We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday let”
Review of Fen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fen House
Ranked #1 of 1 Pakenham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a wonderful week staying in the self-catering part of Fen House. We had 3 kids with us and for a few days 4 adults and it still felt spacious. The self-catering unit is effectively a house attached to the main B & B. It really is 5 star, tastefully decorated and really well equipped with everything you could wish for. Lynn and Glynn were wonderful hosts and the garden is really beautiful. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Set in beautiful gardens, this B&B is run by a lovely friendly couple. Our room was spacious and very clean with ample storage, ensuite had a large shower. Breakfast was full English. Fresh fruit and cereals also provided.
Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Glynn and Lynn are the best hosts. They have a high quality B&B and attend to every detail. Their genuine love of people is displayed from the first hello to the goodbye at the end of your stay. A great experience, one that I look forward to having again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FNW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for one night to attend my son in laws passing out, what great hosts, we stayed in the family rooms which were spotless with plenty of room. We had a young baby with us and a travel cot was provided for her. Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and when we requested it. Would recommend a stay here !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracynmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at Fen House for four nights in May. There was a friendly welcome from Lynn and Glen. Our room was large, had great storage space, a comfortable bed and the bath was large with a walk in shower and heated towel bars. Our breakfast was cooked to order and we so enjoyed looking at the birds in the lovely garden. Our hosts made us feel at home and were very helpful. We liked the country location for its quiet and relaxing feel. We would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor room at the front of the house with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennesawcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My daughter and I have recently spent one night in this accommodation whilst visiting Bury St Edmunds. Couldn't have been more delighted. There was a nice friendly welcome awaiting us.
We were shown around the well decorated and spotlessly clean property before being taken to our room. This was well equipped, a large double bed, en-suite shower, tv, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast provided was excellent, full english, eggs benedict or just something on toast, Plentiful cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt all excellently presented, followed by continuous tea or coffee. The grounds are fully landscaped and a walk around them should not be missed. I would not hesitate to return, in fact I tried to book another weekend but it was fully booked! I shall try again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDAJP000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fenhouse, Owner at Fen House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, it was great to meet you and we hope we will see you
again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Friendly welcome. Big fresh clean modern room with en suite. Everything you would hope for and more. I can't think of any faults, the shower is adequate power wise. The breakfast room overlooks the garden. I only had scrabbled egg on toast and it was spot on. I wouldn't hesitate to come back here and would recommend to one and all......

Room Tip: Any, would imagine they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fen House

Address: Fen House Fen Road | Bury St Edmunds, Pakenham, Bury St Edmunds IP31 2LP, England (Formerly Fen House B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Pakenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pakenham
Price Range: £47 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fen House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star rated self catering holiday home with 3 double bedrooms, 2 with King Beds and 1 with double bed, large lounge/diner, fully equipped kitchen including washer/dryer,dishwasher,double oven/hob, fridge/freezer, microwave.The large lounge has French doors opening onto private patio and access to landscaped gardens.Free WIFI.Children are welcome and ample parking on private driveway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fen House Pakenham, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing