We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty pool South of Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avaleen Lodge Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bomaderry
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is a nice place to stay. It is welcoming and centrally located for touring, not so good if you are on a coach tour like us. However, the Big M is right opposite, and milk is supplied on request. Our room was spacious. It had a king bed which was very comfortable and provided a good sleep for our two nights' stay. The window air conditioner was not used but is there if the room gets too hot. The day temperature was 28 degrees, but night time a mild 15. The room comprised the typical pattern of a bedroom, attached bathroom and a narrow space used as a kitchen. There was free wi-fi. Breakfasts are only $A10, and the minibar prices are lower than you will find in many shops. I liked the bathroom. The shower had a soft spray head. Hot water was there in plenty, although the two tap mixing system sometimes flowed hot and cold. The supply of tea and milk is maintained, your valuables are looked after while you are out, you are informed of the neighbouring shift workers who need their sleep…. That's nice.

There was a plasma tv, a kettle for heating water, a toaster, an ironing board and iron, an easy chair, case rest, table and chairs - all good quality. Apart from drawers, there wasn't a lot of storage. There was no safe, no microwave, no plates, no cutlery. You have to ask for them. No problem, except for the safe.

The much vaunted salt water heated swimming pool was dirty, with leaves and a suspicious snake-like stick on the bottom. The salt water was refreshing, though. It provided us with a nice cooling swim. I guess out of high season you have to ask for the pool bottom to be cleaned. I am sure, given warning, they would have done so: we just assumed a heated pool would be kept ready for travelling swimmers. Anyway, you don't swim on the bottom! Don't be put off: the water was kept clean and a few leaves never hurt anyone.

Everything else is excellent, especially the management. Robyn and Guy run the establishment themselves. They are obliging and genuinely nice people. Guy showed us twice how to manage the Austar and local tv channels. They keep the property immaculate.Their room cleanliness is as good as you will find. The rates are reasonable - you will be hard pressed to find better value for your money.

Room Tip: The apartments are good with children or friends sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here one night on our holiday. We had a large room on the bottom level with a very comfortable king bed. The room was clean, fresh and well looked after, with reverse air con. which is great for all seasons. The bathroom was compact. The Avaleen is well located on the highway but not noisy and only a few minutes drive from the Bomaderry Bowling Club for great evening meals etc.
We would recommend this Motor Inn if you are in the area and was very well priced.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms if you have a mobility problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tassiedevils1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Tried to book into the hotel so rang and advised 2 adults and a toddler. Female asked me how old was the toddler and told her 3 1/2 years old. Female promptly told me the don't accept young children in their rooms and I asked why and she said the don't like kids in the rooms and tried to offer me a family room. I said to the female what is a toddler going to do to a room. Not kid friendly and would not recommend????????????????????????????????????

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here several times during my work commitments nearby and recommend this place 100%. The rooms are very clean and bed very comfortable. There is free wifi which is very unusual and the cheapest mini bar I have ever seen! The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Pleasant accommodation that I will be returning to if I ever need to be around the area again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank FlipOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Awesome motel...clean and very well presented. Always a pleasure dealing with the Managers ,very professional and friendly every time.I would not hesitate recommending this motel for the Nowra area.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Funkifran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

The rooms are neat and clean, the beds are comfy and it's located in a great spot. The owner remembered us immediately even though we were here once over a year ago.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mysticallymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Alaleen is not your typical 'motor lodge'. Contemporary styling, quality furnishings, new fluffy towels, comfortable mattress... the owners clearly have an eye for detail and want to provide their guests with a very pleasant experience. After a long day at work, followed by a long train ride down from Sydney I was greeted at the station with a smile by the owner who previously offered to give me a ride to the Lodge - saving me a cab fare - very nice.

I've paid considerably more money for motel/hotel rooms over the years of travel but didn't always get the value this little place in Nowra offered - suffice to say I've never bothered to write a review on Trip Advisor but this place is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bomaderry
2.5 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 8 in Nowra
483 reviews
16.2 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
299 reviews
8.5 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pleasant Way River Lodge
0.1 mi away
Best Western Balan Village Motel Nowra
2.6 mi away
Marriott Park Motel
Marriott Park Motel
#3 of 8 in Nowra
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avaleen Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avaleen Lodge Motor Inn

Address: 317 Princes Hwy, Bomaderry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2541, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Bomaderry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bomaderry
Price Range: £77 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avaleen Lodge Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Chic & Contemporary "4 star" AAA rated Motor Inn. We also have 2 bedroom 2 story self contained apartments. Located close to Entertainment Centre, Shoalhaven Hospital. Opposite McDonalds Restaurant & KFC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Avaleen Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing