We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy lodging in heart of town but don't expect luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cozy lodging in heart of town but don't expect luxury”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The room was 95 dollars on a Saturday night, and the location was nice -- right ihe heart of the town.

Check-in was smooth, though we found it a bid off-putting that key cards would cost $10 if not returned. The beds looked nice but were not that comfortable. TV worked fine with lots of channels. The heater was difficult to control and a bit noisy.

We asked for extra blankets and it took about an hour and an extra call to get them to bring to the door. The walls were kind of thin, and we could hear the people upstairs stomping around. Seemed like a young crowd, which makes sense cause the place the is close to the ski areas.

The continental breakfast isn't so great. Bagels with cream cheese but no butter. No butter? Are you serious? Overall, the place isn't bad, though. Definitely not a dump.

Room Tip: All the rooms surround a parking lot in the middle. Not much privacy. A few rooms have a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    92
    132
    64
    65
See reviews for
178
116
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Usually stay at Motel 6 but heard that the Travelodge was redone and actually cheaper, and included 2 queens instead of 2 twins. Plus a continental breakfast. Great deal for a great price!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

First, I liked the clean rooms, new tv, and a very clean bathrooms. However, the location of the hotel is not close to any entertainment or restraunts. You would need to ride a car in order to go somewhere. When night comes, it's a bit scary because there is nothing around you. No light or any view of the streets that made me scared. But I would say that this hotel is OK to stay for 2 to 4 nights. Free private parking available with a breakfast with a few bagels, cereals, and some beverages. I would come here again!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Considering its a Travelodge, didn't find this to be too bad. Stayed for two nights. Room was pretty decent. It is a motor-hotel so doors to the rooms are on the outside of the building. Free breakfast but really basic (individually wrapped pastries etc.) Plenty of parking. Free in-room wifi worked fine and speed was pretty good too.

Minor issues - in room A/C was really loud - kept getting too hot during the night without it so had to have it on, but made it hard to sleep. And water temperature in the shower was an issue - the first day it was scalding hot and difficult to adjust to a comfortable temperature. The next day, couldn't get it any hotter than lukewarm.

As long as you have a car, location is not bad - easy drive to the village shops and restaurants of around 2 miles, and perhaps 5 or 6 mile easy drive to Bear Mountain.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MachThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
1.3 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
197 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
130 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#14 of 19 in Big Bear Region
60 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA

Property: Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Address: 39471 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Big Bear Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing