We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Great Escape at Christmas without the hassle...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Province of Cordoba, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
reneeScot...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unfortunate stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in March 2011

We stayed here in March 2011 and the weather was cold. Unfortunately for us the radiator in our bedroom started pouring out water and we had a sleepless night whilst trying to get it fixed.
The next day the heating oil ran out!
The tap in the shower in the downstairs bathroom was broken and the tap in the kichen leaked.
The upstairs terrace was green with mould and all the cushions/seats black and mouldy.
I'm sure in summer this would have been a nicer place to stay, but for us it was a nightmare.
The owner (who was not present) responded fairly quickly to requests to solve these problems, but our week was marred by one thing after another going wrong. She gave us a refund of a third of the rental, but our week was spoiled.
The house is pretty enough and without these problems would be cosy, although one downstairs twin bedroom is next door to a bar which has the TV blaring until 11pm. The house itself is on a corner, and although not a busy road, if you dislike traffic noise it might bother you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2012
This was a deeply upsetting stay for all concerned.

Since then, we have secured five star management of the property with standards that equal our own.

We have, since this incident, had many very happy stays thanks to our new highly efficient bilingual manager.

Our apologies have been sent both directly and indirectly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovingLor...
Cheshire
1 review
“The Great Escape at Christmas without the hassle of tunnel-digging!”
Reviewed 19 January 2010 for a stay in December 2009

What a privilege to discover Casa La Celada and to enjoy with friends the delightful hospitality of Amanda and her son Zack! Nothing was too much trouble. Our hostess introduced us to the customs of Christmas, New Year and Three Kings in authentic rural Spain, arranged a gourmet meal of superlative quality,(and other scrumptious meals) introduced us to the stunning scenery of local Iznajar, fascinatingly redolent with history, arranged for us to enjoy the extraordinary geological and botanical beauty of El Torcal Natural Park, and much more. We visited Cordoba and Malaga, both wistfully beautiful out of season, quiet and grand, and went on local walks, watching the olive farmers gathering their crops. Our hostess Amanda was admirably flexible in catering for the differing needs of our group: some wanted complete flop-out rest whilst others wanted activity. All were catered for with friendly, attentive unfussiness. A wonderful holiday. A time out of time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne59
Middlesex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Spain you've always dreamed of ...”
Reviewed 18 November 2009 for a stay in June 2009

Travelling alone with a real desire to get away from it all, I found this beautiful home in a delightful Spanish hamlet. Casa La Celada is owned and run by the lovely Amanda, who has a way of making you feel right at home, welcome, and a treasured guest. I had a suite with a large bathroom, and the use of the roof terrace with its hot tub and views of the Spanish star-show stretching into eternity.

From Casa La Celada you can drive in minutes to the local hill town of Iznajar, set on its vast reservoir, and to several market towns. Using Amanda's library of information, I travelled with two of her other guests to La Noche Blanca in Cordoba, and experienced a night of flamenco, music and real Spanish Spain!

Amanda also organised a day of pampering for me nearby, and yoga and biking trips for her other guests. There is plenty to do here, and equally plenty of scope to do absolutely nothing - and love it!

I had been worried about travelling alone, and wondered how I'd feel about being on my own for a whole week. In the end I succumbed and changed my flights home.... I stayed an extra two nights!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schmoo1
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Look no further...”
Reviewed 16 November 2009 for a stay in September 2009

Look no further in your search for superb bed and breakfast accommodation within easy reach of Granada and Cordoba and under an hour’s drive from Antequera. This is it ! The whole experience is delightful.

From the moment you arrive in the small quiet village square you will want for nothing. Amanda Hamilton will have prepared your bedroom with rare, even romantic attention to detail and comfort. It will be a work of art. But then, she is a gifted artist, too – and you will be entranced by her skilful and amusing paintings. Her artistic gifts spill over into the preparation of breakfast, which (as well as the ‘staples’ ) may include superbly presented proscuitto-wrapped fresh fruit segments, goats cheese and black grapes, freshly squeezed juices, croissants and ground coffee.

The bathrooms are to be enjoyed for as long as you can. With superb baths and showers, and every conceivable toiletry, you may find it takes longer than usual before you emerge. But, why not? The place oozes relaxation. Go up to the roof balcony, and laze in the hot-tub with one of Amanda’s books, or just gaze out over olive clad hills and down to the majestic lake Iznảjar. (See photo)

Amanda is a mine of information about the many white villages and small towns that are within easy reach, and when you return from them she and her equally enchanting young son Zac will happily share a light supper and bottle of wine with you – or, if you are lucky you may have an exquisitely prepared cordon-bleu dinner to remember for the rest of time.

This is certainly one to record in your ‘must return soon’ book. It’s in ours!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janbmulde...
Netherlands
1 review
“Entering as guest, leaving as friends”
Reviewed 27 October 2009 for a stay in April 2009

In april 2009 I stayed for a long week at Amanda's guest house. Just being away for a week and do a lot of thinking and walking.
The house and rooms are just marvellous, the location stunning, a for walking a very good spot.
But to be able to get to learn the local flavours guided by Amanda & Zack is THE thing. You will not be treated as a guest, you are a friend.
And that makes that you never forget it and wants to return.

Amanda & Zack, it was great and will be great again.
Jan Mulder

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy D
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A taste of Andalucian heaven!”
Reviewed 27 October 2009 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Amanda (and Zack and feline Aphrodite) provided one of the best holiday breaks we've ever taken. It's like staying as a house guest and you have the run of a magnificent suite, a sun terrace and a lounge.

We took a meal there, too, although it's normally a B&B only and we sampled Amanda's gourmet cooking...wonderful! N

In general, the standard is five star at three star prices. Iznajar is a lovely location and Casa La Celada itself is in a small sub-village with a shop and micro-community, the real Spain.

There is so much to see (you do need a hire car) within half-an-hour's drive and there is even skiing in the Sierra Nevada. We were lucky to catch a packet of sun in October and visited Cordoba and Iznajar. Will never forget it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachg24
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“relaxation at its best”
Reviewed 27 May 2009 for a stay in April 2009

We stayed with Amanda and Zack on our road trip from Madrid to Seville. In the middle of two busy (and fantastic) cities, we wanted a few days to 'just relax'. This place was perfect! Plenty of walks in the local area, through the olive groves, down to the lake etc, good local places to eat and lovely authentic villages to wander around. You will need a car but Amanda will most certainly direct towards the better places. A great place to relax, unwind and feel at home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing