We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Holiday Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We've been coming back to Eagles Nest every Christmas Week for four years. Mark and Vicki are superb hosts, and the loveliest couple. Our cottage is cozy, charming and romantic, with a stone fireplace to sit and cuddle up by. We love Eagle's Nest, you can't do better in the area.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeCostaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    26
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
19
79
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 930 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Mark and Vicki are everything the average tourist could want in a B&B host. My wife and I enjoyed talking with them on several occasions. Since we were the only guests, I began to feel like a burden to them we chatted for so long! They are by no means worldly and ready to be concierge to anyone's wildest needs, but they were people you'd stop by to see again even if you weren't staying there.

The location is central for seeing all of the Big Bear area. We chose a cabin over a room, simply for the bathtub/fireplace combo. This is possibly the most important feature my wife could ask for in any place we stay. A wood-burning fireplace next to a whirlpool bathtub and some wine may just be all she needs for hours! This particular cabin was the largest, but it was also street side. Fortunately, we never noticed any noise.

The very minor problems that one may or may not notice:
--The location isn’t very obvious when approaching from the east. The sign in front does not stand out and our GPS left us with a huge building between us and the Eagle’s Nest. Once you’ve been to EN, you’ll have no problem coming in from the front or the back. As I said, “minor.”
--The hang space was shallow. There is no closet, just a combination cabinet/armoire that is likely very old; the cabinet is visually proper for the room, but I was unable to hang my jackets and shut the door. Minor.
--The bed mattress is not of great quality; not a lot of padding between me and the springs. Call me pampered. However, at least it wasn’t a hard bed like the “great quality” bed I couldn’t sleep on last week…
--Perhaps the biggest problem on this list of minor things is that the Wi-Fi is not strong. This could be because our room was the farthest from the router or not. I had intermittent football updates and that is VERY serious!!!

Breakfast was delightful, especially with their own variation on Eggs Benedict and lots of fruit and all the goodies that I usually only consume for dessert! They also asked us the day before about our preferences for breakfast. One more “minor” problem, their breakfast sure did ruin our lunch! Good stuff and we ate too much!

There was a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Very good towels and soaps, etc., and a big cozy comforter for those who are visiting during the colder months.

Kudos to Mark and Vicki! We’ll be back.

Room Tip: If you go during the slow season (it's beautiful), Mark or Vicki may show you several rooms befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I visited Eagles Nest for a romantic get away weekend. The room was decent size with mostly dated furniture but that added to the charm. The wood burning fireplace in the room next to the Jacuzzi tub was very nice.

The staff were great and made tasty breakfasts for their guests and had a lot of information of things to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flint5oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our stay with Mark and Vicki. They made us feel welcome from the time we checked through the end of our visit. We stayed in Mountain Spirit. The room was very comfortable with real wood burning fireplace and the softest towels ever! The breakfasts were the best we've had.... green chili quiche one day and pumpkin pancakes the next. DELISH!! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbarboza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Mark and Vicki, the hosts of this B+B make this place worth a stay. They are attentive hosts, providing great hospitality, information on local attractions, places to go, hikes, and things to do. The breakfasts are great, consisting of a cooked breakfast (varies by day, we had omelette and sausages on one day, on another day we had pancakes, complemented by pastries, homemade monkey (cinnamon) bread, fruit, juice, teas). There are 5 rooms in the main building at the front, and also indivdual cabins at the rear of the property. The lodge is on the main road with 4 lanes - Big Bear Boulevard - and is subject to a decent amount of road traffic noise - but any accommodation right on the main road will be subject to this. Our room was the Halleluyah room, which was at the side of the house, and I used the provided earplugs, which helped. We may try one of the cabins at the back next time.Complimentary bottled water, coffee, snacks, mini chocolates etc are also provided in the main living room area which is a nice touch.The lodge is close to big bear village with all the shops and restaurants. Worth a stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elusivechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Found a real home long away ours....Vicky and Mark really made us feel like this! How to forget our beautiful room, the delicious home made breakfasts and the addictive monkey bread!!! At just a few minutes walk from Snow summit, it is the best place to stay at Big Bear!

Room Tip: Outside rooms are for bigger groups and inside rooms are for smaller ones. although anyone can enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalmi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a beautiful B&B. We like to stay in the lodge itself, upstairs in Hallelujah Trail. The bed is the most comfortable and softer. If "comfort" to you is a firmer bed, choose Rio Bravo on the first floor. The feather pillows however are too soft for me (and end up flattening through the night) so I always bring my own.

Breakfast is included if you are staying in the main lodge only. (Cabins on the property are charged extra for breakfast.) Rates are comparable if not lower than hotels in the area. Midweek special rates are great so if you are planning a midweek vacation or are the "fortunate retired," you can't beat the rate after you deduct the price of a truly gourmet breakfast. How much would you spend on breakfast for 2 at a really nice restaurant? Add that price to a generic hotel room and it will likely be more than Eagles Nest. Vicki and Mark's breakfast are to die for! This morning we had stuffed french toast that was the best I've ever had with sausage. Appetizers were phyllo dough pastry stuffed with Nutella; plus fruit and yogurt. Cocoa and/or coffee is brought up to your room half an hour before breakfast.

The lodge is on Big Bear Blvd but traffic noise at night has never bothered us. It's not like truckers are going down BB Blvd in the middle of the night. They have fresh ear plugs in the bathroom for any light sleepers which we have never needed.

Mark and Vicki have a small refrigerator for guests which offer complimentary water and sodas. You can also choose tea or cocoa anytime of the day as well as a well-stocked pantry with snacks. They have thought of everything.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Firm mattress, choose Rio Bravo. Softer mattress, choose Hallelujah Trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaWestminster_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
1.5 mi away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#2 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.1 mi away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Property: Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Address: 41675 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Big Bear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Eagle's Nest Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle`s Nest Hotel Big Bear Lake
Eagle`s Nest b&b Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing