We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luck of the draw”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Lancaster, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“luck of the draw”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Your quality of stay depends on which part of the property you are assigned and whether your neighbors are decent or idiots. We had idiots and the rooms are so old there was nothing blocking the noise of the mai tai fueled family reunion next door or the square dancing lessons at 3 am above us (seniors up all night in the bathroom - not really dancing). Our friend slept like a baby in his room at the other side of the road. Also, the front staff doesn't really have it together. We were at a wedding ACROSS the street - literally -and the front guy had no clue where the lodge was. Plus side - the lake is lovely, but there are about 75 other lakeside lodges that are probably better appointed and managed than this one.

Room Tip: Get second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
WE thank you for staying with us at Big Bear Frontier. We are sorry that your room didn't offer the quietness that your friends did. Don't ever hesitate, and it matters not what time of day or night, that if you get by a noisy bunch of people and need moved, we will happily do that if we have rooms left. We want every guest to get what "pleasure trip" they came up here for. Obviously, some folks want to rest and relax and other's want to party. We hope you will try us again and get a small cabin. It's the motel area's that often get the clusters to party.
There are a few other lovely lodges in town, however, we pride ourselves in that we are one of the prettiest...so we hope to see you back again. I aplogize the front desk clerk wasn't knowledgeble, we have just had to add 3 new people
to our staff, so it takes them a bit of time to figure out where everything is. Often time help comes from places other than Big Bear, so one has to learn the locations, etc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    138
    49
    21
    32
See reviews for
164
155
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

While the grounds are very pretty the rooms lack big time. We stayed one night in one of their hotel rooms which was priced at over $200. You figure when you pay that price for a room you're going to get something pretty nice. NOPE! Carpet was gross, the sitting chairs were not padded, TV was old, ice machine you had to walk all the way to the main lobby and that wasn't even working. The rooms were also VERY noisy...we were downstairs and they booked a family of little kids upstairs. Needless to say we woke up very early to kids running around, bouncing balls while yelling and crying. Establishments should always book families on the lower level. Oh and with it being summer, NO AC in the room just a very noisy ceiling fan that didn't do much to ease the stuffiness in the room. Lastly, make sure you read their cancellation policy. I tried to cancel two weeks before and was told I wouldn't get my money back. If you want to change the date they'll tack on another $25. We won't be going back...plenty of other nice places to stay on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We are apologetic that you did not enjoy your time while in Big Bear. We will take into consideration those things that annoyed you and attempt to fix them. We would love to remodel every room, but the economy doesn't dictate that we can. Our prices are very much in line with other lodges here. While you may find something that fits your needs better, please don't forget us. We will certainly be glad to have you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We come back every summer. It is the perfect place to beat the heat from Palm Springs.
Love the grounds and you are right on the lake. There is a marina next to the property
and it very easy to rent a boat and get out on the water. The rooms are great and very
rustic with big rock fireplaces and very cozy as well. The town and all the restaurants are
close enough to walk to if you want,if not you can BBQ on property.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you so much for your pleasant review of the Big Bear Frontier. Yes, to retreat from that Palm Springs heat is critical and we are just the place to come. Those cool breezes off of the lake, kids can play in water and your right, you can walk right next door and get boats, fisihing equipment. The rooms are pretty, the grounds relaxing with all of the lovely flowers, the dock and the ducks and fish in the lake. It is a nice place and we want you to come back as often as you can. Thanks for your loyalty.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My Husband and I go to the Big Bear Frontier Every Aug. for my Birthday week,
we love this place.
It's so peaceful and relaxing up there.The room's are decorated so you feel like you are in a cabin & ea. room has a small ref. & microwave for your convienience.
The Lake view is beautiful, the pool is great, the Hotel staff are very friendly & helpful with any info you may need during your stay.
The downtown area is just a few mins. away and there are some Fantastic Resturants near there too.
I look forward all year to our next trip up there & just TODAY I booked our trip there for next month.
C. & E. from Long Beach, Ca.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
It makes us feel special that you any your husband come see us at Big Bear Frontier for your birthday. We glow when we hear fine people like you appreciate the beauty and relaxation available at this resort. The lodge is old, thus our maintenance crew has to work very hard to keep the place so nice. Being on the lake is a big plus, then having pool and jacuzzi.


The hotel staff is there to serve you and we want you to leave knowing you had good service. Always ask if you need anything. If it's reasonable, we want to help.

Thanks for your loyalty. You kind of people make our job worthwhile. Come back soon.

















we love this place.
It's so peaceful and relaxing up there.The room's are decorated so you feel like you are in a cabin & ea. room has a small ref. & microwave for your convienience.
The Lake view is beautiful, the pool is great, the Hotel staff are very friendly & helpful with any info you may need during your stay.
The downtown area is just a few mins. away and there are some Fantastic Resturants near there too.
I look forward all year to our next trip up there & just TODAY I booked our trip there for next month.
C. & E. from Long Beach, Ca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Check online for pictures of cabins because they are all different.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Big Bear Frontier is a great location. While we don't have much of a beach this summer because of the "wet" winter, and the lake being so high, just the fact that you have the beachfront is great. The view is gorgeous and the place so relaxing and pretty. You were here some of our warmest days, which is the time to sit out by that water and cool off. Please come back and stay with us. We want you to know that when you come to Big Bear, you are more than welcome at our place. You have a lot of choices of places to stay up here, we are glad you chose us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

we had a great experiece , they were all friendly specialy Cher , she was very pleasent and helpful from the first time we spoke on the phone, we will come back.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Thank you for the time to write a review and to compliment Cher on the customer service that she extended to you. We are really happy you choose to spend your time away from home, with us. Thank you for being a repeat guest, we hope you will always think of us first when you are coming to Big Bear.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Checking in, had to give a credit card for a deposit, guess they have too many people trashing rooms. They weren't very friendly at the desk and noticed in the room that the towels were numbered, so I guess many people steal there towels there, but I have way better ones at home, so no thanks.

Noisy, loud people and no AC! Our rooms were boiling hot and at times had to close the windows since people were smoking their brains out. Lots of kids running up and down the hallway and drunk people sitting on the dock. Do yourself a favor and stay in a cbain if you are going to stay here, forget the crappy hotel. Bathroom was tiny and floor creaked. Carpet padding was real thin.

At one point on saturday afternoon, every spot in the parking lot was taken, so had no choice but to leave to go somewhere. Will not stay here again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
We apologize profusely for your bad experience at the Big Bear Frontier. Wahile some of the things that you mention are not things that other guests complain about, we will attempt to learn from you review and fix everything we can. We do ask for a damage deposit, do have a responsibility for inventory control to keep track of linens and try to keep the nice linens and towels for our guests. We, like many lodges in Big Bear, do not have air conditioning and normally only need it less than 10 days a year. We now see the changes of weather coming and you stayed with us on a record breaking temperature day for many cities across the USA. We hope you got fans at the front desk to help get through the night and you make an excellent suggestion, in that the cabins are not as warm as the motel. They get more breeze from the lake. We also had a large group in that were having a good time....and it is difficult to tell our guests that they can't have a good time. Hopefully, you will find a place that meets your needs so that you can enjoy Big Bear. We would like another chance to make you happy, however, we are not able to impact all of the things that were uncomfortable for you. Thanks for choosing us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins

Property: Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We offer 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in a lodgepole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbecue on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing