We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable cottage in the woods!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Frontier Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Adorable cottage in the woods!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our family is hooked on the little cabins here. Very comfortable beds, beautiful fireplace, a kitchenette with everything but food. Tall pine trees, a creek running thru the property, flowers and friendly staff. A private deck with tables, umbrellas, chairs, ducks and a boat dock to walk out on to the lake. Perfect to enjoy a picnic lunch, relax and read a book. Our family dog was also welcome to stay for a reasonable pet fee.
We originally stayed at the far end which is right on the lake. The rooms there were just standard hotel rooms...except for a huge beautiful fireplace in the middle! My main disappointment was that we stayed there in August. The internet didn't work in the south 40's so we went to the lobby and connected there. They also had a PC for our use in the lobby area.
Our 3rd stay was set up for my Parents' 57th Anniversary. The reservation was through an outside service. The cabin we requested in advance would have been perfect for them. We even drove up the Sunday prior to their stay to confirm the stay~and cabin number in person but somehow the cabin I spacifically requested had been given to someone else. The staff gave them an upgrade and a bottle of Martinelli's.
I still wish they could have had the other cabin as it was especially perfect for them. The staff really went out of their way to make sure they were happy even though there was a disappointing mix up.
The rooms are very nice, squeaky clean, rustic and near the heart of the town. We enjoyed our stay!
I would recommend making reservations directly with Big Bear frontier to alleviate third party problems such as this. It's an anniversary, they are old, I am still disappointed and too expensive do over. I guess we will just have to come up and stay again in the right cabin??? Oh darn LOL!
John and Lynn Davis, Moreno Valley Ca.

Room Tip: They have many choices and selections to choose from. If you want a hotel room, a cabin, or large ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    134
    43
    20
    32
See reviews for
159
151
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I had a problem with the new television in the room and the television couldn't be fixed. The staff assisted me in moving me to another cabin. The room was comfortable and clean. Staff was accommodating and helpful. The cabins are close to the lake and to the village. I am looking forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearfrontier, Front Office Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Victoria,
I am so sorry that the T.V. did not work properly. Thank you for being so gracious and moving to another cabin that had a working T.V. It was very nice speaking to you in the morning before check out. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Ok. This is a cabin. In the mountains. It is not a 5 star resort. But is was cute, relaxing and comfortable. We had a small studio, just right for 1 or 2 people.It had a mini kitchen with all the tools.The best part was a large balcony overlooking the lake. Slept with the windows open!
The smoke alarm battery was chirping, but they came and replaced the battery pronto.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna89409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
It is wonderful that you had a relaxing, comfortable stay and could enjoy the nearby Big Bear Lake. The early mornings and evenings are so relaxing because of the pretty grounds, the lovely lake and the quiet and stillness of it all.

We hope you will come back soon, enjoy the cooler weather up here, and spend time with us.

Thanks for choosing us.

Roger Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed in a cozy cabin with a fireplace, mini kitchen (range, micro, frig, and sink) and a little private deck, complete with patio furniture. Room and bath were clean. Bed was comfy. Grounds are nicely kept. All in all it was good deal all around. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redhead3855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to tell others that you had a great stay at the Big Bear Frontier Lodge. We appreciate that you gave us your business and hope that you will come back again for another great stay.

Roger Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just returned from 3 nights staying in one of the cabins just yards from the lake.
The location is perfect, your within walking distance of just about everything you need.
The cabin had everything we needed, tho unless your bbq ing theres no need to use thr stove or microwave as theres plenty of eating places nearby.
The staff were very friendly especially the groundsman / engineer who brought us a fan for our cabin the first night
Highly recommended, already planning on returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Big Bear Frontier. The staff is always happy to get a report that they have done a good job and that someone noticed. Thanks from them and I will pass it along.

We are happy when we have a guest that enjoys the location, the lake, the conveniences, etc. The resort is relaxing and to be within walking distance means a lot. During lovely weather and really busy holidays in Big Bear, walking or biking is preferred in Big Bear.

Hopefully, you will be able to return soon. We love to have guests like you.

Thanks again.

Roger Abbott
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Originally, I had booked the hotel section of the Big Bear Frontier. I was a little cautious in booking a cabin, as I read some fo the recent reviews. From working in the hotel industry, I thought that the hotel section would be the right choice. When I checked in, the very pleasant front desk people advised me that I had been upgraded to a cabin.

To my surprise, after checking the cabin out, it was indeed an upgrade. Like in real estate, it's always "Location, location, and location". Our cabin was just a few yards away from the shores of Big Bear Lake! The cabin was fine, as long as you are not looking for 5-Star amenities. You can't have the mentality that you are in Aspen or Mammoth, you have to remember where you are at. There are a few minor things that you may have to sacrifice, but the location is absolutely terrific. You may have to bring your own pillow, but it's not something that's going to ruin your trip.

The most important thing in the hotel business is customer return intent. And, hoping that your guests will say nice things about their stay. Well, I will definitely stay at the Big Bear Frontier Cabins/Hotel again. Sure they have to put a little money into the property, such as exterior painting and interior amenities, but the overall experience is very good. If you are looking for good, basic lodging and enjoy being right on the lake, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: A good tip is to always ask the hotel reservation staff to upgrade you whenever possible. If they c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bogawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
It was great to read your review, especially coming from someone who knows and is in the business. You are so right when you say, "remember where you are", and 5 star amenities wasn't the what the hotel advertised.

I am so glad you were upgraded and your tip is exactly right. We love to if we can, and it makes it so much more fun and rewarding to us when someone appreciates an upgrade. I used to fly a lot and it was such a treat to get upgraded to a better seat.

I am glad to see your comment on the pillows. I will be checking that out and make sure we have good pillows. We are in the process of repainting cabins and will be glad when that is done. Sorry you had to see it during that time.

Come back, let the front desk staff know that you stayed over Father's Day, and ask them to call me.

Thank you, again. We appreciate your business.

Roger Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

While the grounds are very well cared for; the two cabins we stayed in were less than satisfactory for our needs. The interior amentities were in dire need of repair, or replacement! Several attempts by maintenance to fulfill our requests for necessary repairs with-in the interiors failed to the point we had to terminate our stay earlier than we had antisipated. Unfortunately "three times a charm" would not have materialized with our experiences with two different cabins during our short stay at the Frontier. The office staff, and the maintenance employees were very pleasant, and accomodating to our requests, but the final outcome to make things right for our concerns did'nt happen to our satisfaction. A suggestion to the Frontier Management would be to check each cabin prior to visitors checking in; to make absolutely sure all the amenities are in working order, and properly cleaned. In all due respect to the Frontier Management; they did provide a refund for our unfortunate stay.

Room Tip: Flip a coin, and hope for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancychesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbearfrontier, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for the time to write a review on Big Bear Frontier. We clearly apologize that you had some problems during your stay. It is not often that we get this type of complaint. We will be going through the cabins to make sure refrigerators are in good working order, etc. Thank you for the nice things that you said about our staff. Our entire staff tries very hard to make sure our guest is comfortable. Things do go wrong in both new and old structures and we were glad that we were able to respond to your concerns, and again apologize that they were not fixed to your satisfaction. Thank you for mentioning that we did refund your money. Hopefully, you will give us another chance.

Roger Abbott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins

Property: Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We have 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in lodge pole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbeque on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing