quiet non corporate atmosphere in which to unwind and a central position to visit other areas including the East Coast, Yorkshire Dales, The Lakes, North York Moors and cities including York and Durham. Please note we are on the North Yorkshire/County Durham border - why our page advertises restaurants and other establishments in Norfolk we don`t know. Tripadvisor have been informed but are unable/unwilling to rectify the situation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Four Alls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing