We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic any time of year!”

Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Big Bear Alpine Zoo is a rehabilitation facility offering injured, orphaned and imprinted wild animals a safe haven; temporarily while they heal or permanently as they are unable to survive on their own.We are extremely proud that 90% of all the animals brought to us for rehabilitation are successfully released back into their native environment.Those that remain with us on exhibit are either too injured or have been imprinted by humans and can not be released back into the wild to care for themselves.
Las vegas, nevada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic any time of year!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a great animal rehab and zoo. Fun for all ages any time of year.
Check web site for special going ons. We just did boo at the zoo. We got to go in at dusk and see the nocturnal animals come to life. We also got to howl with the wolves.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1955mickeyfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    129
    34
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go every year”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

It's just such a wonderful little zoo and the fact that these animals were saved from being "put down" and that ALL the proceeds go directly back to the zoo makes us want to go all the more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mwintroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
247 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 923 helpful votes
“More than a zoo.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hooray for Alpine Zoo at Moonridge! This is more of a rehab center and sanctuary for injured wildlife than just a plain old zoo. As a smaller zoo than a big city version, an hour and a half was sufficient to see everything and spend more than a few minutes enjoying -- marveling -- at nature's beauty. The facility was cleaner than most zoos I’ve been to.

Of all the exhibits, the three-legged Black Bear gave us the most pleasure -- breaking our hearts to see it crippled, but inspiring by showing us that there is still life and happiness to be had. This bear was the most active of all the animals we saw, playing with a tire that just barely fit over his head! It was so wonderful to see that! (pictures to follow)

The mammoth Bison was unreal -- so much so, that my wife denied that it was real until she got close enough to see that it was eating! Wow! The big Grizzly Bears were amazing, as were the Eagles and Owls. After seeing the little barn owl, I want one. I really want one! The two huge Mountain Lions came right up to the glass. There were lots of Wolves, Coyotes and Foxes. There were a surprising variety of animals, including a Pelican and a Heron.

The zoo needs help, so please visit. Even if the zoo was flush, you won't regret being so close to these great animals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The little zoo that could”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I loved this little zoo! I loved that all the animals here are rescues and many are being rehabilitated for release whenever possible. So, the facility is in deep need of repair and upgrades BUT the zookeepers all seemed to care for the animals. The animals are very close for spectators to really see them. We are from the San Diego area with "The World Famous" zoo and honestly, I like this one far more. It tugs at my heart strings that these animals would have been put down and are now given a second chance. This is the only type of zoo I would take my child to. We really enjoyed our visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wenz4bruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not a great zoo, but it's the only one up in Big Bear”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Compared to other zoos, the Big Bear Alpine Zoo is miniature in scale. Also, many of the animals were housed in close quarters. However, you must consider the original purpose of the zoo; rescuing wildlife after a horrific fire decades ago. So, it was not designed as a tourist attraction. Apparently, many of the animals at the zoo are rescue cases, some with the opportunity to be released when able.
Conclusively, I applaud the mission of the zoo but cannot deny the small size of the facility.

On a per square foot basis, you will be plenty satisfied with the number of animals, such as the grizzly bears and bald eagles. However, a two hour visit will probably suffice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank humu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Big Bear Alpine Zoo at Moonridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing