We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel without a lot of glamour”
Review of Rydges Bankstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Bankstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bass Hill
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The hotel is not actually in Bankstown, its in Bass Hill, about 5 kms away.
Good sized bed and room with quite location. The restaurant was good and well priced. McDonalds is next door if needed.
Car parking seemed safe beside the hotel. Nice entre area and bar area. Pool but too cold this time of year.
Beds were good and comfy. About 30 mins from the airport via M5

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aus_gregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett B, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Brett Barlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Very nice hotel catered to everything I needed staff are very customer service orientated and the bed was brilliant !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback and the hotel team look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Wayne Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Recently decided to stop overnight following a business meeting instead of driving back to Upper Blue Mountains. Hotel was easy to find and by far the nicest looking hotel in the area. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, rooms were basic but clean and fresh and food in restaurant was very nice.
There is plenty of parking and though I was a bit worried about car security I had no problems.
Not really a place to stay if on holidays in Sydney but ideal for short stopovers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella17Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Thank you for your the wonderful review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay.

Wayne Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here for my anniversary on the cupid package and loved it! I called to make my reservation and the lady was very helpful and went out of her way to find out the reason I was travelling and when she found out it was for our anniversary suggested the cupid package which made our stay that little bit more special.

Upon check in the staff were very friendly and helpful offering any assistance they could throughout my stay.

I will defiantly be stay again and me and my partner agreed to stay ever year on our anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynwhyte88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at the Rydges Hotel, Bankstown (Sydney) in NSW, Australia for a couple of nights in July and loved it! The staff are great - friendly and helpful and the value for money was oustanding! Honestly, one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. The room was clean, well-appointed, spacious and tastefully decorated. Definitely recommended - why stay in the centre of Sydney when you can stay here?

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be equally good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255069GeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Great to see you enjoyed the hospitality of our team. The hotel team will be delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Wayne Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 days on a business booking. Where do I start. The booking manager must hate us. Arrived wishing i had a bullet proof vest and could speak arabic. Waited to dine, to be seated took 10-15 minutes for a group of 4. We eventually got seated and had a drink and a menu, this arrived after having to ask for it a further 15 minutes later. Took a further 90 minutes to have our order taken, ANOTHER 4 TABLES WERE WAITING A SIMILIAR TIME. After waiting for 2 hours we received our meals which one hand to send back as the food was cold, anothers chicken dish tasted like fish , another lamb shank was shank with no lamb and my my thai red curry had no sauce and tasted like it was out of a can. We drove to find another hotel for our next business trip. WE WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. The bathrooms were growing mould due to the bad house cleaning, The restaurant and bar had insufficient staff and dirty dishes left over from previous diners. Breakfast was also TERRIBLE with old fruit and ice blocks to keep the yoghurt cold in the yoghurt. THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE PITS

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotts9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

My sincere apoligies for the bad experience during your stay at the hotel. The quality of service you received is totally unacceptable and there is no excuse.

Based on your feedback we have now made multiple changes to the team. I thank you for your valuable feedback.

Wayne Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I was disappointed with the quality of this 4star hotel. It desperately needs a renovation! It had dirty walls, leaking taps & shower, and the inroom fridge didn't work.
Location is ok, with a local supermarket shopping centre, takeaways & servos all a 2min walk away.
I wouldn't pay for this hotel with my own money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Thank you for writing your review. The hotel has just purchased new in room mini bars and will be putting in place a refurbishment program to freshen up the hotel rooms.

Wayne Woods
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Hill
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Bankstown Sydney
0.1 mi away
Gardenia Motor Inn
Gardenia Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bass Hill
72 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mantra Parramatta
Mantra Parramatta
#5 of 12 in Parramatta
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quest Liverpool
Quest Liverpool
#1 of 11 in Liverpool
320 reviews
5.4 mi away
Waldorf Parramatta Apartment Hotel
5.4 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Bankstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Bankstown

Address: 874 Hume Hwy | Nsw, Bass Hill, Bankstown, New South Wales 2197, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bankstown > Bass Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bass Hill
Price Range: £80 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Bankstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rydges Bankstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bankstown Hotel Bankstown
Rydges Bankstown Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing