We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Escondido, California
1 review
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From the moment we walked into the nicely-appointed cabin until the time we checked out - we were very happy with the accommodations, the cleanliness, and the general feeling that the people who run this place really think about the details that go into making people have an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins and really liked the privacy that option offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    138
    48
    21
    32
See reviews for
163
155
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victorville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Big Bear. My family stayed here for a peaceful weekend away and couldn't have been happier. The cabins are steps away from the lake with outdoor seating and BBQ's available. My young daughter loved feeding the ducks that are brave little guys that will walk right up to you.

The decor and feel of the whole property is very homey and welcoming. We didn't have a chance to enjoy the basketball courts or pool, but there were people having fun when we checked in.

Overall, I would 100% stay there again and would definitely recommend this property to everyone I know.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We loved the mountain feel of the theme decorated cabins. The property was clean and beautifully landscaped. The staff and general manager were friendly and helpful. Our family enjoyed the pool and the beach aread right on the lake. Our boys played there for hours! The deck offered a nice place to sit, relax, and enjoy the beauty of the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsN1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barstow, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Big Bear Frontier is our favorite place to stay while in Big Bear. From the clean and nicely landscaped property grounds to the mountain themed cabins, our experiences there have been great. My favorite things about the Big Bear Frontier are the beach area off of the lake, the beautiful and relaxing deck, and the gorgeous views. I have recommended the Frontier to my friends and family without disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargieZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We are a family of five, so accommodations can be tricky. We wanted a cabin with an on site pool and easy lake access. We looked at several options in Big Bear and decided on Frontier. The property grounds were great. Cabin exterior was clean and nice. Close to lake and alpine slides and village. We feel mislead. It looked like most of the pictures were of the "Frontier 2" which is the property directly on the lake.

The rustic decor was somewhere between 70's cowboy and thrift store. Cabin interior were a mix of bead board planks, vinyl flooring and plywood. The kitches was sparsely but adequately appointed. The stairs to the second level were steep, narrow, and creaky. The bedroom doors were made from a sheer of plywood painted with cheap hinges (every breath upstairs made the whole cabin creak). So not much rest with 3 kids.The place was advertised to sleep 6. But there was only one tiny bathroom and when you went to the toilet, it felt like the whole room was sagging and you were going to fall of into the middle of the room. People here already mentioned that there was no a/c. Even though we stayed in mid-August, the windows and fans were plenty. I know it was a cabin and should have a rustic feel but it felt rustic chintzy from the construction to the decor.

Pool was great, lake was close, grounds were clean, and staff was helpful. Like the title says we were hoping for more from the cabin itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rodney_Tonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

After a small mixup with my reservation the staff upgraded my room and made our stay a memorable one. Great access to the lake and the village. Cabin was spacious and clean making for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in cabin #258. The maintenance shed was outside our back window and they were renovating the front office so they were sawing and using power tools most of our visit. I have to say that the cabin itself was good and very clean. They could use some updating. The bedspreads and mattresses are old and the microwave and coffee pot are about to croak. The Mr. Coffee had to be more than 10 years old and took 45 minutes to brew coffee.
I wish there was another place to sit and watch TV besides the bed. The TV faces the bed and doesn't move and because of the jacuzzi there is no seating except for the bed.
The pool motor and spa were out when we arrived but the pool was repaired the next day. The spa was repaired the day before we left but they left the parts out on the sidewalk in plain view for several days and this did not match the level of hard work we saw from the maintenance crew.
On Friday night there was one guy cleaning up the maintenance shop until after 7pm. I am sure that this shows dedication but when your window faces the shop the noise is annoying.
I was impressed with the grounds and how clean they were but I thought the patio near the lake and the "beach" were disappointing. They did not match the attractiveness of the rest of the grounds.
The staff was friendly and we looked around Big Bear at other places and thought that this place looked much nicer than most of the others we saw.
I would stay here again I just wish they would pay attention to the details and take this place from good to great!

Room Tip: At first we were wishing we had a room by the lake but we ended up happy with our location other tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier Cabins

Property: Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We offer 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in a lodgepole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbecue on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Bear Frontier Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing