We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Captain Cook Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Captain Cook Hotel
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok for 1 night”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed one night for work.
The positives: Wanted to be close to the airport for an early flight. The room was clean and modern. The staff were very friendly and the bar had a nice atmosphere. My meal was very nice and the others I saw looked great as well.

The negatives: The bed was a little short. I'm 6 foot and my feet were at the end of the bed. From my room I could also hear the planes taking off and the road noise started around 5am.

Other: I stayed on a Wed night and the noise settled around 8-9pm but I suspect thurs, fri sat nights would be a lot noisier. Easy to find a car park on the street behind after 4-430pm. All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarFin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    80
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
12
49
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deniliquin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in room 1 which is right on Botany Rd. Sleep was impossible due to the traffic noise.
There are rooms not facing Botany Rd but were refused a quieter room for our second night when we asked. We also asked if we could have a refund so that we could change hotels but that was not possible either. We were there as part of a group - they had much quieter rooms but had all the cigarette smoke from the downstairs smoking area.
Was annoyed that our room rate was the same as the quiet rooms given sleep is impossible after 5 am in Room 1.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Convenient location if transiting through Sydney via airport. Taxi to airport around $20. Quiet area and comfortable accom. Hosts very helpful and accomodating. Rooms have ensuites and are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadabout111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Good friendly reception. Room was clean. The bed springs were completely sunken on one side of the Queen size mattress. You could see it even without lying on it - impossible to sleep on. The other side was fine so ok for one person.
The room is very noisy if you're looking for an early nights' sleep - quietens down closer to midnight. Excellent location, close to the airport, great places to eat and good service by staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Friendly staff, reasonable prices both in accommodation, drinks and food. This is our fifth stay at the pub. Very close to ther airport. Very comfortable and clean rooms.If you need transport into the city there is a bus stop in the main street not far from Captain Cook Hotel.We will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If your looking for great "Original" Sydney pub to stay in then look no further than the Captain Cook in Botony. Nice clean room, cold beer , great food and a perfect location to the airport with only $10 cab ride.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesireeDDD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great place to stay if your not looking for all the bells and whistles, good friendly staff, room was very clean and tidy, down stairs the pub was great nice cold beers and meal without the price tag of the larger Hotel chains. Already know were I'm staying on my next Sydney Trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botany
1.9 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
1.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Airport
1.2 mi away
Ibis Sydney Airport
2.3 mi away
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Hotel

Property: Captain Cook Hotel
Address: 1114 Botany Rd, Botany, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2019, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Botany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Botany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Cook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain Cook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing