We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, great cabins and amazing view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Frontier Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice staff, great cabins and amazing view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I went to Big Bear to visit some family. I love the atmosphere. I have stayed at a few different places before and decided to try Big Bear Frontier. I was bringing my two kids and one of their friends so we booked a three bedroom on the lake and I was amazed by the view. We arrived early and I wasn't sure if we would be able to check in but I gave it a shot anyway. The front desk girl with long curly hair, I forgot to get her name, got us in right away. She offered my kids some videos to watch before they went to bed, and gave them a basket ball to play with while I unpacked. I wish I had one of her everywhere we travel. We got to the cabin and WOW! We were lake front with a beach area and large back deck. The rooms were perfect! I will never stay anywhere else when I visit my Mom and Dad again! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Ask for the section by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    134
    43
    20
    32
See reviews for
159
151
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very basic motel style accomodations in an excellent location. The first room we were given was on the bottom floor with a great view of the stairway. It hed 2 queens and seemed ok but we found a wet bathroom floor from a leaky toilet so we were moved to one of the individual cabins with a kitchenette with a small picnic area just outside the door and waterfront just steps away. Enjoyed the small front porch seating area. The rooms do not have a/c so remained fairly warm until evening. A small whole house fan would help draw cooler air in during the warmer months. Beds need upgrade. Our first time in a Big Bear hotel after recently selling a family cabin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank endlessummer7084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I agree with the general consensus of other reviews: Very nice front desk staff, basic, clean rooms (which include a refrigerator, iron and ironing board), but outdated. Beds had the "old school Motel-type" comforters and such, but they were ok comfort-wise. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds right by the lake. Parking is free. We booked our room through Expedia and paid ~$160 or so for a Saturday night in June.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kls118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Excellent place to spend time with your family or as a couple. Relaxing, activities around. Cabin was clean and perfect size.
Staff was friendly and the area is beautiful.
There are a couple of stores nearby where you can get food and there are grills outside to make your own food.
Movies and games available at the reception.

Room Tip: Cabins with lake view are a bit more expensive, but worth it. Room near door gets cold really quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel was close to the lake and had a pool and a beach. Room was clean although very basic and outdated. Staff were very good and personable. Would have liked to stay closer to the lake. It was close to town so i could walk everywhere. Nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annehafner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Location and layout were great. Rooms really a facelift. functional but very outdated TV. Bathroom fixtures. Furnishings. Etc. Would be much better value with a little investment in property. Rented three rooms and a cabin

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Though the room was beautiful and the lake view I paid extra for very nice, the noise level was ridiculous. Between blowers (which ran for hours), sanders carts and even a motorized small vehicle, it was very difficult to enjoy the beauty of this once very peaceful community. As we stayed a full week, I really think we should have been able to have a much more peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps if you can afford the cabins right on the lake, you might get away from the carts and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan V, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier Cabins, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Unfortunately, during our off season, we use this time to spruce up our resort and make any major renovations that are necessary. By doing so, we do have the occasional noise of power tools, etc. Our maintenance staff vigorously works to complete these tasks in a timely manner. You could have always brought this to my attention at any time during your stay and I would certainly made adjustments to our maintenance schedule.
However, I am happy that you found your cabin and lake view very nice. I invite you to come back and give my resort another visit; I am confident you will find the progress we are making very pleasing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins

Property: Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We have 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in lodge pole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbeque on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing