We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place, Convenient Location, No Frills”
Review of Big Bear Frontier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Bear Frontier
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just stayed there for a night. It was very good accommodations. The room was clean but a little used. It was decorated cute, but there were no frills don't stay here if you are expecting some fancy hotel or something, its more like an upscale motel. But the price was right.
The location was great, just a block from the village. They also have direct access to the lake from their property a "beach" (which was more like stony sand) and a dock. There were beach chairs on a deck before the beach as well as a few scattered lawn chairs to relax on the beach. So from our room you just step outside and you just steps away from the water..a nice plus.
It was a little too crowded for my taste but that could just be the time of year i was there.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

My granddaughter got married 3 weeks ago on Big Bear Mountain. So much of our family was there. We stayed at Big Bear Frontier Hotel. It
was great. The staff was very pleasant. The rooms clean. We really weren't sure what to expect but there was a little village there where
you could buy just about anything. We weren't sure what to expect
after going up that mountain for an hour but I have to admit it was well
worth the trip. Wished we could have stayed longer than 2 days.

Room Tip: Personally, I feel all the rooms are good. We were on the second floor which was nice because a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wow what a great place to stay. Great location, close to the lake and walking distance to the village. Clean room and good size rooms. Great ambience!! I have stayed here b4 and will continue in the near feature.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTCLOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Took my wife here for her birthday. We love the outdoors and spending time on the lake. They put is in a cabin the faced the lake. There are a bunch of cabins next to the lake but only two that actually face it. The cabins are just the right size, living area with large bedroom and fireplace. It was so peaceful to wake up and go sit on the porch and see the lake right in front of you. I wish I remember what cabin number to post.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Vegasguy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Walking distance from the village, clean rooms and overall a great experience . I would definitely stay there again !

The cabins are a perfect size for a couple getaway. My boyfriend and I stayed for one night and there was a tree that went literally through the front room. It was pretty funny.

We walked about 3 minutes to the village and didn't have to worry about drinking and driving or looking for a taxi. The price is reasonable considering the prime location.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lety923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First time we have stayed here and the experience was great! Our family of four adults and three kids (ranging in age from 5 to 93) really enjoyed the spacious rooms near the lake (we were here mid-week, a great value) and the pool and hot tub. The premises are very clean, with colorful flowers planted and cute cabins under mature pines. Free coffee and wifi as well. We loved the rustic decor and the comfy beds as well as the giant deck overlooking the lake, perfect for meeting people and enjoying outdoor meals. This is our new favorite place when we want to escape the heat of the desert!

Room Tip: Cabins are located throughout the property with more expensive ones near the lakefront. The 20-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SpiritInTheSky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I choose this place because of the small cabins shown on their website which appeared to be on the lake. I booked a room (believing it was a cabin) through booking.com. Upon our arrival we were put into a room in a Motel 6 type row with a view of the main road. We complained but were told that since we did not book with them directly we could only have a room not a cabin as we expected. I complained about the room so they switched us to a room supposedlywith a view of the lake. Again we were sent to a Motel 6 row, downstairs room, underneath the main stairwell with all the building's trash cans outside our door. No view, uncomfortable bed but made the best of our trip. It is not for couple's expecting a quiet weekend away. Will NOT stay here again and I am not too picky but this was just not what I paid for!!

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting an actual "cabin" not just a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank TERRI T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan V, General Manager at Big Bear Frontier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize for the experience you encountered between the third party booking site, Booking.com, and our property. Many times, booking sites such as this give very general information about the property or the room you're actually booking. I can assure you that we have many other options that would suit your needs. I invite you to give us another shot, possibly in one of our cabins, and I'm sure you'll be impressed.

Best,

Ryan Vasquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.1 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Frontier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Frontier

Address: 40472 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range: £90 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Big Bear Frontier 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Bear Frontier is located on Big Bear Lake with 600 feet of private beachfront. We offer 57 lovely cabins and motel rooms, all decorated in a lodgepole mountain motif. Be sure to bring your beach towels and plan to barbecue on one of our many grills, located around the property. Our beautiful grounds feature large lawns and giant pine trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Bear Frontier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bear Frontier Cabins Hotel Big Bear Lake
Big Bear Frontier Cabins And Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Hotel
Big Bear Frontier Lake
Big Bear Frontier Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing