We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robinhood Resort Chalets”
Review of Robinhood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Robinhood Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This review is for the Chalets on Switzerland Blvd. next to Snow Summit. We just stayed over this past President's weekend. We stayed in Chalet B with an occupancy of 10 people with enough space for 4 cars. I have to give this place 5 stars just for the location. It's literally right next to the parking lot for Snow Summit. Hit the slopes in the morning and come back for lunch without having to pay for that god awful food they server at Snow Summit. That's the only bright side about this property, oh wait, they also have an indoor jacuzzi. Let me list the amenities with this place: 42" flat screen TV, fireplace, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms.

Now the negatives:
This place is entirely carpeted, including the bathrooms. I don't know if that's a very smart idea to have carpet in the bathrooms. Good thing the carpet is a dark color or else you will probably see all of the pee stains. I don't know about you, but I don't think a bathroom should have any carpets in them. Just so wrong and dirty. The bedroom on the first floor doesn't even close because the genius that installed the strike plate on the door didn't line it correctly so the dead latch won't go in the hole. Did I mention that the entire place smelled like a wet dog?? Well, that's kind of a given considering it's right next to the slopes and all the snowboards, skis and boots coming in from the snow. Because of the location, don't expect your 3G/4G smartphone to work at this place. Whether it be Verizon, AT&T, T-Mobile or Sprint, you are not going to be able go online with any consistency. I can not believe this place does not have any WiFi. Are we still in the stone ages? The carpets look dirty throughout the entire place and it creeks everywhere you walk. The beds feel dirty and the sheets didn't feel clean at all. Although they smelled clean, the linens that's used needs to be updated. It feels like you are staying at a Motel at a truck stop. The owners really needs to renovate the entire chalet. If they don't have the funds for that, at least update the sheets and the bath towels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Town_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Robinhood Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Not a big fan of Hampton Inn style efficiency hotels, but our stay at the Robinhood Resort was fabulous. We resided in room 52, which is a cozy and large two bedroom former manager's apartment. It is totally wood paneled, very warm (gas fire place), very accommodating for 6 people who appreciated the ease of access to the town of Big Bear. Everything is conveniently located outside your door, so walking and shopping is a breeze. If you desire a 1940's style, think black and white movie accommodation in Big Bear, this is the place you've been looking for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halloween80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We just got back from a great ski weekend with our friends and family. We stayed at their Cabin A property, which is about a five minute walk to the Snow Summit Ski Resort chair lifts (you can even see the resort from your doorstep). The location was perfect for us having small kids. We could wake up in the morning, take our time, and walk to the lifts whenever we were ready to start the ski day. My caveat is not to expect much from the cabin amenities. You are paying for location, and that's it (ok. The staff were friendly and the check out process was easy and simple). The cabin offerings are bare minimum. It gives you a feeling of staying in a motel 6 type place. Everything is old, from the bathrooms, the bedrooms, to the things in the kitchen. We had to take turns using utensils. There were no spatulas for cooking meals. No towels to wipe your plates after washing them. The reason I am giving it a 4 out of 5 is because of the location. With the little kids, the stress of not having to get in and out of car with all of our ski gear to get to the resort was worth the money we paid for the lodging that barely offered anything else.

Room Tip: If you are going to get one of their cabins at the base of Snow Summit, be sure to bring your own co...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsieBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed at the Robinhood resort 1/14/12 in room 46 (sheerwood forest building). It had a private bedroom separate from the living room area. This room in person is way nicer than most of the rooms pictured online for this place. it has been newly remodeled.

The living room had:
1. a jacuzzi tub big enough for 4 sitting, two laying down
2. a large gas fireplace - turn it on with the thermostat so you can set it for whatever temp you want and it automatically turns on and off.
3. a heater/ air conditioner - heater heats the room very fast... it was 25 degrees outside so that was nice cause when we first walked in it was an icebox
4. 2 ceiling fans
5. a pull out couch (sleeps 2)
6. a futon foldout (sleeps 2 and is thicker nicer than couch so living room could sleep 4 if you move the furniture around)
7. vaulted ceilings
8. big screen flat TV
9. newer nice wood blinds

The kitchen (in the living room)
1. A small size fridge (2 parts...a freezer and fridge... bigger than most small fridges)
2. Microwave
3. electric stove (4 burners and an oven)
4. small table (could seat 4 but only 2 chars... we flipped couch around to seat 2 more)
5. small sink (think bar sink)
5. Coffee Pot, coffee and sugar toaster
6. full cupboards (plates and utensils were scattered included 5 plates, 3 forks, 4 spoons, 12 butter/ steak knives, 6 bowls, 5 mix and match glasses, a spatula, serving spoon, 1 sauce pan, i bigger skillet, one smaller one and that's about it so if you are making pasts lets say... bring a big pot, strainer ect. When I called the front desk before ariving to find out what kind of stuff they had in the kitchen, they said if I was missing something, they would let us borrow it from their kitchen. VERY ACCOMMODATING)

Larger size Bathroom:
1. sink
2. Bathtub/ shower (great if you want a private bath)
3. toilet
4. shampoo, conditioner, lotion, regular toiletries.

Bedroom:
1. King size bed
2. 4 extra pillows
3. three extra blankets (for living room beds)
4. Newer furniture
5. smaller flat screen tv


Location was amazing.... walking distance to restaurants, shops, bars, convenience store cross the street (has booze). Also close to lake, and 10 minute drive to Bear Mountain. If you want to be in the heart of Big Bear, this is the place.

I called a few times before we came up, chatted with a few different people at the front desk, and everyone was very pleasant. Some of the locals in town working at restaurant/ stores ect. I can not say the same about. It's like they hated tourists.

Only bad thing I can think of is the carpeting is a light beige color so you can see the high traffic areas. The room was clean, comfortable, and a great place to relax after a long day snowboarding.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 46. It's on the second floor (steps) and was pretty quiet. I heard some of t...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLuvDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 12/28/2012 to 12/29/2012. The hotel was very quaint and the rooms were very clean. We booked at the last minute and the staff was able to accommodate our dates by moving another group to a different room and this allowed us to stay at this resort for consecutive nights. Below are some key points.

1. Room had 3 beds in it which allowed us to bring 5 people.
2. Room had a great heater and kept the room nice and warm.
3. TV was old CRT style, however the picture was perfect and we even hooked up the PS3 to watch Netflix.
4. WIFI was not great, but worked for us for what we needed.
5. Coffee, Pastries, and OJ were in the office every morning and made for a quick bfast before hitting the slopes.
6. Room has a wood fireplace and if you don't bring your own, the office sells a Duraflame log and Pack of firewood for 9 dollars total.
7. Nottingham restaurant is onsite and makes for easy dining. However be warned, they are small and if you have a big party you can find your food cold and a long wait.
8. Very close to Big Bear Village which has tons of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Asheen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The staff were very friendly and actually gave us a better room than we booked because there were so many vacancies which was really nice. The room was clean and had everything we needed in the kitchen. This place is a very sweet affordable lodge I would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Found this place when planning my trip to the Big Bear Oktoberfest. It's located right at the beginning of the Village entrance. The room was in the main area of the resort. This is NOT a typical resort - but a convenient place to stay with very good customer service, from the clean room being just that - a room with a King size bed (hugged me like a bear - comfy), full bath, fridge, & tv. We were steps from their Knottingham Tavern which by the way had NO lines for breakfast and it was less expensive than it's counter parts on the village road. Each morning my husband & I went there, the waitresses were awesome & kept the coffee coming. There is muffins & pastries with coffee & juice in the lobby each morning but I needed french toast & bacon. As for the location, you are within seconds of all the shops, local watering holes, restaurants, etc. I will definitely stay here again due to the great customer service, price & location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paigelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.4 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#10 of 19 in Big Bear Region
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robinhood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinhood Resort

Address: 40797 Big Bear Blvd., Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range: £53 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robinhood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Robinhood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robinhood Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing