We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home!”
Review of Cabins4less

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Big Bear Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabins4less
1 review
“Just like home!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Went up and checked in at 4:30 am. Wow, what customer service. We loved it so much, we stayed another day and Mr. Ron, helped us out with the accommodation. In our way back now, again. Most wonderful place home away from home Patrick and Alicia

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpatrick2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    95
    29
    11
    28
See reviews for
136
119
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Sooooo disappointed with the "cabin" and the people who work here. Upon arrival I was told we would be charged for sheets, pillow cases, and towels. In addition if you want coffee or need more toilet paper, you'll be charged for those items too. After getting to the so called cabin we were surprised to see that it wasn't a cabin at all, but an apartment building with neighbors upstairs and on the other side of the wall. Upon entering the building we noticed filthy carpets (so bad they make your feet black after walking on them), broken appliances, liquids dripping down the wall, and three inch COCKROACHES. When contacting the front office we were told that house cleaning must have missed our room. Maybe for the last five years... The manager "Ron" was unwilling to help and did not care that we were disgusted. Luckily I contacted Amazon (because we purchased the room on their website) and they completely took care of our issues. I would use Amazon a hundred times over but will NEVER, EVER be staying with "Cabins" again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabins F, Owner at Cabins4less, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Come on let's keep reviews honest, not vengeful , So may friends and likes and recommendations on social media and we get this, This person stayed the 2 days and then complains, Our Lakefronts are Clean luxury and modern and no insects or you get a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

It was a little more rustic than most ladies can take. Make sure you know each other pretty well. If not, you will after a day. Cabin 24, Tulip Ln. could use a little work. Had a good weekend on the lake anyway.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Arrived a few days just before July 4th.
2 adults, 2 small dogs-
Cabin #1 was Perfect!
The cabin was clean and just enough space for us.
Kitchen was stocked with all the right amount of things we needed. There's a coffee pot and toaster including utensils to BBQ and cook.
Location is great to grab a Kayak from the main office and walk to Boulder Bay. Staff is wonderful, extremely friendly.
We rented two single kayaks the first day an hour before closing. Omar had seen my hands full with two dogs so he walked one of the Kayaks down to the beach. Super nice!
It's a 5 minute dive (at the most) to the Village, sits a little on the outside of town but it's so nice and quiet.
A brewery up the street, market near the office in case you forgot anything.
A great getaway for us!
Thank you Cabins 4 Less for an affordable, relaxing stay.
We look forward to visiting again in the winter!
-Tips:
Bring a fan in the summer if you need some air circulation. Weather is great but it can get warm in the cabin without a fan.

-A little bit of feedback:
Cleanliness was great. Maybe a bit more attention to the carpet in the bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 17th Wedding Anniversary and just had a few days getaway.He suggested Big Bear and we found a great deal with cabins4less and took it.Our cabin was a small cozy studio right in the village.Nice full bed,small bathroom but it done the job, couch ,cable tv , fridge , microwave and coffee pot. We even had a bench outside to eat and a small grill to cook on. Its not a hotel but an upgrade from camping, we enjoyed our stay and it was spotless.
Loved the fact it was around the corner from all the shops and restaurants and a few yards away from the lake. It was so peaceful and tranquil , just what we wanted.

Room Tip: We stayed at cabin 44 a tiny studio but plenty big for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jynxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burbank, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm not a camper. I don't want anything to do with tents and no running water or toilets or stoves for cooking. We wanted to go to Big Bear to fish and have a break so I saw a deal for cabins4less and decided to try it. We went up with my family of 5, my parents, and my sister's family of 3. We stayed in cabin 19, a 4 bedroom, 3 bath big, rambling cabin with a pool table and jacuzzi.

Pros:
* It had space galore, with three extra futons so you could easily sleep a dozen or more people.
* You could easily park 3 cars in front.
* It had a good heater, so no one was cold.
* It had tasty water from the tap and the oven worked well.
* The office folks were very friendly at check in, and we checked out a free rod and 3 movies over our stay for free.
* It's conveniently located a brief walk to the lake and an easy drive from a regular Vons. (Wish I'd researched that a bit before bringing up a ton of food.)
* Decent washer and dryer, dishwasher and microwave.
* A Delonghi coffee machine/cappucino/espresso maker - that was kind of a shock. I'm not a coffee person but that was a nice touch.
* The office is full of fun DVDs of all genres.
* so nice to be able to check out a fishing pole for free while we were waiting for the family's poles to arrive in a separate car.
* easy to walk to the dock to throw in a line.
* only $9 to bring a pet is remarkable.
* downstairs beds were all comfortable to sleep in.

Cons:
* It's "clean enough" in that there were no roaches or rodents and the bathrooms and kitchen were clean but it's really in need of a deep cleaning. My son went barefoot in the house for 30 minutes and looked like he'd been walking in a tar pit.
* Everything was dusty and walls and doors were smudged and the chairs in the living room had painfully sprung springs and nasty stains. It has the feeling that it was entirely furnished from garage sales in 1983.
* The television in the top bedroom looked like it had been dipped in vaseline on the inside. Blurry, blurry, blurry. The main living room tv had no remote for the DVD player so if you play a DVD you have to play it start to finish through all of the previews, etc. Also the maximum volume was ridiculously low.
* There were 35 distinctly different kinds of tiles used in the upstairs bathroom shower - it was DIY everything in that place and that's not a bad thing but again, it's like DIY from stuff they found from the scrap heap. The flooring stopped inches short of the front of the really pretty new sink upstairs.
* The on-the-floor upstairs bed was creaky and very uncomfortable and the bizarre assortment of chairs and desk up there made it feel claustrophobic.
* No vent out of the house for either the stove or the dryer so cooking got smoky and drying clothes got steamy.
* A piece of art in the kitchen had broken glass and shards of that missing. Another picture behind the stove was coated in filth and there was a plant graveyard in the bay window over the sink.
* The refrigerator is around the corner from the kitchen - just weird. I didn't even notice it at first and thought the place had no fridge.
* The pool table had tears galore and no 7 ball. But there were two 3s so I guess that equals out. The "ping pong" table you could put over it was in three sections, warped and had no net. The foosball table was missing a handle.
* With all of the scuzzy stains on the comforters and furniture, there is no way I would set foot in that hot tub. Though they stated that they fill it with new, clean water each time the cabin is rented I wasn't going to take any chances. Looked like a petri dish.

Bottom Line:
It's a step up from tent camping, to be sure. We were warm and safe from the elements and critters. The wifi worked when I needed to connect to work and though it wasn't at a volume we needed to hear comfortably and though we had to sit through previews, etc, we were able to watch movies. It's just in dire need of a very deep cleaning and some updating to be anything over 3 stars. We did have fun and knowing now what the area has to offer we are definitely thinking about going back - probably to a more upscale facility than cabin 19, though. If you don't mind dirt and want a place to hold a lot of people for a very low price this is a very good option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joopca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As the Las Vegas desert heat is creeping up, it was time to escape to the mountains. Big Bear Lake is only 3.5 hrs away, and it looked like a beautiful place. While researching places to stay, we stumbled upon Cabins4less. The great thing about them is they have so many choices, from condos, to houses, to cabins for rent. And, they are one of the few to allow pets. Of course the dog wants to go to the lake too! We were so happy with the location of our cozy condo, right on the lake and within walking distance to the town. So very reasonable too. We will definitely be using them again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arockrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
1.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
415 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
Travelodge Big Bear Lake CA
#7 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
436 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins4less? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins4less

Property: Cabins4less
Address: 39252 Big Bear Blvd, Boulder Bay, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the fun Cabins, we offer more than just a place to stay. We Guarantee Best Location clean friendly,our cancellation is strict which creates some reviews ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins4less Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing