We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant Glamping first! ......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sopley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sopley Lake Yurt Camp
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A brilliant Glamping first! ......”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Dear readers we've just returned from our first glamping experience and what a great choice we made by booking this exquisite Yurt with a lake at the bottom of our camp. Private, peaceful, nature on your doorstep. We stayed in Dragon yurt II, really, really cosy were my first impressions, I also quickly realised that everything we needed was there. It was fun cooking/preparing food and drinks under the canopy of the outside.... We had our little dog with us so we walked all over the site, also a great (easy) walk to the Lamb Inn through the field and lane (as marked on the maps) We were ideally placed location-wise with so many places to see/explore and our Yurt had lots of information about things to see & do if you wanted. I also appreciated being flanked by the field of Gladiolis and Sunflowers as we arrived and left each time. I have purposefully not described the Yurt too much as I don't want to spoil the surprise. If you don't mind me suggesting, take a nice bottle of something, sit down outside and just be :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely and peaceful holiday setting in a scenic location. We stayed in the love yurt and loved how quiet and private it was while being walking distance (just) from the lamb inn which was great for dinner. The cooking area is well equipped and the beds v comfy. Our 3 year old loved making camp fires and visiting to ducks on the lake. Would love to visit again next summer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just got back from a lovely relaxing stay in Dragon Yurt 2. Everything we needed was to hand and it was a welcome step up from our usual camping experiences. Certainly not having to pack our trailer and remember all the home comforts was a huge bonus. We loved the quiet rustic location and made the most of lazy late breakfasts and late evening BBQ's followed by relaxing next to the camp fire. The Yurt was very comfortable and we slept well. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the coastline and forest and would stay here again. It was nice to meet the owner who checked in with us a couple of times to make sure we had everything we needed. Shower was nice and powerful with plenty of hot water and the eco toilet not too scary to use. We were blessed with fantastic weather which meant we didn't need to light the wood burner in the yurt which we had been looking forward too - maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a good weekend at the yurt camp- stayed in the elephant yurt. The yurts don't look much from outside but once it gets dark and all the lamps are on, the yurt is cosy and warm, esp with the log burner going. Beds comfy. This particular yurt has a lovely view over the lake and good sunny outside seating area.

Outside bathroom and toilet was fine and lots of hot water (though only shampoo was provided in a bottle that had been refilled, no soap, and not fluffy towels as described on the website- slightly tired looking older towels) and kitchen area was fully equipped. Beware the draw with cutlery, utensils and very sharp knives mixed in...

I wouldn't describe this as a "luxury" yurt (it all seems a little tired) but it gives a comfortable stay and all the lovely things to do in the new forest are on your doorstep.

One thing I would say is that we ordered the BBQ pack and breakfast pack. The vegetable kebabs were a bit paltry and had carrot on them which we thought was a bit odd and possibly put on there as padding, and the breakfast pack came with sainsburys butter and cheap hovis white bread so not really worth the money- we thought for what we paid, we would get local/better quality.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flying-Squirrel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupityjupe, Owner at Sopley Lake Yurt Camp, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have asked our servicing team to check the status of the towels and to ensure only the fluffy ones remain. I am sorry that you thought our yurt looked tired. I would be most grateful if you could contact us directly to give us further information so we can strive to improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at Dragon Yurt 2 and on arrival loved the layout of the camp and the cosy interior of the Yurt, lots of nice touches.
There were things missing like torches and sawdust for the composting loo and the yurt and cooking area could have been cleaner and better maintained, but we didn't see this as a luxury break more a back to nature adventure so we just got on and cleaned up and "borrowed" sawdust from another camp.
The yurt was very comfortable and all the fresh air and walking ensured we slept well, cooking all our meals on the BBQ, toasting marshmallows round a fantastic camp fire, walking the lake were all enjoyable experiences, although the toilet remained a challenge!
There are lots of local attractions to visit and the information pack in the yurt was very useful, including a detailed guide on how to get to the local pub.
We let the owners know of the issues we had and they were keen to apologise and said they would look to correct the problems.
One thing to add take mosquito repellent!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quinsfan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupityjupe, Owner at Sopley Lake Yurt Camp, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your feed back. We are reviewing our deep cleaning schedules to improve this area of our business. On the welcome emails and in the yurt guides, and in the text we sent you before your arrival we do say 'ANY PROBLEMS' and we mean any, call our support line - the number we provided. Graham can usually talk through most problems however anything broken (such as the BBQ grill support you found) he could have been there in 20 minutes, same as for the saw dust (which we provide in the loo) or the missing torches. A quick call would have resolved all of these issues in no time. We are dedicated to providing the best glamping experience in the UK and will continue to improve any areas where either we or our customers feels is a weakness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited New Forest Yurts near Sopley Lake just last week on the basis of all the great reviews on Tripadvisor. Having been to many glamping camps before, with particular preference to staying in yurts - we were extremely disappointed when we arrived. Although the yurt was expensively furnished, the carpet, rugs and cushions were dirty with mud, leaves and pet hair was everywhere. we could only assume it hadn't been cleaned after the last visitors for a long time!
The yurt smelled damp, with mould growing on the structure of the yurt, the grate in the woodburner had not been emptied, so it was difficult to get enough oxygen through the bottom vent! Took a long time to get a good fire and enough heat to be comfortable in the yurt!
I called the owner, telling him how disappointed we were at the state of the yurt, especially when this was the most expensive yurt stay we had paid for yet! To his credit though, he came to see us and took half an hour to sweep up, make it look a bit more presentable and to change the pillowcase sheets, as we had found what could only be dog hair on them! After he had finished, it wasn't up to standard - but we appreciated his effort. He knew how disappointed we were and gave us £60 back. Honestly, he seemed like a nice enough guy - he just needs to take care of this yurt a bit better (maybe the other yurts are in better condition) - clean and air them out after each person/group of people who visit! Especially when the price is so high! We left the yurt in a better state than when we arrived...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank An0n181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupityjupe, Owner at Sopley Lake Yurt Camp, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that your experience was not as it should have been. Our cleanliness rating is very high on TripAdvisor in what is a challenging environment, in effect a tent in a field. Our servicing team always cleans your yurt and all bed linen changed on the day of arrival to minimise the effects that nature and our glorious English weather has on the yurt, which itself HAS to be kept well ventilated. On the day you arrived it was a particularly windy day which does not help. The yurts are also deep cleaned regularly when not in use for a day.
Our yurts are carpeted with a hand made natural felt dyed Shyrdak which come all the way from Kyrgyzstan. The maintenance of this rug requires It to be hung up every ten months or so and beaten. This is hardly practical with over 1,000 guests passing through our yurts every year. So against all advice they are thoroughly hoovered every turn around. As Graham explained to you on the day, this causes some of the dyed brown fibres to break off which look dog hair like. You seem to accept this explanation at the time.
We are reviewing the Hoover we use, although we are limited as there is no electrics at the yurt site and therefore only use rechargeable hoovers. However if we can find equipment that does a better job we will use it.
I hope this answers some of your points. We do appreciate the feedback, the negative more than the positive (although the latter is nice!), as we always strive to improve our camp and the glamping experience we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family of five had a fantastic May bank holiday weekend in the Elephant yurt. The lakeside setting is stunning and the yurt is really thoughtfully decorated and equipped. We loved bbqing and eating outside, swinging on the hammock and relaxing by the lake - as well as a quick walk to the local pub for lunch. The weather was typical English bank holiday rain, so we were grateful for the gazebo to eat under, the fire pit to keep us warm, and the wood burning stove to keep the yurt snug. Loved the whole glamping experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sopley
0.9 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
366 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,796 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
732 reviews
3.2 mi away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sopley Lake Yurt Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopley Lake Yurt Camp

Property: Sopley Lake Yurt Camp
Address: Derritt Lane, Sopley BH23 7AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sopley
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sopley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sopley Lake Yurt Camp has been the leading UK glamping destination since opening in 2011. Five yurts on four sites, all beautifully decorated with furnishings from North Africa across Asia to the Far East. The yurts are incredibly cosy and warm up in no time once the wood burner is lit on the coldest of nights. Each yurt has private facilities from a hot shower, composting loo, BBQ area, camp fire and fully equipped cooking station. The location is perfect (Pub within walking distance), lakeside views abundant with wild fowl and fish, close to the New Forest National Park (cycling, horse-riding, pubs) and the beaches near Bournemouth and Christchurch. Surrounded by PYO fields (seasonal fruit and veg available) and fresh farm produce delivered to your yurt fridge for your arrival. All part of our dedicated service and desire to give you the best glamping experience possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sopley Lake Yurt Camp Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing