We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These guys just do it so well!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mathry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Preseli Venture Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at the lodge for four days Mon-Fri. Coasteering, kayaking, kite boarding, hiking and horse riding.

Accommodation is well thought out, fastidiously clean, wet rooms/toilets are spotless. There is not a thing that these guys haven't thought of. Drinks available throughout the day, breakfast from 8.15 - packed lunches made for you if going out for the full day or laid on if you are are the lodge for lunchtime. All food freshly prepared - you won't find any frozen and reheated stuff here.

Instructors are so friendly, knowledgeable and fun! Throughout the week I never felt at risk or in danger, you only do what is within your own comfort zone, but they will encourage you to take that next step.

A superb week - 150% + recommend that you book a stay and find out for yourself. Stunning local scenery, relaxed atmosphere and the thrill of the next cave - what more could you want.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohana28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Ah, what a lovely review to read, thank you :) We do our very best to offer comfortable accommodation and brilliant adventures on the Pembrokeshire coast and we are so happy that we ticked all the boxes for you. We are looking forward to you coming back for a return visit, as there is always more Pembrokeshire coast to explore. Thanks, Alec & the Preseli Venture team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Preseli Venture – a MUST for anyone who appreciates the great outdoors. This place has so much to offer and so do the staff team here who make it all happen, not to mention a wealth of expertise and experience they have to offer. Originally booked in for two nights and a sea kayaking assessment, which soon turned to four nights and some extra time to enjoy what could be the most amazing coastline that Britain has to offer. From the word go there was a very warm and welcoming vibe in a relaxed environment, great facilities including a bar/dining area with plenty of space, lovely bedrooms, very clean bathroom and washing facilities, spectacular views, high spec and very well maintained kit for use on activity sessions and importantly a very effective drying room (essential for the paddlers amongst us!!). A perfect retreat for families, couples, friends and anyone else who wants to visit and see this part of the world, I will certainly be visiting again and bringing some friends to share the experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewaters90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Ah, what a brilliant review, thank you! We certainly try to do our very best to offer fantastic adventures on the beautiful Pembrokeshire coastline with cosy and relaxed accommodation...so we're happy to hear we are doing it well and you enjoyed your visit. It would be awesome to see you back here with friends - so do keep in touch. Alec & the Preseli Venture Team. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We went on the school trip with arcadia to preseli venture and I have to say it was the best trip ever. The staff there who made the food and did the Bar were great, and the guides on our adventures were truly outstanding, especially Jon and Ron! I want to defiantly come back one day and do it again! It is a must do if you are going to Wales or thinking of doing something like this!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

It was great to see you here this past weekend. We are soo happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Wales and it was your best trip ever! We'll pass on your lovely words to the guides :) Please do come back and join us again for more adventures and a stay at the lodge. Alec & the Preseli Venture Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was recommended to this trip by a friend who was studying abroad last year, I was in London this summer and thought I'd try it out. This was the best weekend by far of my study abroad trip!! Not only was the home cooked food and hospitality AMAZING but the activities and people were unbelievable! I had so much fun kayaking, coasteering, and hiking! Shout out to Megan for being the coolest chick out there!

I would 100% recommend it to anyone looking to take a weekend trip and all students abroad!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleA21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review...we are really happy that you came and joined us this summer and to be voted as your best weekend on your study abroad trip - yahoo! Do come and visit us again if you are back in the UK, it would be great to welcome you. Thanks again, Alec & the Preseli Venture team. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Had an absolutely fantastic weekend seakayaking along the stunningly beautiful north Pembrokeshire coast. Excellent instructor, excellent food, excellent bar,and excellent friendly staff, lovely shower/wet room facilities. We had a lovely comfortable warm double room to ourselves, although the place was mostly set up for catering for student groups in dorms- it was in the style of a well looked after hostel, more than a hotel/guest house. but it was absolutely perfect for a seakayaking weekend- we didn't want to go anywhere else and will definitely be back as soon as our son is old enough to kayak with us next summer :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your review and joining us for some sea kayaking adventures - it was fantastic to explore the coastline with you and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the Preseli Venture lodge. Bring on next summer when we get to welcome you back with your son too :) Alec & the Preseli Venture team.x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My third and certainly not last trip to Preseli. Each year I organise a 'girls' (we range for 35 - 55 in age) weekend. An opportunity to let off steam and give us an Adrenalin kick. We have tried other Activity Centres but have yet to find one that can compete in terms of location, facilities, food or fun. Preseli Venture ticks every button.

Located close to the stunning Pembrokeshire coast. Offering a fantastic range of fun activities with excellent staff throughout. Accommodation is basic but comfortable and clean with great shower facilities. Food is simple, wholesome, fresh and delicious.

Booking for a group could not be easier as they are happy to deal directly with all as individuals, no awkward chasing friends for money or ending up out of pocket yourself.

We were very lucky to get tickets for the Cliff Diving Championships this year at very short notice and had to ask the Centre to re-jig all our planned activities to enable us to do everything we wanted. Alec was amazing and I'm not sure how she did it but everything was sorted brilliantly.

Can't recommend it highly enough for a fun weekend break with friends and can't wait until my children are old enough to enjoy it with me !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowhillwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thanks...we're so happy to hear we tick every button - yay! No problem - we do our best to organise our programmes to let our guests have the best time possible...it's great to hear you caught the awesome cliff diving competition :) It's been wonderful welcoming you to Preseli Venture over the past few years with your lovely group and we're looking forward to a return visit :) Alec & the Preseli Venture team.x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Well I'm certainly not a kayak king, but the coaching and experience I got on 3 days of kayaking at Preseli Venture certainly puts me on the road, albeit likely to be a longish road as I'm rather late to it! The Eco lodge is comfortable though on the basic side, and the food okay and ample. Good setting, and water based activities underr the careful watch of attentive instructors. This was my 3rd visit, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preseliventure, Manager at Preseli Venture Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review and joining us for sea kayaking on the beautiful coast. You have a great kayaking road ahead - full of excitement and fun :) Thanks for your recommendation Paul and hope to see you for your fourth visit soon. Alec & the Preseli Venture team.x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mathry
4.9 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
126 reviews
24.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
9.4 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Davids
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
2.8 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
72 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Old School Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preseli Venture Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preseli Venture Eco Lodge

Address: Parcynole Fach, Mathry, Fishguard SA62 5HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard > Mathry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mathry
Hotel Class:5 star — Preseli Venture Eco Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preseli Venture is Wales' only VisitWales graded 5 star eco lodge activity centre, built with sustainability in mind. We offer comfy accommodation, great home cooked food, friendly staff, and bonfires under the stars. We offer a great base from which to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, and you're also welcome indulge your adventurous side and join us for some coasteering, sea kayaking or surfing! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Preseli Venture Eco Lodge Mathry, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing