We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Magic in the Mountains"...!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabins4less

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bear Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabins4less
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Magic in the Mountains"...!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My name is Steve Boyce. I'm an Actor/Model/Stuntman & Bodyguard...Last year we stayed (4) days @ this property. Ron and his beautiful wife run a top notch operation in Big Bear, Ca. The cabin was just it appeared on their website, the location is unbelievable, your basically on the lake, with boats/kayaks/bikes/fishing & swimming less than 2 minutes away...Everything worked just fine in our cabin, they were very clean & cozy, and the staff was very helpful...In fact we just booked our Big Bear vacation again with Cabins4Less. We'll be there this Thursday....Come join us...!!!

Room Tip: With all the free activities available, you'll be sooo tired, it won't matter...!!!,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    95
    28
    11
    27
See reviews for
135
118
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

2 Night stay. Did not pre-communicate to us that linens and towels were needed at booking, but did accommodate. Arrived at room with open front door - did not have code to relock. Accommodated with text of code. Fridge in first cabin did not work - accommodated with replacement fridge. Bought groceries but found out when stocking that 2nd fridge also did not work properly. Kept groceries in freezer overnight blowing cool to luke warm air (just enough to keep from spoiling). Curtains in room - too see through at night (romantics - watch out). Bathroom tub had no stopper for a bath, water only came out the shower head (we booked a room with a tub to use it as such). Cozy cabin but dusty couch/curtains. Talked to Ron next morning about our previous day's adventures and asked about a new solution. He recommended an upgrade to the Edgewater condos by marina - was agreeable. No linens, no towels, no stopper in tub - but cleaners were in lower condo and immediately accommodated. Later in evening when getting comfortable - turned on heater and did not work. Someone stopped in and needed to shut the gas on and light the pilot. I have to admit that this is FAR more interaction that one desires when staying somewhere romantically for a few nights. I appreciated the second night upgrade- but given we paid 200.00 for two nights and these types of rooms cost about the same that time of year anyway - not sure we really got that great a deal in return for the many issues we had. Will look for somewhere else to spend time next time we go. I cannot recommend cabsin4less. Also - if you search for this business by vacation rental you get one positive review. If you search by hotels- you get numerous poor reviews. This seems a bit dishonest in terms of how the business is advertised - although it may not be intentional.

Room Tip: Skip this business and find another if you are a couple wanting romance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dadatwork777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed here December 2012 around Christmas time with my Fiance. We had a wonderful stay! The price was inexpensive, considering the time of year. The man at the front desk was nice and showed us places to see around the area. The cabin was small but cozy. It had a mini fridge, dvd player, wifi, fireplace, warm shower ;) It was our first christmas together, and hopefully we'll spend our 2nd here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanbunneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Cabins 4 Less has properties in various places along Big Bear Lake, and the one I stayed in was at a marina and had a kitchen and a roomy sitting area. They also offer kayaks for visitors to use, saying the trouble of renting of bringing one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Think Sanford & Son's junkyard, and you're at Cabins4Less, which is a misnomer because the cabins are more like outhouses, but with mold and screenless windows that don't stay open and moving toilets and dirty dishes (upon arrival) and rationed toilet paper (so bring your own). Also bring your own bedding (they don't supply it). And while you're at it, bring your own futon so you have somewhere comfortable to relax. It felt like a homeless shelter, but without the free soup. The "free" rental bikes were rusted and rickety and if you have kids, don't count on any decent bike trails nearby (only Big Bear Blvd. which is more like a highway). And watch where you step because there is dog [--] everywhere, and some of those dogs howl at night, but maybe you want the "wolf pack at your doorstep" feel. And watch where you park because the tiny reserved spots are wedged together and your SUV could get scratched like ours. Other than that, Big Bear Lake and the pines are nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fundude123, Owner at Cabins4less, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
you tried to cancel last minute and we offered you another stay and so that was not good enough, trip ad visor is a good platform and should not be abused
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

This cabin was built sometime before the late 1850's when a part of the Iris Ranch had burnt down and was left for almost 80 years. After a few owners, Cabins4less remodeled it back in 1990 which was over 20 years ago now. This cabin does not look as newely remodeled as the pictures show. There is a lot of work needed to this cabin to bring it up to a model looking cabin. So, don't rent this cabin if that is what you are looking for. I will just state a few things, like we left out a cup of coffee over night and woke up to ants all over the sink because of it. We moved the table so we could put our suite cases out of the walk way and we felt like we were going to fall through the floor. There are no closets or dressers in this cabin. Start filling the spa at least 1/2 to 1 hour before you want to use it but other than that it works good. The bath room is so small a large person will have trouble using the potty. Also, if you need good lighting to put on your make-up or shave then bring it. If in doubt about anything you might need, call ahead of time because there is no extra space to storing anything. Don't get me wrong, both my husband and I had truly a great time but this cabin is in need of some repair. I understand to keep the cost down that the repairs have been passed by. And that is ok with us as we will be back. Check with the office about the extras the cabin comes with too. Oh, let me say the people tending to the cabin and in the office treated us great, better than family!!

Room Tip: This cabin is in the cornor between two cabins. You don't really have a view but you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Going4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
van nuys
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed in cabin 5 for a spring break getaway. Cute clean cabin with bbq outside. Went biking and fishing . Then enjoyed a free guided hike. All compliments of Cabins4less. Staff and owners were exceptionally nice and helpful. Looking forward to going back in the summer for kayaking with Cabins4less.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
1.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins4less? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins4less

Property: Cabins4less
Address: 39252 Big Bear Blvd, Boulder Bay, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the fun Cabins, we offer more than just a place to stay. We Guarantee Best Location clean friendly,our cancellation is strict which creates some reviews ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins4less Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing