We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent large family accommodation”
Large sunroom with Satellite tv
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large sunroom with Satellite tv
Patio 1 over 400 sq ft Large modern kitchen with dishwasher
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Large sunroom with Satellite tv
Patio 1 over 400 sq ft
Large modern kitchen with dishwasher
Bedroom 1 with Queen
Lower level seating area with flatscreen TV
Bedroom 3 with Queen bed and fireplace
Patio 2 with 400 Sq ft.
View of lake - cabana and lower patio
View of cabana setting area over lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Delta, Rideau Lakes, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christens...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Excellent large family accommodation”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spacious accommodation, large accessible kitchen, comfortable bedrooms over two levels. Quite steep decline to water but well constructed stairs or pathway. Lots of patio space and BBQ on 2 levels. Lake very clean and deep off the docks. Small sandy beach for young children. Amenities very acceptable. Owner lives next door and access to playgrounds, docks, raft with slide, and some water equipment generously shared. Very enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: family accommodation with room to spread out for privacy on site
Liked least: stairs to water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thanks for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyOrc...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious property with great amenities”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Shirley's Temple is perfect for large families looking for a lakeside retreat. The cottage is newly renovated with all of the amenities you would want for your own home -- including a jacuzzi tub, dishwasher and top of the line washer and dryer.

The two-story layout of the cottage, with separate living areas and entrances on each level, gave our party of 8 adults and 3 children the ample space we needed to accommodate everyone. This was perfect for allowing the kids to sleep uninterrupted downstairs while the adults hung out above.

We especially enjoyed all of the outdoor space. There are enough places to eat, play and relax outdoors that we could easily each do our own thing. We enjoyed kayaking and swimming, sitting on the large dock, playing frisbee in the field outback, and made frequent use of the fireplace pit and eating area on the patio above the dock. The view is so serene and there are many places to enjoy it around the cottage.

There are quite a few stairs to get down to the water (with the option to walk around part way), but even with young kids this wasn't too bothersome, and definitely never stopped us from making frequent trips up and down. It worked out perfectly that there was an extra bedroom bunky down by the water because this gave us a place to change the kids and store our swimming stuff.

The owner Chris was very welcoming and attentive to our needs. When there was a problem with the dishwasher he had someone in to fix it the very next day.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience and would definitely stay here again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and that everything worked for your large group. Thanks for the nice comments

Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
970Robert
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Charleston Lake is awesome! The water is deep and very clear, excellent for swimming, boating and fishing. The cottage was quite spacious with lots of rooms, we never had to worry about running into each other. We have pre-teens and this was a perfect spot for them. Private enough that they were free to go down to the lake without worries. The cottage itself is very clean and very well equipped. There are BBQ's on two different levels with more deck space than we knew what to do with and a raised deck overlooking the lake. The BBQ's were new and there's was plenty of propane. The dock is well maintained and able to fit an 18ft. boat with ease with no concerns about touching bottom. The kids loved the diving platform and slide into the lake. The host's who live next door were very friendly and extremely accommodating. When they left we had their cell number in case we needed anything. The only concern at this spot is the trek down to the lake, there are a couple sets of steps down to the lake so very young kids and elderly may have an issue but other than that we would certainly recommend it and we plan on booking this one again for 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thanks for the positive comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing