We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR STAY AT THE BUNGALOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our first experience at Pine Knot Guest Ranch and it was a last minute getaway. Overall, the value was good for the cabin as it had kitchen, bathroom, living room and bedroom and was quite spacious and cozy. Larry greeted us and was very friendly. Out of all the cabins affiliated with Pine Knot Ranch this cabin faced the street and was right off the street so with windows open you got the noise from the street. Next door is a cabin/home being built and directly behind us is the huge home and yard of the owner? The cabin itself was clean and furnished but we were disappointed that this cabin just had a regular tub not the jacuzzi tubs in the other cabins. Most of the furniture Is dated but perhaps that is to attempt to provide a rustic feel. Within walking distance to the village and lake. The only real complaints we had were with the power outlets, the bed, and '
"Visitors". The majority of outlets wouldnt fit our power cords securely and they would fall out and not charge our electronics. Our second night we heard people walking around the cabin and talking which creeped us out a bit when we were in the dark trying to sleep. The biggest issue was the bed. The queen size bed in the bedroom needs to be replaced. Visually it looks fine, but when my husband layed down ( he is maybe 5ft 10, 180#), the bed bowed in the middle. The first night we got minimal sleep. Second night even less ... we tried to sleep on the futons but they were not very comfortable either, so we were anxious to leave and get back home. This was an escape for us to help cope with a death in the family and I think had we stayed in one of the numbered cabins further back on the property, perhaps we would have been more satisfied. The property itself is cute/quaint, very pet and family friendly and in all likelihood we will try Pine Knot Ranch again, but not the Bungalow ...a different cabin.

Room Tip: Unless they replace the bed in The Bungalow (after 7/23/14), opt do a different cabin.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Pine Knot Guest Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were so pleased with our stay in Cabin 18. The owner, Larry was very friendly and helped make check in a breeze. We enjoyed this rustic cabin set among lovely and cool pine trees. The cabin was very clean. Had a wood burning fireplace, jacuzzi tub and plenty of hot water. The little touches like sparkling cider, chocolates and teddy bears on the bed were very nice touches to help us feel welcome and cozy. It was convenient to have the basics in the kitchen like utensils for grilling and dishes, cups, coffee and tea and hot chocolate. The location was prime we could walk to the village where all the shops and restaurants are. We also walked to the lake. Being able to bring our dog was a wonderful experience. we also noticed the cabins were very clean we did not smell any doggy smells despite it being pet friendly which was nice. Our daughter was very entertained by the llamas Dolly and Willlow!! We also enjoyed visiting the bunnies! We truly relaxed and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We will be back to Pine Knot Guest Ranch for sure!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank moonstruck1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

LOVED our experience. PERFECT from beginning to end. PET FRIENDLY. In fact, we plan to stay here always. Each cabin has a Jacuzzi, Fireplace (with plenty of wood), Grill, DIRECTV, and the most comfortable beds you can imagine. We felt at home. Super clean. The cabins are conveniently located to feel isolated. However the main strip is just down the street and you would never know. Perfect location. Perfect Management. Perfect vibe. Don't waste your time staying anywhere else. Cheers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nomadic-Nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wonderful place to stay - Friendly staff, clean, comfortable, well-stocked cabins, tv, movies & books, convenient walking to The Village, playground, rabbits & llamas for kids to feed & pet. Just an awesome place for your Big Bear experience! We will be back to Pine Knot many times in the future, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Huff57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place has the cutest cabins in Big Bear. We went to Big Bear this weekend for a family get together. We stayed in the Cedar Creek cabin. The cabin was super clean, smelled great, and was stocked with everything we needed for a fun weekend out of town. All we needed was our food and we were set. The kids loved feeding and petting the llamas and the cute little bunnies. They even got to take the llamas on a walk! They thought that was the coolest part. There is also a playground for the kids to go swing and play around on. There is plenty to keep kids entertained. The front office even has games, books, movies (VHS & DVD) to borrow to keep them occupied. It is a short walk to the Village which made it nice to not have to drive and find a parking spot. The new owners are all very friendly and helpful. They definitely go above and beyond to make sure that you are enjoying your stay. The fireplace was nice and a bundle of wood is provided to get you started. The kids liked sitting by the fire and watching a movie at night. The cabin also has free wifi and Direct TV which was nice so my dad could catch up on the Nascar race. ;) We will definitely be back in the near future! We got to tour one of the rooms which had a Jacuzzi... we will be back to stay in one of those rooms for sure. I would highly recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a little getaway. It is totally worth it!

Room Tip: Cedar Creek is perfect for a bigger group w/ nice back patio to hang out on.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BrandiH741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the bungalow from February 28 to March 2, 2014. We got lucky because on that weekend of our stay, Big Bear received several inches of snow. That provided the fun in the snow we were hoping to have. This bungalow have a private front and back yard where the kids had a lot of fun playing in the snow. Also at the back, there is a large playground area where you can do sledding and just have fun with the snow. There is an actual playground and I believe the new owners will soon replace them with even better equipments. There is also a place where you can pet the llamas. Our kids really had a blast!

The house itself was well maintained. Everything was upkeep and clean. Our stay was very cozy and relaxing. There is a fireplace that kept the majority of the house warm. The one bedroom had a heater which was also nice. There is a balcony in front of the house where you can sit and watch your kids playing in the front yard. The kitchen was well equipped. My wife did a lot of cooking and baking during our stay. They have a stove, microwave, fridge, utensils, and everything else you need.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They will answer all of your questions and they're always available if you need them during your stay.

There is a private parking available. The ranch is walking distance to the village where you can do some shopping, eat out, or even watch a movie.

I really don't have any negative comments to say, except maybe I wish they would replace their electrical outlets. The plugs you insert into them always come loose, so make sure if you're charging your cellphones overnight, that they are inserted properly. But it's a fairly old house so that's not a big deal for me.

Overall, this is a very family-friendly place. I would recommend it to everyone. In fact, we're already scheduled our next visit at this ranch in April during the spring time. I believe we're staying at the Cedar Creek this time. We're looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 401arvinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our first time visiting Pine Knot Guest Ranch. We stayed in Cabin 18 and it was just perfect for a family of four. The fireplace and Jacuzzi tub were a treat! The children enjoyed the feeding the llamas and bunnies. They even took the llamas on an afternoon stroll! The village is a short walk away. We were able to get to the ski resorts within 10 minutes. We were graciously given a tour of Cedar Creek and we plan to rent it during the summer. The owners are very nice and available if you have any questions or need assistance. I highly recommend the Pine Knot Guest Ranch!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
0.6 mi away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Knot Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Knot Guest Ranch

Address: 908 Pine Knot Avenue, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Price Range: £121 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 cabins on two peaceful acres just a 5 minute walk to the Village and we manage 8 Vacation Homes that sleep from 2 - 12 Guests. We have Lakeview Homes. NO HIDDEN FEES. All walking distance to the Village and lake. All Resort Cabins have in-room whirlpool tub, fireplace, kitchenette or kitchen, and porch. Free Wi-Fi. Pet friendly. Visit our bunnies and take the llamas for a walk. Sledding when snow permits. Most cabins for 2 or 4, one for up to 6. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Knot Guest Ranch Hotel Big Bear Lake
Pine Knot Hotel
Hotel Pine Knot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing