We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the four stars.”
Review of Rydges Bankstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Bankstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bass Hill
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the four stars.”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Had a one night stay in a king spa suite to attend a wedding in the area. Checked in briefly before attending the wedding, room seemed quite aged with the carpet worn and a few stains on the bed cover. TV was fixed onto the wall and could not be seen from the bed plus the in-house movies were not working leaving a limited number of channels to watch (not even all the free to air channels in Sydney).
Returned to the room at 1am on a hot night to find the airconditioning wasn't working and we had to be moved to another room. Breakfast was included in the price, my wife wasn't happy with the selection available but I accept if you go to breakfast at the end of the session the choices may be limited.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your comments. The breakfast buffet is open will 10am on weekends and please feel free to contact any of our hotel staff, who are more than willing to assist with any guest request. The problem with the air-conditioning and movies has been addressed.

Wayne Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    85
    80
    38
    29
See reviews for
63
37
17
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stay at this hotel one or two times per year - when we come up from the South Coast to visit family and friends.
We have always found it good value for the money - rooms comfortable and clean - close to fast food and Bass Hill Plaza.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Wayne Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The room was alright, the service was ok. It is kinda far from the city and for people who want to go there, the nearest train station is Yagoona. Then you have to take a Veolia bus.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandine86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for posting your comments. Your are correct in saying Yagoona is the closest station. The bus stop is located to the right of the main drive way of the hotel and the bus ride is approximately 5 minutes. Alternatively, taxis are available and the front desk staff would be delighted to book once for you.

Wayne Woods
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stayed here for a few nights and while the rooms were quite reasonable, however there were a number of problems with the hotel - In order of occurrence:

1. Breakfast starts at 6:30 and although it was pretty much set up at 6:20 when I went down (because I had to leave), they wouldn't even let me have a bowl of cereal.

2. Noise insulation to the road outside is fine, however there is little noise protection between rooms. At least the people next door had a good night...

3. In the evening, ONE poor bloke was serving at the bar, the restaurant and doing the room service. There were 10-15 people in the bar, 5-10 in the restaurant.

4. Food at the restaurant was terrible. Dominos or Maccas next door would be much better and much cheaper.

5. I offered my frequent flyer details twice upon check in and once on checking out (they were also supplied when I booked) the hotel did not use them and therefore I did not get any points.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OocerboO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your detailed feedback. The hotel has undergone many changes in the past months. We now have a new kitchen team in place with a brand new menu. Breakfast commences at 6:30am and I have advised staff that should any guest require only cereal etc, they are to be allowed to proceed for breakfast.

Wayne Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bass Hill hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
dubai
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2010

room needs improvement. Hotel should have a gym.It is good for few nights.Rooms were clean but still lot to be done overall satisfactory

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saeedDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review, 15 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel has refurbished the ground floor of the hotel and external painting of the building is now complete, giving the hotel a brand new feel.

Wayne Woods
Rydges Bankstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrek337
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

This place stacks up, beds great, clean tidy rooms for $130 Aus, and good staff. Little Chinese resturant around corner which Is great also.

It's not a family holiday place, but good for a few nights, and really the beds are insane, no traffic noise.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrek337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review, 21 November 2010
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Very disapointing about the hot water system problem last Monday 8/11/2010.
We check in at 8pm .Could not have a shower as there was no hot water available.
The problem still not fix when we check out in the morning.There was a period of more than 12 hours to call for an emergency after hour service but not thing has been done.
The hotel should consider a full or part refund to be given as compensation to their hotel guests.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAA025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Rydges Bankstown, responded to this review, 21 November 2010
Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced during your recent stay at the hotel. All hotel staff have been re-trained to ensure that the same problem does not occur in the future.

Wayne Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bass Hill
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Bankstown Sydney
0.2 mi away
Gardenia Motor Inn
Gardenia Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bass Hill
64 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
Holiday Inn Warwick Farm
#1 of 1 in Warwick Farm
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Quest Liverpool
Quest Liverpool
#1 of 10 in Liverpool
220 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rydges Parramatta
Rydges Parramatta
#3 of 4 in Rosehill
582 reviews
6.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 12 in Parramatta
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Bankstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Bankstown

Property: Rydges Bankstown
Address: 874 Hume Hwy | NSW, Bass Hill, Bankstown, New South Wales 2197, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bankstown > Bass Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bass Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Bankstown 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Bankstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bankstown Hotel Bankstown
Rydges Bankstown Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing