We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. Tidy. Good Location. Reasonable accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments
Brighton, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean. Tidy. Good Location. Reasonable accomodation”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

I think if I booked through the hotel rather than reservations I would not have had to pay 45 extra for my 9 year old who slept on the couch as I told reservations he would.

We just needed somewhere to stay for 2 nights while we waited out me being sick and because the princes Park couldn't accommodate us for the full 3 nights.

Location is great. Good coffee downstairs. Don't go to that thai down stairs go to Niddrie instead and go to the thai there it is better. It's not bad thai just not great.

Tram outside door.

Rooms clean. Although some things needed replacing. Holes in bed linen wasn't something I was impressed with.

TV in bedroom didn't work.

Bathroom was quite clean. Mould and grime though needed some attention. But it is undergoing renovations so I am hoping they would update the bathroom.

Bed want particularly comfortable but again in reno stage so that might get upgraded.

A bit expensive compared to a better accommodation down the road for $100 cheaper. Just wasn't available both nights and we needed somewhere.

I think when renovations are complete these will be a decent little apartment to stay in.

Staff Were friendly.

Housekeeping decided because We don't drink instant coffee that they didn't have to refill tea. Which annoyed me as there Were only 4 teabags. 2 cups each for my husband and I.
So I brought tea from downstairs


And towels. 2 towels were supplied and I had to Ask for another towel.

Towels were very thin and small.


i

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Natalie S,
Thank you for your feedback regarding Punthill Essendon.
If there is a third guest staying in any of our one bedroom apartments on a sofa bed, then an additional fee will be charged, irrespective of how the booking was made.
We have noted all your comments and are appreciative of your review as it enables us to address areas that need improvement.
The bedroom has a new digital TV and we are not sure why you found it did not work as it is functioning perfectly.
We do hope that we are given the opportunity of welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
16
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have stayed at the Punt Hill apartments several times in the past, and found them to be clean and modern. We have always found the individual split systems inadequate for the size of the rooms/apartments and they need to be left on for hours until the room temperature is comfortable. I have some issues with the bathrooms, as the shower screens are inadequate and water ends up all over the floor no matter how much you try to stop it. I have stayed in all the different rooms types, the 2 bedroom apartment, the 1 bedroom and the hotel room style studio.The apartment complex is extremely well situated for local restaurants, public transport, freeway access to both Tullamarine airport and Melbourne city, Essendon DFO and there is a Coles supermarket in the adjacent parking lot. The management has apparently changed hands in the last twelve months and the new staff were pleasant, but didn't seem to have enough experience in handling customers. This time we were unlucky to be given rooms directly on Keilor Road in the original section of the former hotel. Not only were these rooms freezing, even with the split systems running non-stop for hours, but the traffic noise from the huge roundabout and the numerous trams that start at 5am and run until after midnight was deafening: as was the noise level from compressors of the heating units both outside and directly above our rooms. The higher rooms (2nd floor and above) are actually set back a bit more from the road, and even though some are at the front they are part of the new build and probably much better insulated for both temperature and noise. We politely asked if it was possible to be relocated, but were told that they were at 100% capacity and that was not possible. End of story. We have stayed there annually for several years and book a number of rooms for our interstate and local staff, but we were told that unless we request a specific room on booking then it is pretty much bad luck. In the past we have often been upgraded to apartments and have always found the management to be particularly warm and helpful. I understand 100% occupancy, but seeing several people check out the next morning I would have thought that it was good management to either move us, or at least take the time to once again at least acknowledge our complaint. I made it plain that our company would not be back again next year, but that had absolutely no impact. My final whinge is that something appears to also have changed in the onsite restaurant because the coffee served every morning was almost the worst I have ever had anywhere in the world. Melbourne is renown for our coffee, but this was embarrassingly bad. I would recommend these apartments as long as you insist on not being given a room on the first floor at the front.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the first floor at the front of the hotel under any circumstances! Do not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneLeapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear MelbourneLeapy,
Thank you for your detailed review.
As mentioned, the location is excellent and the property has recently been recarpeted and repainted and looks great.
Regarding the split systems, guests do seem to find them adequate and each bed does have an electric blanket, and extra blankets are available in the cupboards.
The staff have now been at the property for some time. It seems that you possibly assumed that a code was needed for the carpark when this was not the case.
We do make every effort to comply with all special requests and go out of our way to ensure that guests preferences are accommodated. Whilst we were unable to move you immediately, or to offer you the upgrade you had received on prior occasions, we did offer to move you the following day. We feel we did everything we could to make you comfortable and feel really disappointed and are so sorry that we clearly did not reach your expectations.
We of course are happy to upgrade guests if we have availability but this is usually impossible due to high occupancy.
Since you have enjoyed our accommodation in the past, we do hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Please do request an apartment facing the back of the property and we will go out of our way to comply.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed here on the weekend. There was a few of us so we got a 2 bedroom apartment which was massive - huge lounge dining area!!! Close to restaurants and shops also. Alisha and James the resident managers are very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: If you are after space - book an apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear SVE86,
Thanks so much for your favourable comments regarding Punthill Essendon.
We are delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Really enjoyed my two weeks at the Punthill Essendon. The apartments are a handy 2min walk to the tram and close to the train station - not to mention the many cafe's and restaurants all within walking distances.
I experienced noisy neighbors one evening and was pleased to find the managers very helpful with the issue the next morning. They were able to offer a room change and also notified me later in the day by a letter notifying that my neighbors had also been approached.
My room was serviced everyday and was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear AshleighFergus,
Thanks so much for your review of Punthill Essendon.
Customer service is of the utmost importance at Punthill and our front office team at Punthill Essendon will be extremely pleased to know that all your concerns were addressed promptly and the outcomes so appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

good place to stay clean and quiet. they have kitchens, and washer/dryer in the rooms.A/C is good and quiet.. there are restaraunts all around the area as well as a grocery store directly on the side of the hotel, also a 7-11 next door. also banks,bars,and shopping and trolley within 1 to 3 blocks away.

Room Tip: avoid staying in rooms directly facing the street,, as the round about in front of the hotel is extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durk s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear durk s,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill Essendon.
This apartment hotel is ideally situated close to many shops, cafes, supermarket and public transport as you mentioned, and we are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

While my husband was on work assignment in the Melbourne area, we spent about 5 weeks at the Punthill Essendon apartments and enjoyed our stay very much. I did think that the halls were very dark and gloomy but the apartments themselves were very nice. I felt very safe and secure since a passkey was needed to enter ride the elevators and enter the parking garage. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. I liked having the train, neighborhood park and shopping areas nearby. I wish I could go back for another visit very soon. I will always fondly remember our stay at Punthill Essendon.

Room Tip: We stayed at a front room and had a lot of traffic noise when we opened the patio door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear mtnluci,
It is fantastic to read that you so enjoyed your recent extended stay in Melbourne at Punthill Essendon. Our team at the property will be thrilled to know that you found all the comforts of home in the apartment, and that you also explored the area so thoroughly!
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill should your travels include Melbourne again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment,with 5 of us staying, we had a wedding to go to and it was very close to the reception. It was well equipped with everything we needed in the kitchen. It was very spacious and the staff were very helpful when we asked for a late check out. Coles supermarket next door.
Definitely would recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: No need to pack Shampoo and Conditioner or washing detergent..all supplied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear JacThornton,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill Essendon.
We are so pleased to hear that the property met all your expectations during your recent stay and that you are happy to recommend Punthill Essendon to your friends and family!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essendon
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon
Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon
#1 of 1 in Essendon North
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Melbourne, Essendon Fields
4.0 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,063 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Airport Motel & Convention Centre
4.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments

Property: Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments
Address: 1142 Mt Alexander Rd, Essendon, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3040, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Essendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing