We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic bu OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Max's Corner

Max's Corner
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Essendon
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Contemporary, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic bu OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Standard "bistro" food was OK. Laminate tables. Very noisy. Good service. Probably targeted at the younger generation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellor_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    33
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

4 old friends and I met here for lunch last Tuesday. As mentioned in previous reviews, the hard floors mean this space can be a little noisy, but that would be my only detraction. The waitress was very efficient, and charming, and the service prompt. Although the wine list is short it does have some good choices at reasonable rates. My vegetarian mate really enjoyed the spinach and ricotta cannelloni and my lasagna was excellent. The pick of the menu was the flounder. A three hour long lunch for five came to $300 including drinks and tips. I highly recommend this restaurant/cafe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday evening with a table of about 10 of us. Was good atmosphere although very loud so a little difficult to chat. Service was great - drinks menus came to the table quickly and food came reasonably soon. The only thing I'd suggest is to order some starters when your first drinks come and then you can be nibbling before the mains come!

Helpful?
Thank bd0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost there but still lacking in some areas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Had breakfast with a couple of friends there, man the atmosphere during the morning was terrible as it was very loud and full with basketball kids that we a lost had to scream to hear each other, try to avoid Saturday mornings here if you want a nice and pleasant breakfast. We orders pancakes and they were terrible, each of the three slices of pancake was 3 centimeters thick. Total bill around 100aud for 6 ppl.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kitipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian in heart of Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Food was outstanding. Staff was very friendly, even by Australian standards. Reasonably priced, and they even have good house wines. They handled a party of 8 with no problem.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdflicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Max's Corner also viewed

Essendon, Moonee Valley
Essendon, Moonee Valley
 
Essendon, Moonee Valley
Essendon North, Moonee Valley
 
Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley
Essendon, Moonee Valley
 

Been to Max's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing