We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Fen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Pakenham B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

What can we say!!!!!!! A wonderful place to stay shame we were only there one night.
A real credit to the warm and welcoming owners.
Home from Home and great breakfast too!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeevans2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
19
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Bees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We couldn't ask for more from a bed and breakfast. Lovely, spacious, comfortable room with memory foam mattress and beautiful bathroom (room 1), a peaceful and picturesque setting with a fantastic garden filled with birds, and all the extra little frills that really make the difference - tasty breakfast with a vast array of choices, dressing gowns in the room, fresh milk for tea and coffee, and being greeted on arrival with home-made scones. What really made this bed and breakfast stand out though was the attentive and accommodating nature of the owners - when we asked about a taxi to take us to a family party, Lynn drove us there herself and even offered to pick us up when the party finished! We would highly recommend Fen House to anyone, and would definitely stay there again when we're next in the area.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaulandGemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We spent just one night, but wish we had been able to stay longer. The room we stayed in was scrupulously clean, modern, amazingly comfortable bed ( memory foam mattress) and with all the facilities you may have needed (even a sewing kit!). The shower was good (always important to us!) the B &B is on a quiet tranquil lane, about 10 mins drive from Bury St Edmund. But the 3 best things about this B&B are the owners who were lovely interesting people;the gardens which are beautiful and which we didn't have as much time as we would have liked to enjoy them and the breakfast. We would most definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We read the reviews on tripadvisor before booking, and thought, "It can't possibly be as good as that!" We were wrong - if anything it was better. All the good things other reviewers have said are true! We enjoyed the beautiful garden, and what a treat to watch goldfinches and a woodpecker on the bird feeders outside the window of the breakfast room! Such a lovely peaceful spot, but within easy reach of Bury-St-Edmunds; it was an ideal location for us. We really appreciated the kindness and care shown by the hosts. (The afternoon tea and home-made cake was an unxepected luxury!)

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious and is on the groud floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EjayRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. The owners made it feel like a home from home. The breakfast was really good. One example of how nice the owners are is that we said we would be back late on the Saturday night; they said it was fine and that they would leave the door open for us. The rooms are perfecrly kept and made to a high standard, the garden is beautiful too. A laid back and relaxed place in a picturesque little village.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

stayed there in may excellent bed and breakfast very clean and friendly excellent food very clean and the hoist are friendly and cant do enough for you its set in lovely grounds and when iam down there again i will book again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Best place I have ever stayed. Everything was of the highest standard. The coffee and home made chocolate cake before we set off to a family wedding was just what we needed, but I doubt few other places would provide. We recommend to single traveller, family or couples. Luxurious!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fen House

Property: Fen House
Address: Fen House Fen Road | BURY ST EDMUNDS, Pakenham, Bury St Edmunds IP31 2LP, England (Formerly Fen House B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Pakenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pakenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fen House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star rated self catering holiday home with 3 double bedrooms, 2 with King Beds and 1 with double bed, large lounge/diner, fully equipped kitchen including washer/dryer,dishwasher,double oven/hob, fridge/freezer, microwave.The large lounge has French doors opening onto private patio and access to landscaped gardens.Free WIFI.Children are welcome and ample parking on private driveway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fen House Pakenham, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing