We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky - Great, but Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Out West
Level Contributor
191 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Quirky - Great, but Quirky”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

HUGE POSITIVE - PET FRIENDLY.

Quirky - we checked into one of the six or so cabins on the property. Open the door and it hits you: a huge huge jacuzzi tub right in the living room slash bedroom. A teensy tiny kitchenette is on the other side of the wall - which share space with another bed. We spent an hour trying to figure out what the cabin was like before the jacuzzi went in.

Fireplace in the corner and one television - all of this in the living room/bedroom. Two chairs to sit in, but no light near them. One small window A/C - doesn't get to the kitchen/bedroom.

Nice grassy area out front - but unlit at night (bring a flashlight if Rover needs a relief!). No real play area for children - a decrepit swing set sits way out back. No pool or firepit.

A quick walk to downtown Big Bear - a longer walk back due to the incline.

Office is usually not staffed - you press the doorbell and one of the owner's trundles down from a home nearby. I feel that someone should be in the office all the time.

Overall not a bad place. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-heart-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucky0ne, Manager at Pine Knot Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We appreciate the nice review. Just want to mention that there is a floor lamp between the 2 rockers as well as an overhead light. Our guests can reach us by phone (there is a phone in every cabin), from 8am to 6pm, and after hours via emergency number. So there is no need for our guests to go to the office if they need something.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    46
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
80
87
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hideaway cabin is out dated, the only thing modern is the stove. The kitchen is not a full kitchen and there is not a complete set of anything in it, all items are mix-matched.The screen on the door is broke and so is the screen door.One door doesn't even have a screen door. There is a lack of curtains in all bedrooms which prevents the sun from coming in. There aren't any vents in the bedroom for heat, but is centered in the middle of the hallway, so there is no way to heat the bedrooms. If you want heat the thermostat is behind the entertainment center.Central air is lacking here. There are hardly any electrical outlets. It needs to be completely renovated. Also, there is not jacuzzi like advertised. There is only one ceiling fan in the living room, and minimal lighting in the bedrooms. The bedrooms have no fans, which is not good because of the high ceilings. There is no way to fit three cars like they say you can in the driveway. There needs to be a sign out on the road so people know this cabin is the hideaway and so they do not get lost in the dark. The televisions are so old there are no remote controls for them. There are too many spiders that live in the cabin. The decor looks like your living in a tea cozy. The clock, which is out outdated, is broken, even with a battery the clock still doesn't work. It is clearly not worth the money you pay to stay here. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: There isn't a swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica_M_13800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucky0ne, Owner at Pine Knot Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hideaway is a vacation rental which we manage and it is not part of Pine Knot Guest Ranch. Because each vacation home is unique, we strive to provide as much information as possible on the website so guests know what they are getting. The description for Hideaway does not include any of the amenities (such as a Jacuzzi) this guest mentioned as missing. Some of the concerns are puzzling. The kitchen includes a stove , fridge, sink, microwave, pots and pans, dishes, etc. So I don't know why that would not be considered a full kitchen. All the windows have curtains or mini blinds. And guests have parked 3 cars in the driveway many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed in Cabin 15 and enjoyed our stay very much. Gloria (I believe that's the owner's name) was so friendly to us and our dogs. She clearly cares about her guests and their pets. The llamas and bunnies on site are fun and well-cared for. The grounds were very tidy, and the place was very quiet even with lots of guests in the other cabins. The location is fantastic (a short walk downhill to the village), and the cabin itself was pretty good. It was generally clean and sufficiently stocked. The only small issue was with the hot water in the jacuzzi tub. It worked fine the first night, but then the second night we couldn't get hot water. My husband fiddled with the knob, which seemed to have come detached and wasn't engaging properly. He eventually got it working and all was well.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 15 and liked it a lot. Jacuzzi tub, wood-burning fireplace, and parking right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is the mountains so be prepared for rustic but comfortable accommodations... We stayed in cedar creek which has one bedroom plus a loft. It was great for little kids who go to bed earlier than adults. Full kitchen so we brought meals to prepare - another plus for families.
Tubing park about 10 minutes away but our kids loved the sledding right outside our cabin door. Llamas and bunnies were a big hit with small kids. Walking distance to town gave us an afternoon activity. Only negative was the wall heater. It was so loud that it was difficult to sleep. Otherwise, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This was what we hope to be our first family trip to Big Bear and we plan on staying at Pine Knot every year to follow! The cabins are SO cute and very comfy. Our cabin (#17) has a wood burning fireplace, a double jacuzzi, small kitchenette with a small fridge and a king size bed with a full bed in the other room sharing the kitchenette. We had all the comforts of home and GREAT Wi-Fi connection. Flat screen TV and lots of channels to choose from. What we liked most about Pine Knot is that it isn't on the main street with lots of noisy traffic, but SO close to the Village and EVERYTHING you want to do in Big Bear. It was quiet at night and just what we needed. They have daily cleaning service and allow you to bring your dog(s) for a VERY small daily fee. The king size bed was VERY comfortable and the bathroom was a good size for our family of three. LOVED the fireplace. Truly the only downside is that we feel they should offer a wood bundle EACH night you stay there, especially during the winter and when you are paying premium rates because of the season. We were only given one bundle when we showed up, but we did bring extra wood just in case. I truly think they should consider this without raising prices. We definitely plan on coming back each year and we definitely recommend Pine Knot!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevensmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just spent three nights at the Grandview house. The reservation process was easy and Gloria was very helpful and professional. Our arrival was later than expected (after the office closed) and they were very courteous accommodating us.

This house is huge!! Lots of common rooms for group gatherings and the bedrooms are large. The kitchen was stocked with lots of diningware and cookware, so it can be used in any way you'd want. I can't say the decor was high-design, but we weren't looking for an Architectural Digest home with children in our group. Everything was very clean and in good condition.

The rating would be an "Excellent" if the house had better lake views because the website said it had lake views, which is does... partial views from a few windows and decks.

All in all, we enjoyed the house vey much and would stay again when the need for a large house is needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndbtdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Loved every minute, even the thunderstorms! I even left the windows open during the storm because the covered patio kept the rain out & let the cool air in. It was so refreshing to be there (esp. when it's 108 at home). Stayed in Cabin 15. Quaint little place, nice and clean, little porch, nice grass area to sit and relax, visit the llamas Dolly & Willow and the bunnies. Short walk to The Village which we did several times in 2 days. The stars were BRILLIANT and there's even a skylight over the king bed so when I shut off the lights I could look up and see the stars, which was a nice little surprise. The staff was friendly and helpful. I visited solo (as far as humans), but took my little cockapoo. SO NICE to have a place that is dog friendly. It was really helpful to me to be able to see others photos, so I'm going to try to post some. The *only* negative was the bed wasn't the most comfortable, but I'd still go back. In hindsight I should've tried the double bed the 2nd night, but then I would've missed the skylight! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Knot Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Knot Guest Ranch

Property: Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Address: 908 Pine Knot Avenue, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 cabins on two peaceful acres just a 5 minute walk to the Village and we manage 8 Vacation Homes that sleep from 2 - 12 Guests. We have Lakeview Homes. NO HIDDEN FEES. All walking distance to the Village and lake. All Resort Cabins have in-room whirlpool tub, fireplace, kitchenette or kitchen, and porch. Free Wi-Fi. Pet friendly. Visit our bunnies and take the llamas for a walk. Sledding when snow permits. Most cabins for 2 or 4, one for up to 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pine Knot Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Knot Guest Ranch Hotel Big Bear Lake
Pine Knot Hotel
Hotel Pine Knot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing