We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to return one day”
Review of Lake Ohau Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Ohau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake Ohau Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hope to return one day”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

3 couples cycling A2O trail...our accommodation was great (mid range) and our meals which included dinner, breakfast and a packed lunch for the next day were delicious. A real family atmosphere and of course the views were breathtaking. Would love to visit again in the winter.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    90
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
66
93
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our two families stayed here whilst doing the A2O cycle trail. We were in the Huxley wing, which caters for the backpacker end of the market (the lodge has other categories of accommodation as well). We adults had a double room each; the beds were warm and comfortable, there was heating, and drawers, wardrobe for stowing gear. The bathroom was large and had modern fittings. The bunk rooms were the same layout and same facilities, just with 2 sets of bunks in each. This made them a little tight - fine for kids but 4 adults might want to spend a little extra for more space in the double rooms. The hot water took a while to come through: it might have been as our room was towards the end of the block. Once it came through, no problems however! The rooms don't have tea or coffee making facilities - it's not set up for self-catering. To stay here is to expect to socialise in the very comfortable lounge; enjoy the spas on the deck (and the spectacular view across Lake Ohau to the mountains beyond); and eat with the other guests in the lodge dining room... All of which we did! And which we all greatly enjoyed, kids included. The food was superb; the service even more so; and there was complimentary tea and coffee. There was also a bar with bar snacks (the nachos went down very well with the kids) and some nice boutique beers on tap from the region, as well as some excellent bottles of Otago wine. Breakfast next morning was yummy and their espresso coffee was the best we've had since we arrived in the South Island a week ago..! We took packed lunches with us for the day: best ever flapjacks and superb sandwiches with far more filling than bread.. greatly welcomed after 2 hours of cycling up hill, and putting up with some cold showers of rain. We'll definitely be back: there is a lot to do nearby - a good range of walks, the biking of course, and the beautiful lake. This is accommodation for people who like something family oriented, homely, convivial, and in a spectacular wilderness setting. Thank you Louise and Mike and your team for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: This is not a place you can self-cater at. If you want lake and mountain views, you'll need to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mish15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As independent bikers on the A2O trail staying here was an absolute highlight. Our bunk room was clean and comfortable but it was the level of service that we loved. Jock, our host, could recall each guest by name. He filled our flasks and made us our morning expresso. Special dietary requirements were carefully and willingly attended to. The food was fantastic, right down to the packed lunch. Lake Ohau Lodge offers a unique form of hospitality. To Jock and his gracious team, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs. If you have to share a bunk room with someone who snores it is essential! Or upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Had been told by extended family of staying here and was very happy to have it as part of our accommodation on the A2O. Biked from Braemar Station to Lake Ohau and had a magic day with good weather and clear views along the way. The room was very clean, bed excellent and great views from the doorway. Enjoyed our dinner, breakfast and lunch. The spa was definitely a hot one but was great for muscles and body Many thanks.

Room Tip: Was worthwhile as our most upmarket stay on the A2O
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were so warmly welcomed by Jock after biking in from Twizel on the Alps2Ocean, that we all felt right at home. This lodge is packed full of history, and great stories of how it has kept providing great ski experiences and holidays over the years. Our room, 79 was super comfy, divine views, and recently re decorated. Drinks on the deck watching the sunset with lots of other guests was a lovely way to start our evening. Dinner was a gourmet delight in a relaxed and cosy environment. Our breakfast the next morning was just as good. The staff couldn't be more helpful or attentive.This was a wonderful nights stay, thanks to all, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Friends had stayed at Lake Ohau Lodge and loved it, and everyone on the Alps to Ocean trail spoke highly of it so we had very hgh expectations of the Lodge. Our room was wonderful, and had everything we needed, and the views are amazing. The dining room was warm and inviting with a lovely fire going. We loved all the friendly staff and Jock's sense of humour. The food? It was wonderful and of a world class standard. Thank you so much to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable. Stay here you will love it!!

Room Tip: Choose one with a view so you can enjoy the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepicknells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woy Woy, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It is worth remembering this is not an hotel, it is a ski lodge,
We were in room 71. Great views and the staff were really great.
Unfortunately the decor of our room was dated. Chipped furniture, stained and threadbare carpet in the room and in the hallways..
No phones, no mobile coverage and no TV. There is a TV in the communal lounge.
Evening meal was fine, choice of fish or beef but the breakfast rated only a 5 out of 10.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 464Pents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ohau
14.2 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
14.4 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
14.5 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
17.6 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
56 reviews
12.6 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Ohau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Ohau Lodge

Property: Lake Ohau Lodge
Address: 2295 Lake Ohau Road | P O Box 51, 7944, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Lake Ohau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lake Ohau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Ohau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 72 unit Lodge with warm, centrally heated, comfortable accommodation on the shore of Lake Ohau with views of Glen Mary Glacier, Aoraki Mt Cook and the Ben Ohau Range. Facilities include restaurant, bar, games room, spa pools and drying room. Staying at the Lake Ohau Lodge will complete a unique and truly memorable South Island skiing experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Ohau Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing