We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for all age groups”
Review of Country Skittles

Country Skittles
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Townshend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Country Skittles is a fun place to go whether a family group, an office outing or just the two of you! It has 4 traditional skittle alleys, a great restaurant, well-stocked bar, shooting gallery, mini crazy golf and lots of games including air hockey, pool, 2 player Guitar Hero, traditional board games, etc. Perfect for all ages! Please check our web site for details of menus and opening hours!
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Whether you want to play skittles, or play board games or giant versions of drafts. or take a chance on being a rock guitarist on the arcade version of guitar heroes. There is something to do for everyone here.
The food is good value with a variety to suit all tastes.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
You have to visit to see all the facilities for yourself. You will not be disappointed!

3  Thank Raptormad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks a lot, hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Country Skittles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visit Cornwall regularly and make a point of taking the children to Country Skittles.. The food and service has always been good and I am amazed that other reviewers claim to have had a bad time. The management are attentive and the facilities well maintained. I would recommend a visit to anybody that wants a good day out or just a quality meal for the family.

2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Glad you enjoyed yourselves! I'll pass on your kind words to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visited as a family of a mixture of ages from a young child to couples in their 30's.
We all went as some of the group had visited here as children. It is just good fun, there are board games, giant draughts, skittles, pool tables and some arcade games. As a large group we played skittles whilst waiting for our meal and it was all timed well by the staff. Some previous reviews have knocked the food but I can only say it was lovely pub grub. I had the steak which I cooked myself on the hot stone provided which was lovely and I would recommend.
Enjoyed the evening so much we went twice in a weeks stay. Expect slightly dated rather than massively modern and you will have a great night. Also look out for local Cornwall discount leaflet for free entry as opposed to 75p.

1  Thank 27love2travel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks a lot for your great comments. We pride ourselves on the fact we are traditional and not 'massively modern'! Everyone of all ages can enjoy themselves at Country Skittles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went to Country Skittles as a family recently when on holiday in Cornwall. What a great place. We had been there a few years ago, and loved it then so we wanted to see if it was still as good. We weren't disappointed.
Bowling, and games were good fun, and the staff were as helpful and friendly as we remembered.
The food was great, especially the 16oz burger I tried from their American menu.
There were pieces missing from some games, and the shooting gallery wasn't open on our visit, but still, I can't recommend this place enough for families.
We'll be back the next time we're in Cornwall.

2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks Paul K, it's a long way to come from Glasgow - one of my favourite cities - but I'm glad it was worth the trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Went here to celebrate eldest daughter turning 20, family of 5 including children aged 15 and 3. Firstly surprised on having to pay admission fee for 4 even when paying for playing skittles and having a meal. Actual place could do with a bit of updating as building and facilities haven't really changed in 10+ years. Beer wasn't good and first couple of pints tasted of cleaner. Food was ok but after reminding staff of missing chips twice they turned up when the rest of the meal was pretty much eaten. In fairness we were refunded price of chips. Also £5 for nachos seemed excessive when all they were was doritos covered in cheese no salsa, jalapenos or sour cream and guacamole as stated on menu.

1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain M, Owner at Country Skittles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Sorry you were disappointed about paying the entrance fee. That fee has been there since the late 80s when Country Skittles first opened, and has remained at the same 75p level for many years.. It was a condition of the licence as Cornwall Council designated us a club. When you pay the entrance fee once, you are entitled to a FREE Lifetime Membership card, so you never have to pay again. I hope you picked one up on your visit.
We do, however, recognise that the entrance fee is unpopular with some customers, and we keep our bowling prices down to reflect this. They have remained unchanged for a number of years now, and with prices from £1.60 per person, I believe that represents good value for money.
With regard to being the same for 10+ years, we spent almost £200k doing a complete renovation of Skittles around 7-8 years ago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Skittles also viewed

 

Been to Country Skittles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing