We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy cabins great location”
Review of Big Bear Frontier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Frontier during the last few weeks of October in the shoulder season. The cabin we stayed in #21 had a view of the lake and a nice little deck out front. Our unit had been recently remodeled with nice woodwork and a spa in the bedroom. It is just a short walk across a park like area down to the water where there were chairs set up to enjoy the beach. It was a bit brisk for sunbathing when we were there, but very pleasant to relax as the sun went down. There are a variety of cabins available with most in a rustic woodsy setting. A few have a view or partial view of the lake. In the lodge and reception area there is a nice fireplace with a number of comfortable chairs. It was a great location and we could easily walk to the restaurants in the village.The staff was accommodating and helpful. This was our first visit to Big Bear and we had a wonderful time. We are so glad we were staying at the Big Bear Cabins & Hotel. We had a perfect stay and the pool and hot tub were much appreciated!

Room Tip: Call and speak to the staff directly for advise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Big Bear Frontier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and the wife hastily planned a getaway to Big Bear for Black Friday night only. I originally tried to get into the Big Bear Frontier (BBF) earlier in NOV based upon a friends recommendation. Though it was full the manager said to try back later in case of cancellations. Sure enough I did and got an excellent clean, cozy studio/type cabin complete with a whirlpool. The place looks as if it has been newly renovated or at least painted so it looks new but maintains the mountain wilderness appeal. At check in the staff was quick, attentive and when I asked about local attractions and events they were very knowledgeable. We found that one of the main advantages to this location is that it is right across the street from a market and an easy walk to The Village (local shops and restaurants). So, on that advice we decided to talk a nice walk to The Village right from our room! Later we returned rented a movie from the office and enjoyed it next to a gas fireplace inside. Very pleasant stay all within close walking distance to Big Bear's main attractions. A special thanks for the above average coffee in the lobby.

PS. Comfortable bed too.

Room Tip: They have several different room types so don't feel like you need to crowd into one room. I wa...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

when making your reservation at the Frontier, be aware that there are many cabin and room variations to choose from. A studio queen,as we had, is a very tight and small cozy cabin with an even smaller bathroom. choose a one bedroom cabin which will assure you a main living area and full kitchen to work with. there are really no views to speak of from any choice you make, but once inside,you do feel removed from the world, with pine paneling and stone fireplace. (fireplaces are not gas, so bring approved logs, check with front desk). Plan for a relaxing experience and I am sure you, as we will, return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I & our dog enjoyed staying here very much. We were walking distance to the lake, we had a nice fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub, and a small kitchen. I wouldn't consider this a complaint, just a personal preference, that we prefer a comfortable king size bed over the queen size we had.

Room Tip: I would suggest viewing the rooms on line and or asking questions when you call, to get what you are...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Ny husband and I just went up for our 5th time to the Hotel and this time we got one of the studio cabins close to the lake and it was GREAT. We really do love the fact that the hotel does have it's own private beach and that it's close to the Viilage and Marina. The staff there (particularlaly Amy and Ryan the Manager) are so accomodating and helpful. Really, the whole Hotel staff there is great and the rooms are always clean.

I highly recommend it! We're even trying to see if we can make it up there 2 times next year. :-)

Marilyn Wintroath

Room Tip: The cabins and lakeside hotel rooms closer to the lake are quieter than the creekside rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwintroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We love it here at Big Bear and Frontier makes it all the more nice, we look forward to coming here all year and are equally sad when its time to leave, but we come up to visit the ducks on motorcycles a couple of times a year and we always come here.............cowboy grill across the way is a plus too! We used to get a complimentary fire log, but not this year, rates went up

Room Tip: call early
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

my wife and i have been to Big Bear Lake tree time now a fantastic location and this hotel is in a wonderful position for view of the lake and they have a lovely private seating area just on the edge of the lake where you can soak up the scenery
our room was close to the lake on the ground floor of the two tier small block.
the room was all pine the walls and furniture also had a fire place that would be great in the cold weather
If you have never been to big bear lake the drive up and down the mountain is wonderful for views and scenery

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjbls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier

Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range: £62 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We offer 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in a lodgepole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbecue on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Bear Frontier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing