We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok place, bad water pressure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ok place, bad water pressure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here as were visiting some friends close by. Driving into the city didn't take long, unsure how long it would have taken on the tram or train - although it is located walking distance to either. A few nice cafes within 5-10 mins walk and Coles about 10-15 min walk or 2 min drive.
Place was clean but a bit tired. Reception procedures are still int he stone age. They take you credit card imprint manually.
Water pressure in the shower was really bad. Not sure if that was just out room ( I think we stayed in Rm 17 or 19??).Washing long hair would be near impossible.
Heater worked well and kept the room nice and warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaBlackman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    50
    45
    16
    19
See reviews for
34
46
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed on a quick business trip. There is not a lot you can do with an ageing hotel unfortunately and this one seemed well below the normal Best Western standard.

Off road parking was good and the warm peanuts from the foyer were excellent, as was the service...but the room sadly was just so 70's motel.

It was clean and tidy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank james_is_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've marked this as "average" but don't take that as meaning bad. It is an older hotel and quite dated, but the location is good and it is kept clean. The price is quite reasonable, so it's really a matter of "you get what you pay for". If you are looking for just a cheap place to stay while in the area, this isn't a bad option.

A negative is that one wing, unfortunately where our room was, is above the restaurant/function centre. On our second night, Sat, there was a function and the noise was quite loud.

Room Tip: See if there is a function booked and if there is, try to get something away from that wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWood70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed there for one night.
I am guessing the hotel is from the 60's.The Queen bed room was very "compact" but no complaints about its' cleanliness. Heating was barely adequate.
Sound insulation was also sub standard; we were in a ground floor room & could hear the kids playing in the room above us.
Not quite up to the usual Best Western standard which I stay in on my frequent work trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tez2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderMotorInn, Manager at Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sir. We thank you for your response. Our aim is to provide the travelling public good basic accommodation with modern amenities at very competitive pricing. That said, we appreciate you noting a very clean room. Unfortunately we cannot control the general public behavior and apologize for disruptions. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Essendon hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here over the Easter weekend. Had a 2 bedroom apartment. When we arrived we were told there are permanent residents and we had to keep the noise down at night, this didn't apply to the permanent residents as loud music and shouting on the Saturday night from them. We complained to the reception and were told the manager couldn't hear the music so no reason to complain. It took 30 minutes for a manager to come and investigate. There was a secure gate which we were told they'd been having trouble with so it had to stay open. Went for a walk to the supermarket and came back to find the gate shut, had to get a remote from reception to get out as it wasn't provided at check in. The place was filthy, black mould in the bathroom, exhaust fan clogged up, cutlery and crockery was also dirty. Carpet and tiled floors were grubby. Glass top tables had ring marks from mugs. We checked out a day early and moved to a different hotel. Hotel guests and permanent residents don't mix, no respect shown for us as guests. 1st bad experience at a Best Western. Don't stay here, this shouldn't be associated with Best Western.

Room Tip: Don't. Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderMotorInn, Owner at Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Alexandra C. Thanks for your feedback. Contents of your dissatisfaction have been considered and discussed. It appears that noise complaints by the apartment adjoining you were investigated immediately by the duty manager however nothing was evident. For that we apologize if during the night noise levels increased which is beyond our control. It is interesting that concerns regarding cleanliness were not raised on check in although you did stay 3 nights before checking out. As with any accommodation property, grievances should be raised immediately in order for owners to rectify immediately to ensure a pleasurable stay for guests. We also noted the Apartment was left in a most unsatisfactory condition which indicates an early check out was planned as you were no doubt embarrassed by its state. We wish you better lodgings elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Park Rail, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This motel offers quality accommodation at reasonable rates and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The rooms are well appointed, beds comfortable and the breakfast good. The location is handy and close to city with good public transport close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Trudie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had stayed at this place before, so knew what to expect. It is situated on a busy road, so we asked for a room towards the back. They have a resto here and we were given a couple of drinks vouchers on arrival, which was a nice touch.

It is a simple, unpretentious, reasonably priced motel. It's close to the airport, faces a tram stop and it's a short distance on foot from a few shops and cafes, but there's not a lot of convenience shopping after dark. The Puckle St shopping and dining precinct is a short tram or car journey away. If you want to go in to Melbourne Central, it's about 40 minutes away by tram.

Our room was clean, a reasonable size and housekeeping was excellent. There's a kettle and toaster, with cups and saucers, but no knives or plates. We used the saucers for toast and jam and asked for a knife at the front desk. The bed is comfy and there are plenty of pillows. Wifi is free.

The only problem is the noise. Being a motel, people park their cars outside the units. We were awoken more than once by people arriving back late at night, or leaving early in the morning. They seemed to have no idea of speaking quietly. People revved car engines, or warmed the engine for a few minutes, right outside our door, sometimes at 7am. Others clunked their way down the outside steps, banging luggage on each step. Cleaning staff called out to each other and carried on conversations loudly as they went about their work. They burst in on us one morning, as we were asleep. If you need quiet, or are hoping for regular sleeping in, you might be disappointed.

Having said this, it is still very good value for money and, as our family lives nearby, we would stay here again and will probably stay here regularly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essendon
5.2 mi away
Ciloms Airport Lodge
Ciloms Airport Lodge
#6 of 7 in Tullamarine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Footscray Motor Inn
Footscray Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Footscray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Melbourne's Princes Park Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments

Property: Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments
Address: 980 Mt Alexander Rd, Essendon, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3040, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Alexander Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing