We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Dinner, Cold Service”

Black Diamond Tavern
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Black Diamond Tavern offers contemporary, American cuisine in a mountain approachable setting. With a bar, lounge and community table for casual dining and a fireplace framed dining room set with booths, Black Diamond can provide a range of experiences from intimate dining to a more interactive, social environment. Black Diamond provides weekend live entertainment along with 7 day a week happy hour from 3-6.30pm.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average Dinner, Cold Service”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The menu has a decent variety, but Prime Rib is only available on Friday/Saturday/Sunday.
Food was cooked and prepared well, and the portions are generous.
Service was below average. The waitress did her job, but she was cold and distant. There was no personal touch to her delivery, she didn't inquire if we would like to see a dessert menu. Then after our main course was cleared, the hostess dropped the bill instead of the waitress.
Overall the food was good, not great, but the service left a lot to be desired.
The next time we are in Big Bear, we will probably eat elsewhere.

Helpful?
2 Thank SconsinGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Black Diamond!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My friends and I keep coming back here every time we make a weekend trip up to Big Bear. Definitely a great place to grab drinks at night, the food is great, but the atmosphere is what keeps us coming back. We usually just split a bunch of appetizers but if I had to recommend something it would definitely be their burgers, the blue burger is one of the best i've ever had!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Tried this place for the first time about a week ago. I was very impressed with the food, we went with a big group and ended up having a really good time. The appetizers are really good, especially the nachos. Our server was great, she was on top of it the whole time and we really didn't have any complaints. Probably going to head back there this weekend for the playoffs and maybe check out some of the live music they have.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent food, too few servers”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I went to dinner here with friends twice during the Xmas holidays. The food was pretty good, particularly the burgers. The restaurant was packed with holiday crowds, so the atmosphere, while attractive, was a bit frenetic. I would have given it four stars instead of three but for one huge flaw: too few servers. The wait staff was overwhelmed, and while they worked very hard, there were too few of them to provide good service. This was the case both nights I was there, which tells me the management may be purposely keeping the staffing light. If so, it is a bad choice that harms the restaurant's reputation.

Helpful?
Thank ccthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Owner at Black Diamond Tavern, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Hello ccthomas-
Thank you for dining with us on multiple occassions over the holiday period...and thank you for taking the time to review us. I have no excuse and apologize for our lack of service. Our goal is to staff at a level that offers an impeccable service experience without overwhelming our guest or overstretching our staff. Clearly we have failed in your experiences. I will actively reevaluate our service model to ensure quality experiences throughout our restaurant and hope that you will look our way again given the opportunity! Regards, Dan Miller, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at BLACK DIAMOND TAVERN”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Everything from the drinks, salad, main course and the service was outstanding.
I personally had the wedge salad and ribs...WOW

Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Diamond Tavern also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Black Diamond Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing