We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very interesting and informative day”
Review of Old Walls Vineyard

Old Walls Vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A very interesting and informative day”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

It was interesting to hear about the history of the vineyard, it was amazing to learn how much is involved in producing wine. Ken made the whole day enjoyable because of his enthusiasm explaining every detail from the initial planting of the vines right through to the present day. The time just flew by. This was all rounded off by an excellent wine tasting and lunch. Would fully recommend this experience.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    13
    7
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Four of us went on the Old Walls tour today, and spent a most interesting couple of hours listening to Paul who held our attention so that the time passed in a flash. From the family history of how the vineyard was started, through to the finer details of wine making, this man knows his stuff and is very articulate and absorbing in the way he imparts the information. i would have liked a little more information on the actual tasting - what to look for when tasting a particular grape for example, but we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would warmly recommend this trip to anyone with an interest in the grape! the little cafe was well laid out and offered a good menu although we had made other plans, but the welcome coffee was good.
thank you for a really good experience!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An interesting and most enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We have just returned from a most informative and intersting visit to Old Walls Vineyard, and our guide made the whole visit most enjoyable - thank you. Also after the visit we had a lovely and most delicious cream tea, and all the meals served looked really appetizing and very well priced. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank retired036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The coffee cake is just to die for!!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We have just visited the Old Walls Vineyard in Bishopsteignton today & were extremely impressed.
We had lunch in the onsite cafe - the 2 adults had a glass of wine, sandwiches & cake, the 2 kids had novelty lunch boxes & the bill was less than £25!
The homemade coffee cake was amazing & we will be returning very soon to try the afternoon tea (maybe someone might treat me for Mothers Day?!)
The only thing I would suggest is keep an eye out for the vineyard sign at the village pub as we missed the turning at first but we were glad we tracked the vineyard down!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank winnie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very interesting day out!”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Today I ventured on a guided tour of Old walls vineyard in Bishopsteignton , Devon.
I found the day most enjoyable, relaxing and finished of with an excellent lunch. The best part was the breathtaking views followed closely by a top notch lunch at a very reasonable price.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank perrylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Walls Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Old Walls Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing